We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous food and friendly service”

Hostellerie Clau del Loup
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

We went to this restaurant one lunchtime, by chance, and now try and go for lunch on a regular basis. It offers amazing food, fresh, local ingredients and lots of imagination. We love it!

Date of visit: October 2016
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 134 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2016

The food here is always locally sourced and freshly prepared, with a good value menu du jour.
Service is excellent, as are the surroundings and the staff.
A very good choice of restaurant for lunch or dinner - you will enjoy whatever you order here, including the extensive choice of wines, superb !

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeeEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2016

Everything is first class about this restaurant - of course expecially the food which is carefully and creatively produced, but also the service and ambience with linen table cloths and napkins and well-spaced tables on the terrace. I won't be surprised if it turns up with a Michelin rosette very soon. The most remarkable thing of all is how reasonable it is - with the excellent low priced menu at €29.50 only fractionally more expensive than most very average places.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2016

We went to the Clau del Loup, just across the river from Prayssac, at lunchtime on a sunny Saturday - and were completely bowled over, which was not only down to the wonderful house white as an aperitif and a bottle of red Sancerre (at a very reasonable €30). Sitting outside at a linen covered table, in the garden was blissful on this early summer's day. Service was prompt and friendly and quick to bring bread and a large, flavourful 'greeting from the kitchen'. Clearly, the chef loved his job and wanted us to know it.
I went for the three course menu of the day, which at €12.50 seemed nicely priced, with an amuse-bouche (the lightest, fluffiest mushroom soup with the faintest hint of cheese), a herby perfectly grilled sardine as a starter, a piece of steak grilled to perfection accompanied by a most moorish madeira sauce and the fluffiest rice; all this was rounded of by a strawberry ensemble to die for.
My husband went for the three course 'Heart of the chef' menu (€29), which started with razor clam and pesto with a white and green asparagus mouse; followed by perfectly prepared breast of duck and a strawberry desert, which was so beautiful that you didn't want to dig your spoon in. We didn't take coffee, but were still offered a delicious selection of chocolates (think: mousse, brownie-type tart and some divine fluff with salted caramel)
It was the most extraordinary lunch. While we have not yet tried all the restaurants in Prayssac and vicinity, we are inclined to call the dogs back as the hunt for a superb restaurant is over.
Is there anything I would critisise (and feel mean by doing so)? Yes, if anything I would say that the menu of the day is too cheap for the quality and standard of the cooking. Can't wait to go back for dinner.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Happygolightly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

Excellent food, friendly service and lovely ambiance. Not the cheapest place to eat in the area, but certainly one of the best. Having said that, it's still possible to get a very good set lunch menu for about 20€. Whatever you do, avoid the only other restaurant close by! We have only eaten here, but if the decor in the restaurant is anything to go by, the rooms should be worth looking at. Nice to dine in style with crisp linen napkins!

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank JFT_Brixham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hostellerie Clau del Loup also viewed

 

Been to Hostellerie Clau del Loup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing