We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stag venue”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of duvale barn

duvale barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
duvale barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
duvale barn
duvale barn looks on to this lake and you have access to walk around the lake and picnic
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
12 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 34
Bampton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alex W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stag venue”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Duvale barn was the right choice for our Stag-do. It's in a lovely part of the world and in a wonderful setting, surrounded by green. There was plenty of space for sleeping in comfort, and plenty of room inside for cooking/eating/hanging out, as well as a lovely outside space, away from the other properties, with picnic tables for us to enjoy the weather and the BBQ. Rosena, the host, was very helpful and answered all the questions we had quickly and kindly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outside space was great, and allowed us to throw a ball around and have a BBQ without feeling surrounded by other properties.
Liked least: With twenty-odd people showering in the morning there were some difficulties with water pressure - to be expected.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonnaEss
Willand, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic 70th Birthday Weekend”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were a family group of 20 including 7 young children from 2 - 8 yrs and it was lovely to have so much space inside (it is February!) for the children to run around in. There is a good sized, fenced garden with a gorgeous outlook to the lake for when it is a bit warmer.

The living rooms are very spacious with plenty of sofas for everyone to lounge around in. The living room leading out to the garden was a lovely room to spend the day relaxing in. The kitchens are very well equipped - two dish washers are brilliant! And plenty of crockery, glasses etc to go in them.

The bedrooms were all comfortable - everyone slept well. The duvets were warm and there were plenty of pillows. The downstairs bedroom is ideal for anyone with mobility issues. Oh, remember to bring towels.

The whole barn was clean, warm (central heating and log fires) and Rosena was so helpful and friendly through the booking process and during our stay.

Duvale Barn was a great location for Mum's 70th Birthday celebrations and we would definitely love to return for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy, cosy accommodation that you feel relaxed in.
Liked least: The odd cobweb.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivorguive...
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect for groups with children!”
Reviewed 12 February 2015 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We celebrated our friend's 40th birthday weekend here with ages ranging from 2-quite a bit older...
The children LOVED it! There were so many nooks and crannies for them to hide in and separate wings for them to go to when, for example, the boys wanted to get away from the girls...
The separate wings also played a great part in separating those who wanted to enjoy the gift of sleep and those who wanted to er- enjoy- the gift of time courtesy of early-rising children
Rosena was lovely and laid back. I was going to say 'throughout' but unless you wanted to speak to her, she just let you get on with it, which was fantastic- could properly relax.
Such a great place. Would happily go back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PE G
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs a bit of TLC”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
4
people found this review helpful

As a group of friends we have been going away between Christmas & New Year for over 20 years. Although Duvale Barn catered well for the size of our party, there were quite a few flaws that marred our stay.

We found the standard of cleanliness very poor and had to clean everywhere in the kitchens, including the hobs the ovens and some cooking trays and utensils. In one area of the house there was an unseasonal fly infestation (considering it was Dec/Jan) which had clearly been around for some time judging by the dead flies on the carpet on our arrival. The bathrooms and shower rooms were dirty and had mould on the walls and tiles.

The advertised free WiFi was inconsistent and inadequate, this could easily be resolved by a change of provider, especially as mobile signal is also patchy at best.

It was also the first holiday home we have stayed at without any christmas decorations at all.

On the plus side, it was great to have a dining table large enough to accommodate us all and a kitchen capable of catering for us all (once it had been cleaned). The location and surroundings were good.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonia m
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“week long 60th birthday party”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Excellent property very large seemed to go on forever. Brilliant enclosed garden great for us as we had young children and a guide dog in our party. Had a birthday I will never forget due to being able to find somewhere we could all stay without being on top of each other. The exeter inn down the road does really good food and nothing was too much trouble will go there again for sure. Local village Bampton has lovely pubs and shops and the people are really friendly. Wonderful property and area so glad we chose it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: size and location
Liked least: loads of flies in bedrooms on arrival
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim H
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant weekend”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We booked the duvale barn for a family get together, the barn was a fantastic size as there was 32 of us and we was concerned that it would be a bit cramped but it was perfect if anything we hardly used the second lounge! , Rosina the owner was very helpful with anything we needed and made us very welcome , we all had a fantastic weekend and would highly recommend the duvale priory. we will definitely be returning .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom W
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best places we've ever stayed in with the family!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Duvale Barn was an absolute delight; from the first enquiry to the personal goodbye. I took 27 of my family to this lovely converted barn, nestled away in the wonderful heart of Devon. The barn itself fitted us all in superbly with wonderful kitchen and bathroom facilities. The barn has it's own walled garden which overlooks a wonderful little pond with geese. The house is very child friendly and I was even allowed to take my dog at a small cost. I could not have asked for a better facility to fit my large family in and we will defiantly be returning to this little gem of an area. Thanks to Rosena who was very approachable and made everything so easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen was large enough to cook for the amount of people the barn could sleep (very rear)
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,994
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing