We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a delightful hideaway.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Calstock, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
243Maria2...
Havant, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a delightful hideaway.”
Reviewed February 16, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My husband, myself and our 2 dogs, had a wonderful stay in The Count House, at Oke Tor Mine. What a lovely, peaceful, place, both Greg and Nick were great hosts, Greg for the ease of the booking and Nick for the meeting and greeting side. We have 2 big dogs, (one poorly one) however just a little walk down the path was ideal for them. The cottage is so warm and clean we definately felt like we hid away from the world. Although there wasnt much do to because we went out of season, we have been told its great in the summer with festivals and live music...we will definately consider going back. Xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and views.
Liked least: 20 min walk to the local shop.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We're delighted to hear you had a peaceful stay with your 2 dogs and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob2907
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fantastic break”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

from the moment you drive past the parish church you feel like you're in a different world, free from the hustle and bustle of normal life. Once down at the mine the 'wow' factor just hits you. Take time to stop and listen ... And you can't hear a thing! Accommodation is just right, nice a cosy with the fire burning. Views are stunning, and if you take some bird food or even just put out stale bread, then you're rewarded by constant visits from robin, blue tit, grey tit and jays. 10 minute walk down to the Boot Inn (booking advised) for lunch. Can't wait to book to go back later this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire and views
Liked least: Small shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you felt the magic of Okel Tor and enjoyed the tranquility and wildlife. We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, UK
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and no mobile signal!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We're delighted that you had anther enjoyable birthday at Okel Tor and look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rani G
1 review
“A perfect life :)”
Reviewed December 31, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location. I arrived a little tired after the journey within 10 minutes calm was restored, the fire was lit, the whiskey was out......a perfect life in a perfect cottage. Nik and Greg made me feel I was visiting old friends. Can't wait to visit in 2015.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review! We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant H
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal Getaway from the City”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We had a lovely weekend and really enjoyed our time at the cottage and the mine. The dogs had a great weekend and we enjoyed the seclusion of the cottage and the walks in the surrounding area. Unfortunately we had to cut our trip short because of work commitments and come home on the Sunday evening however we would not hesitate to recommend the cottage and next time we would like to visit in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the seclusion
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2015
A belated thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We're pleased that you liked The Count House, enjoyed the seclusion and the local walks with your dogs - we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly810
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We loved the cottage, the area, and the facilities included everything we needed.
The owner and his dog were lovely and the house and the area were beautiful.
We had a wonderful time and would definitely stay here again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review of The Count House. We're delighted to hear that you loved the cottage and the area, and that there was everything that you needed. We look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See_the_w...
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage with great view”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a lovely stay in the Count House. The owner was very helpful upon meeting us on arrival and gave advice on local walks. The view from the cottage is superb and can be enjoyed from inside as well as on the decking.

It is a peaceful location but only a 15 minute scenic walk into the village centre. If going into the village at night (to the pub for example) make sure you take a torch for the return journey!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at The Count House and appreciated the views and convenience of the village. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing