We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Superb Dining Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Deddington Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deddington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We decided to give the picturesque Deddington Arms a try for dinner last week.
My partner and I took my nephew for a meal as it was his last day before he moved back to Birmingham to focus on the final year of his degree.

We expected a good meal - but not such a high quality 'gourmet' experience!

My nephew said the mussels were 'very fresh' and 'really excellent'. My partner loved her soup and duck. I had a very tasty mushroom starter and their superb crispy pulled pork - one of the best means I've had anywhere!

We'll definitely be back soon! :)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MichaelHousley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017

Food was really good but lack of attention by restaurant staff gave the impression of a lack of training. For example a member of our party had to collect the cutlery for our starters and also having to get our own drinks from the bar.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judekirsopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel O, Owner at Deddington Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

We believe that having the chance to choose one's own cutlery is a very special part of the dining experience much appreciated by many customers. Some also insist on helping with the washing-up which again enhances the interactive ambitions of many in today's digital world.

(Thanks for the kind words re the food and we'll check out the glitches)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Stayed here for 2 nights in August and was not dissapointed the location was an excellent base for travelling around the Cotswolds. The room was very comfortable and had bath shower, tea and coffee making facilities, everything was clean. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful with pastries and cereals and a excellent choice from the cooked menu.
The staff are excellent and very attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Four of us booked the Travelzoo deal set menu. I ordered the goats' cheese and sundried tomato taglietelle followed by banoffie with banana ice-cream. My husband ordered the cod dish and apricot and almond tart with ice-cream. Our companions ordered steaks , bread and butter pud. and creme brulee. All the dishes were delicious and a good healthy portion.

The manager is chatty , welcoming and efficient and the staff were unobtrusive and did their job well.

The hotel has been modernised [ downstairs is all I saw ] which makes the surroundings pleasant. I wish my hanging baskets and planters were as stunning as theirs.

Would that we lived nearer but we will hopefully re-visit.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havanamoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped for lunch were a party of 4 adults and 4 children. Easily accommodated for without any prior booking. Great menu selection and reasonable prices. 3 of us had the baguettes which were very satisfying with shared 'fries' which were great. My partner had the pizza which he said was great and the kids all shared an adults pizza which got completely demolished. Colouring books and crayons given to the children to keep them entertained. Great little children's menu available. Highly recommend. Lovely inviting staff. Not local to me but would happily go there for lunch again if passing. Plenty of parking at a rear private car park.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marshmellows15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Stayed one night in the hotel, to attend a local event.
Check in was in the bar, all very easy, lots of parking close to the room, and as rooms in a separate block, no issues in coming or going late.

Paid £87 for a decent double, small telly, tea and coffee in room etc.

Very handy for Blenheim Palace etc.

Only issues related to the temperature in the room, very hot, but a fan was provided. We were up at 8.30, but by then there was not much hot water left which was a pain. There was a large party staying so it may just have been them all wanting to be out at the same time.

Breakfast was good, served in restaurant. Would stay again

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We had a great 3 night stay in Deddington, and the hotel was a big part of that. Very welcoming staff... lovely annexe style room with a walk across the court yard... great food at the hotel too.

We ate at the restaurant the first eve. I tried Trout for the first time. Everything was delicious. We had a cheese board and port too. Yummy.

Breakfast was fab all three mornings... I like it when you order a hot choice, as it is fresh and made to order. The choice was vast too: I had eggs royale, full English and pancakes over the 3 days.

Room was clean and spacious. One of our lights wasn't working, but to be fair, we didn't report it as we felt we didn't need it. Teas and coffees were replenished each day... TV and a huge bed. Great!

Only two little gripes. One was as we were checking out, we were charged a lunch and drinks that we didn't have. The receptionist didn't quibble this at all... but it stemmed from the fact that you verbally give your room number at the restaurant! Surely, there's a better system! They didn't seem shocked... it seems that must happen all the time.

The other issue was on our last night. We wanted to eat at a local restaurant, not realising it wasn't open on a Sunday. So, we returned to the hotel to ask if they could "squeeze" us in. They said they could, as long as we didn't mind sitting in the middle. I thought it was an odd thing to say, but we sat down anyway.

We were given a set menu, an art leaflet and a bread roll. No explanation as to why. We then clicked that we were in the middle of a fancy art exhibition! We got up to leave, just as a woman starting speaking into a mic. Being in the middle, meant we had to walk out in front of everyone. It was hugely embarrassing. And I still can't fathom why the waiter...or waitress, who seated us and brought us menus, would fail to mention that huge detail!

Still a great stay overall, and would return. But I'd keep my eye out for art exhibitions being advertised!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmileySammy1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deddington
5 km away
Cartwright Hotel
Cartwright Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aynho
456 reviews
11.4 km away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
8.9 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
4 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
456 reviews
8.3 km away
Easington House
Easington House
#8 of 10 in Banbury
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deddington Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deddington Arms Hotel

Address: Horse Fair, Deddington, Banbury OX15 0SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury > Deddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deddington
Price Range: $134 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deddington Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deddington Arms is a fully refurbished 16th-century inn overlooking the delightful market square of Deddington in Oxfordshire. The 27 bedrooms are individually designed and include 4 poster beds and cottage suites. The restaurant has received an AA Rosette Award for fresh food dining and offers a la carte and fixed price menu options. Car parking is extensive and CCTV monitored. The Deddington Arms is ideally situated for visitors to Blenheim Palace, Bicester Desiigner Shopping Village, the Cotswolds, Oxford, and many Stately Homes and Gardens in the area. The hotel also offers special golfing breaks and is well positioned for Silverstone visits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Deddington Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deddington Arms Banbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing