We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,330)
Filter reviews
5,330 results
Traveller rating
2,225
2,506
467
85
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,225
2,506
467
85
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationsouth exitfamily martnarita airportrooms are smallminute walkwalking distancejr stationtwin roompost officefree internetbuffet breakfastcoin laundryvisit tokyotokyu handsconvenience storedefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 5,330 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Stayed here for 3 nights during the cherry blossom season. Location was fantastic - about 10 minutes walking from Shinjuku station, 15 minutes from the heart of Shinjuku restaurants and attractions (North East of the hotel).

Rooms were a little small, but manageable. Just be prepared for everything to be smaller than you expect. The sleeping experience was good - comfy bed, room temp, etc. Overall, pretty clean.

We asked for 1 hour later check-out time, but they said they'd have to charge us a pretty substantial fee, so we declined.

Breakfast seemed overpriced and it was super easy to just walk to a variety restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leland28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, Receptionaist at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2018

Dear Mr./Ms. Leland28,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and giving us your precious comment.
It seemed you had enjoyed the cherry blossom also.
We are pleased that you were satisfied with our service and access to our hotel.

We are sorry about our breakfast price.
Also, we are sorry about our little strict rule about late check out.

We are looking forward to serving you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018

It is funny how I rate this hotel. It wasn't bad, but there is just something missing. Maybe because it is a chain hotel, it just seems average. It wasn't that the staff was unfriendly, but unlike all the hotel staffs in the other hotels we stayed at in Japan, the staff just seemed to be going through the motions, and didn't really care. The room was nice and big enough, and we had the city view, but it didn't have the standard amenities that other hotels had in Japan, especially for the price we paid. The toilet didn't have a heated seat, an amenity that we found in almost all toilets throughout the country, even at hole-in-the-wall restaurants. Liked the location in Shinjuku, and an entrance to the subway was right outside the front door. While the Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku had enough to like, I probably would look for another hotel on my next stay in Shinjuku.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, Reception desk clerk at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2018

Dear Doug B,

Thank you for your stay.
We appreciate your giving us a precious comment.

We are glad to hear that you liked our location,
but we are sorry that our guest room couldn't fulfill your expectation.

We look forward to serving you next time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

As a first timer to Japan, we must understand the culture and upbringing of Japanese to be self sufficient and independent. This can reflect in sunroute hotel. After checking in, please carry your luggage to room, read all instruction Manuel provided for hotel operations (eg laundry self service washing machine, alarm clock provided), pc & printers are provided.btw the pc is so antique that it can be never load up any page. I give up printing boarding pass. Aside ,this hotel has good location as shopping near to takashimaya (close at 8 pm) clean, and efficient. I took the queen standard and has3 different type of pillow on bed. I like the fact it is near to south / new south exit for Narita express. So taking luggage to train pose little obstacles. Overall, it is good base to stay and explore Tokyo.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank WYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, Receptionist at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2018

Dear Mr./Ms. WYL,


Thank you very much for your stay and precious comment.
We are pleased that you had a good stay in our hotel as a whole.
We apologize for our computer was old.

We are looking forward to serving you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Booked 14 nights but during Cherry Blossom season so only economy double room was available and on checking in we were given a low floor with a room right next to the elevators. But it was just fine! We didn't hear noise from other rooms or from the lift area at all, and the size of the room was just as we expected, small but not completely tiny and our 4 suitcases fitted in fine. It wasn't the cleanest of rooms, the bathroom wasn't spotless and things had been left from previous guests in the fridge, but it wasn't enough to complain about. The TV had a HDMI input that wasn't locked down so we were able to watch our own movies from a tablet.

The location is everything; after spending all day walking in Tokyo you'll be glad of the 5 minutes from Shinjuku station. We sometimes used the Yoyogi station too which wasn't much further to walk and direct to Akihabara and other places.

And the best part? We had to return to the UK unexpectedly due to an emergency and the hotel just refunded the remaining days right there and then without question or hassle. When we come to Tokyo again this hotel will be top of our list.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, Reception desk clerk at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2018

Dear Mark C,

Thank you for your stay.
We appreciate for giving us a precious comment.

We are sorry that making up the room was not thorough.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel as a whole.

We look forward to serving you again.

Best regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

The room is actually pretty ok except for the toilet and bath (which are one of the core reasons for staying in a hotel isn't it?). The room toilet didn't have the usual Japanese features but the common toilet at lobby did. I usually go to that one after breakfast. Hah. The bath and shower was not separate and had a tendency to flood if I chose to shower. Who has time for a bath when there's so much shopping to do in Shinjuku?!

They have awesome toothbrush though. Not the usual hard bristles that felt like disposables.

I would still book this hotel if I had to choose again, simply because the location is so convenient and they have this shuttle to haneda that makes it so convenient when you're bringing a 15mo baby along! Oh and we saw so many babies at breakfast hah! Looks like a baby friendly place although my baby didn't get a cot. Would've loved for a cot as she took up the whole bed that was fitted with rails and hubby and I had to squeeze in the other.

We arrived at the shinjuku bus terminal and had a bit of a trouble finding the hotel though. It was hidden behind the huge plaza which was actually best accessible from takashimaya's link bridge towards franc franc. (We actually frequented taka during our stay just because) If you found Starbucks from the station, just walk towards it and continue away from the direction of the station and Starbucks. In general I find going past Taka from the station is easier to get to the hotel. That's if you come by the bus terminal.

Being used to Singapore's simple mrt transport, Shinjuku stn is a nightmare to us. We chose to take a walk to meiji temple instead of taking the train. It was a nice walk, no crowd, no exit confusion. Totally recommended. Even with a baby in toll.

A note of thanks though, for the reception lady who helped find us a hospital at 8pm for our little baby who was running a high fever. We couldn't go to the one next door as they didn't have English speaking Doctors. She was very efficient and her recommendation of a place with pediatrics and help to pre register for the visit made it so seamless and we completed the whole visit and put baby back in bed by 9.30pm! Baby got well the next day.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank chewyjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
プラザ新宿管理者, Reception desk clerk at Hotel Sunroute Plaza Shinjuku, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2018

Dear Chewyjuice,

Thank you for your stay.
We appreciate your giving us a detailed comment.

We are sorry that our toilet and bath cannot meet your expectation,
but we are pleased that you were satisfied with our service as a whole.

Should you have any questions, please feel free to contact us.
We look forward to serving you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews