We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing country and fantastic place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Brekka bathing in the Northern Lights
Photo by Eugene Everson Oct - Nov 2017
The happy hot pot of Lodge Brekka
Shooting Star
Christmas 2014
Two linked lodges, Langholt and Brekka
Photo by Eugene Everson, Oct - Nov 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Mosfellsbaer, Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jane R
1 review
“Amazing country and fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed February 24, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We loved our brief visit to Iceland and Brekka was the perfect base to explore the local area. it was comfortable and warm and the hot tub in the snow was magical. We were even lucky enough to see the Northern Lights from the deck. Jon was very helpful and we would love to come back and visit again some time. We would definitely stay at Brekka if we came back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaudiusz...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
Reviewed December 21, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is amazing. Its clean, Spacious, well equipped, warm ... the list goes on! if you are travelling in winter I would recommend a 4x4 because the roads can be very hard to drive on near the cottage. JB was a brilliant host, he helped us greatly and warned us about the weather warning. Driving in the evening I would recommend driving the quicker route through the tunnel it costs but saves you time. During the day, deffo take the longer route around the fjord as it is stunning! its only a little detour but worth it! Can easily accommodate 8 people, we were only 3 and didn't really use the upstairs lounge as down stairs was big enough for us. The views are stunning from the lodge I couldn't recommend it any more! Be prepared to drive past the drive a few times but it is literally 2 km after Hotel `Glymur on the left!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloe4321
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed December 16, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We have just returned from our first trip to Iceland where we stayed at Brekka for 3 nights. The location is amazing and it was just magical sitting in the hot tub looking up at the northern lights! The lodge is very clean and well maintained and we received lots of helpful information from Jon prior to our visit. We will definately be viaiting again!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen_Nay...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic house exceeded expectations!”
Reviewed November 27, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I stayed in Brekka for a 10 day holiday with my husband and two young children (age 3 and 16 months), to use as a base for some local exploring.

Brekka is approx. 45 minute drive into Reykjavik- driving in Iceland is easy so no problems there. I agree with previous posts that they could do with a better signpost to the lodge as I missed it several times! Driving in the dark on a 90k/hour road does make it difficult to see the signpost which is very small. To help anyone else- it is almost exactly 9km from the junction on the left hand side- if you see a sign for Hotel Glymur you have gone too far! Also, if you choose to go through the tunnel (the quickest route) it will cost 1,000 ISK.

The house its was lovely and warm on arrival with a very nice bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us. The house was clean yet homely, and better equipped than expected- there are lots of kitchen utensils- pots/pans etc. There is also a cafetiere and a coffee maker. There is no bath which was a little problematic as my 16 month old hates showers, but I didn't check specifically beforehand so can't really complain there. I also agree with other posts regarding kitchen storage space- but we managed despite cooking at home every night. The house is child friendly with the exception of the staircase- upstairs is a second lounge area with the TV, and we didn't use this part of the house, so we just blocked access to the stairs with a chair- problem solved.

The hot tub is great- lovely and big and easy to operate. I recommend people bring their flip flops all year round as our feet got quite cold running to it in the snow!

And finally Jon was fantastic as the rental manager- keeping us up to date with important information, plus emailing me to let me know that the Northern Lights were likely to appear (which they did).

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and I have already recommended Brekka to friends. I will definitely return if I come back to Iceland. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scenic location, comfortable, great hot tub
Liked least: Lack of bath, too hot overnight
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2015
I agree the signs for our cottage Brekka could be bigger. But we are not the only ones who own a cottage in the area and we don't want to overrun our neighbors with our signs. -apart from the fact, that in Iceland big signs tend to blow away in strong winds... In the description we send to every renter we have a very accurate description on "How to get to Brekka".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiciD2
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
“I Love this Place!!”
Reviewed November 16, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This was our first time to Iceland, but definitely not the last. Unfortunately we could only stay for a few days but Brekka made it so easy for us feel comfortable and like home. Its modern but cozy, it has everything you might need during your stay and so much more. The view is absolutely breathtaking!! One of our days there was gray and rainy and we did not mind at all to just stay "home" and enjoy the beautiful view, a good books and some wine. Brekka is close to (about 20 min by car) Glymur, Iceland's tallest waterfall which you can hike up to the very top of. ( incl river crossing by foot :) ) It was so much fun! And so beautiful! The distance to other attractions such as the geyser is a bit far but is easily doable.
The hot tub is a perfect place to watch the northern lights from, we were lucky enough to experience quite some of this beautiful phenomena. However, be aware that the hot water smells like sulfur. But you get use to it.
All in all, we loved this place and Jon was a great host who answered to all and any questions and was very helpful.
I really recommend this place!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C
2 reviews
“Another great stay at this wonderful cabin”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Our family (with 3 boys aged 15, 13 and 10) had another wonderful stay at Brekka - as we didn't see the Northern Lights when we stayed here last year we had to come back to try again this year. The property was even better than we remembered - very well equipped, exceptionally clean, warm and welcoming and in a stunning location. JB is a great, friendly and helpful host, and everything just feels right when you arrive. We managed to do completely different things on our second trip, and the cabin is only just over an hour from the newly opened Ice Tunnels at Langjokull which we would recommend. But real joy can be found just driving around the Fjord and the valley behind the house (4x4 recommended for the gravel roads), walking from the cabin, the views of the amazing scenery (which changes as the light changes during the day), millions of stars, and peace and tranquillity when all you can hear is the stream. Unfortunately this year, on our last night, we did see the Northern Lights over the mountains behind the cabin as we sat in the Hot Tub, so we will need to find another excuse for coming back to our favourite place again in the future - and we will.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning location, views and tranquility
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myheartmu...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My friend I stayed at this rental about an hour outside of Reykjavik. It was the perfect spot to explore other regions further North and West. And a comfortable spot to come home to in the evening. The hot tub was an added bonus. And the view of the fjord is outstanding.

Even though it rained the entire time we were there (it is September after all) nothing could detour us from its beauty and charm.

We got to meet Jon and his partner and they were truly nice people. And the bottle of champagne left for us was an added bonus. While I think markers to find the road -especially at night-would be really helpful, and the rough gravel presented its on set of challenges for our small rental car, I would not hesitate to rent or recommend this place to anytime.

Book with confidence!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Condition and ease of finding the road.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2015
Really good points reg the markings. Indeed, the signs for Brekka (and more holiday cottages in our possession, that you would find in Trip Advisor/Holiday Lettings) are in the making and will be put up before the winter and the dark Northern Lights-nights are here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing