We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“week long 60th birthday party”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of duvale barn

duvale barn looks on to this lake and you have access to walk around the lake and picnic
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
duvale barn looks on to this lake and you have access to walk around the lake and picnic
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
duvale barn looks on to this lake and you have access to walk around the lake and picnic
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 42
Bampton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PE G
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs a bit of TLC”
Reviewed January 11, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
4
people found this review helpful

As a group of friends we have been going away between Christmas & New Year for over 20 years. Although Duvale Barn catered well for the size of our party, there were quite a few flaws that marred our stay.

We found the standard of cleanliness very poor and had to clean everywhere in the kitchens, including the hobs the ovens and some cooking trays and utensils. In one area of the house there was an unseasonal fly infestation (considering it was Dec/Jan) which had clearly been around for some time judging by the dead flies on the carpet on our arrival. The bathrooms and shower rooms were dirty and had mould on the walls and tiles.

The advertised free WiFi was inconsistent and inadequate, this could easily be resolved by a change of provider, especially as mobile signal is also patchy at best.

It was also the first holiday home we have stayed at without any christmas decorations at all.

On the plus side, it was great to have a dining table large enough to accommodate us all and a kitchen capable of catering for us all (once it had been cleaned). The location and surroundings were good.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonia m
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“week long 60th birthday party”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Excellent property very large seemed to go on forever. Brilliant enclosed garden great for us as we had young children and a guide dog in our party. Had a birthday I will never forget due to being able to find somewhere we could all stay without being on top of each other. The exeter inn down the road does really good food and nothing was too much trouble will go there again for sure. Local village Bampton has lovely pubs and shops and the people are really friendly. Wonderful property and area so glad we chose it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size and location
Liked least: loads of flies in bedrooms on arrival
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim H
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant weekend”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We booked the duvale barn for a family get together, the barn was a fantastic size as there was 32 of us and we was concerned that it would be a bit cramped but it was perfect if anything we hardly used the second lounge! , Rosina the owner was very helpful with anything we needed and made us very welcome , we all had a fantastic weekend and would highly recommend the duvale priory. we will definitely be returning .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom W
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best places we've ever stayed in with the family!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Duvale Barn was an absolute delight; from the first enquiry to the personal goodbye. I took 27 of my family to this lovely converted barn, nestled away in the wonderful heart of Devon. The barn itself fitted us all in superbly with wonderful kitchen and bathroom facilities. The barn has it's own walled garden which overlooks a wonderful little pond with geese. The house is very child friendly and I was even allowed to take my dog at a small cost. I could not have asked for a better facility to fit my large family in and we will defiantly be returning to this little gem of an area. Thanks to Rosena who was very approachable and made everything so easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen was large enough to cook for the amount of people the barn could sleep (very rear)
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
187046Joh...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place and location for our golf trip over last 11 years”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from our 30th and final golf trip. There were 22 of us on our last trip so we booked both Orchard Barn and Duvale Barn so that we could have a bedroom each. We have stayed in either Orchard Barn and Duvale Barn for the last 11 annual trips. The location is in a rural setting with beautiful surroundings and includes a well stocked trout lake. We employed a wonderful lady called Janet to do all our cooking. The owners, Rosena and Joy, are very friendly and helpful and will be able to put you in touch with Janet.
There are many top quality golf courses in the region.

John Grayson

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The number of bedrooms and the location.
Liked least: Nothing - we have been using this accommodation for the last 11 years
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing