We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property
Christmas 2014
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Christmas 2014
Photo by Eugene Everson Oct - Nov 2017 The happy hot pot of Lodge Brekka
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
Christmas 2014
Photo by Eugene Everson Oct - Nov 2017
The happy hot pot of Lodge Brekka
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Shooting Star
Two linked lodges, Langholt and Brekka
Photo by Eugene Everson, Oct - Nov 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
hat312201...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a fantastic week at Brekka. The lodge has everything you need and is spacious clean and comfortable. The setting is amazing with views across the fjord. We arrived in Iceland early morning so took the scenic route up to Brekka, stopping along the way for sightseeing and photographs and we were lucky enough to see the Northern lights on our first evening. It is an ideal base for exploring the western area of iceland. We drove the golden circle route, visited Glymur, the Snæfellsnes peninsula, blue lagoon and the falls at hraunfossar. The internet connection kept the teenagers happy in the evenings! Brilliant place and I would definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1969MLA
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly fabulous experience”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My partner and I went to stay at Brekka for four nights at the beginning of April. It was everything we could have wished for and more. The view is nothing less than breathtaking almost like being on another planet. The lodge was immaculate and had everthying you could possible need (apart from a sledge!!!). It was great to visit the city and return to Brekka and of course the amazing hot tub. I would highly recommend a 4x4 if hiring a car in the winter. The only down side was we should have stayed longer.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annalynn...
1 review
“Simply great”
Reviewed February 14, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed in cottage Brekka in the beginning of February 2015. It was simply great!

It was everything you could wish for, the most amazing view, well equipped, clean and very comfortable. The floors are nice and warm ideal for our baby who just started crawling. Loved the hottub! (One advice, leave your silver necklaces in the cottage, mine turned out a wonderful shade of green ;-) )

Even the weather was perfectly arranged, beautiful sunny weather and a whole day of snow. You need quite a serious 4*4 to get away from the cottage in such heavy snow, but it made it nice and adventurous. The Northern Lights where amazing. We feel very lucky to have had such a nice and wonderful stay.

The contact with Jon was fine, we knew everything we had to know on for hand and I'm sure that if we had any questions we would have had an answer straight away.

All in all simply great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheldon G
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Best holiday of my life”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

I cannot praise the location, the lodge or Iceland enough. This holiday to Iceland truly was the best holiday of my life and one i'll never forget.

Myself and 5 other friends all stayed at Brekka for 4 nights. The location was amazing, the lodge was incredible and had all the things needed to live comfortably.

Jon supplied plenty of handy resources including a very good guide on how to get to Brekka. We were lucky enough to experience the northern lights while staying at Brekka, just by simply walking outside and viewing them straight from the balcony.

If you're staying here during winter I'd recommend a 4x4 as the road up to Brekka can be very icy.

I would recommend Brekka to everyone. This is how you truly experience Iceland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: the weather (which isnt Brekkas fault!)
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona_T20...
Breierley Hill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A little peace of heaven on earth”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Brekka, and it's neighbour (Langholt) are so amazing that it's hard to write this review - I want to keep it all to myself! We have stayed in both houses which are set a short way apart on the hillside. The setting and scenery are breath taking, in two separate visits of four nights, eight months apart, I haven't seen the same view twice. There is no light or noise pollution and there is the real feeling of isolation, although you are not really that far from civilisation - a vehicle is necessary though. Both houses are beautifully but simply decorated, with all the mod cons imaginable (better than home) and so much space, whilst being spotlessly clean yet homely. The hot tub is a real treat and to sit in piping hot water with cold beer (Icelandic, of course) to hand, watching the nightly display of the amazing Northern Lights is just a little piece of heaven on earth. Perfection!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Dec 2014
We are grateful to hear how happy people are staying at our cottages. Also it's quite good to know how easy it now is to get to heaven -just book Brekka:-).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K2159AZal...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic property and made our holiday perfect”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived at the property at night, not hard to find, fantastic directions given by owner. The property was very clean and tidy and also warm - just what you want when arriving late on a winters evening. Very modern but natural feeling property, comfy beds, good size kitchen with everything you needed (pots, pans, plates, glasses etc).

TV, dishwasher, washing machine, everything was perfect. We didn't want TV opting to have the music system on (really good collection of Icelandic CD's which we all enjoyed listening to while getting ready in the mornings and relaxing at night).

Amazing hot tub, very easy to use. Sitting under the stars (and Northern Lights!!) in the hot tub was amazing. Could have spent all night sitting there.

Car essential but local little shops close by.

We had never rented before, always opting for package deals but I am so glad we rented this time and we will be doing it again. It makes you feel at home while you are on holiday.

We had a very busy 5 days, 3 nights in Iceland and this was the perfect base for our group. We all had a fantastic time and really want to go back again, and stay here. We could not have asked for a more helpful owner and perfect property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Well, there's an Icelandic saying: "Glöggt er gests augad". It means the guest has a clear and alert view on things that could be improved, things which the host might have got immune to. Following the experience we've made together with our guests we've tried to improve the descriptions of both how to get to the location and how to operate the house, the hot tub etc. The result is more time for our guests to enjoy being there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A wonderful house in an amazing location”
Reviewed November 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at the end of October / early November, and I have to say that the house was excellent - very well equipped, warm, comfortable and with incredible views over the fjord and to the mountains beyond. JB was very helpful in providing directions and instructions (including for the wonderful hot tub) and we had no problems whatsoever during our stay - and if we had I am sure JB would have been able to help. The kitchen has everything you need for your stay, including a large fridge freezer to stock with provisions and a modern oven and hob. This is the perfect place from which to explore the area around Reykjavík, although a 4x4 is recommended to get the best from the gravel roads (there is some wonderful mountain scenery a very short drive from the house), and also to get to the house. We have stayed in a number of holiday houses, and this has to be among the best. We are already planning when to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality
Liked least: No complaints at all!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
We are very pleased for having such a positive review, happy that our customers feel the same about the view and surroundings of our house Brekka as we do. But above all we are happy to have got the opportunity through Holiday Lettings to share this wonderful site with people from abroad.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing