We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Holly810
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We loved the cottage, the area, and the facilities included everything we needed.
The owner and his dog were lovely and the house and the area were beautiful.
We had a wonderful time and would definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review of The Count House. We're delighted to hear that you loved the cottage and the area, and that there was everything that you needed. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See_the_w...
England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage with great view”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a lovely stay in the Count House. The owner was very helpful upon meeting us on arrival and gave advice on local walks. The view from the cottage is superb and can be enjoyed from inside as well as on the decking.

It is a peaceful location but only a 15 minute scenic walk into the village centre. If going into the village at night (to the pub for example) make sure you take a torch for the return journey!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Count House and appreciated the views and convenience of the village. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karienvan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most beautiful oasis.”
Reviewed September 16, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed for a week. Fell in love with the area. Beautiful cottage. Wonderful views. Greg was so friendly and very helpful. Will definitely go again next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review of The Count House. We're delighted to hear that you loved the cottage, the views and the area and look forward to welcoming you back in 2015!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CWC253
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a lovely restful stay at The Smithy. The walk to Calstock was scenic & the view from the property was gorgeous. The Smithy was well fitted out & very comfortable & I have no hesitation in recommending this to others.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking time to review The Smithy. We're pleased you had a restful stay and enjoyed the scenic walks and views. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail W
Askham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Count House”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We enjoyed a quiet and tranquil stay at the Count House in Calstock. The walks around the area and the scenery was stunning. The cottage itself was well equipped and had a lovely homely feel to it.
The log burner was a great to have burning at night time giving a lovely glow around the room.
This is a truely peice of the country side that is hidden and should stay that way.....so unspoilt.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review of The Count House. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the tranquility and scenery at Okel Tor and felt that the cottage was well equipped and homely. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect way to spend my birthday”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Had the loveliest stay in the Smithy cottage this week. It was the perfect place to enjoy my birthday. We had a very warm welcome and the views were nothing short of spectacular.
Will 100% be booking a short stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Thank you very much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the log fire and the views
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2014
We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your birthday at Okel Tor Mine and the views from The Smithy. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBEG1
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquillity in the Westcountry”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The location was stunning, the views breathtaking in the sunshine, the cottage perfect and cozy. Would definitely revisit and recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review and for recommending Okel Tor Mine - we look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing