We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 STAR BED AND BREAKFAST!”
Review of Bindon Bottom B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Lulworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bindon Bottom B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 West Lulworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“5 STAR BED AND BREAKFAST!”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The bed was the most comfy & cosy kingsize bed, made up with beautiful duvet & pillows, with pure cotton linen. We had the best 4 nights’ sleep in ages! We stayed in the very spacious Hardy Room, but we also peeked in at a few other rooms that Lisa had prepared ready for arriving guests that afternoon... All beautifully decorated & furnished. Our room was spotlessly clean and had wonderful hillside views with two comfy armchairs in the big bay window to sit and relax. The en-suite was very modern and fully tiled, with lovely complimentary toiletries by Neals Yard - organic. In fact, we think that they had thought of everything. …and some lovely little details that you just don’t expect!

Breakfast offered a wonderful selection of local and organic produce. The organic coffee was smooth, Lisa’s homemade toast (choice of breads), was accompanied with organic jam & marmalade with REAL butter yummy. Full English Breakfast cooked superbly by Clive, and then some berries with organic yoghurt to finish. All whilst enjoying beautiful hillside views! What a way to start the day.

Right from the first phone call we found Lisa & Clive to be such easy-going and friendly hosts. They were happy to spend time talking about all the coastal walks and places to visit…and the room has lovely little details that you just don’t expect!

A 5 minute walk will take you to the Cove. Then walks in both directions from Bindon Bottom are magnificent – west takes you to Durdle Door & beyond, towards Osmington Mills, whilst east offers walks across the Lulworth Ranges taking you past Fossil Forrest, Mupe Bay and towards Kimmeridge. All breathtaking... Take good walking shoes!

We stayed in November, but we’re already getting our dates together to return this summer.. If they aren’t already booked up!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BazJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
818
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Bindom Bottom is very good by all accounts and I feel slightly guilty leaving this review as not excellent but as a seasoned traveller of both hotels and B & B's I have to say it is lacking a couple of things that cut it short of excellent.

My partner and I stayed there at the end of 2011, our room was a normal sized bedroom and a quite small bathroom but immaculately clean and tidy with nice furnishings. It rained during our stay and we would have liked to go back to the B & B for a coffee and read but with the lack of social sitting room we would have been confined to the bedroom. Not a real problem but they do like you to be out of your room between 11 and 3 pm for cleaning. You can let them know if you will be back but some things are just not planned.

Breakfast is also by alloted slots rather than between a certain time. You have to sign up for your slot the night before. We "missed" the last couple of later slots as they were taken so were first one morning at 8.30 am I think but we slept in and only had 10 minutes to get dressed. I felt a bit rushed.

All in all, lovely guest house, very clean and tidy, nice breakfast but lacking in a social space for us.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank diadora1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BindonBottom, Owner at Bindon Bottom B&B, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Many thanks for your very complimentary words in our handwritten Visitors Book and for your kind words again here on being immaculately clean and tidy, and for being a lovely ‘Guest House’.

You are certainly correct that we don’t have a Guest Lounge, we very simply don’t have the space, so we have the two beautiful arm chairs in the Blyton Room and many guests enjoy sitting & reading in the comfort of their room.

You are also correct that we need 4 hours to get through all of the house keeping. Clive & I do everything ourselves, not having staff to whiz through the house for us… and I suppose we also worry about guests tripping over vacuum cleaner leads etc, so we prefer to have it all lovely and clean for guests returning at 3pm for an afternoon cuppa and/or a snooze.

We genuinely aren't sure what you meant about ‘missing’ the later slots for breakfast… everyone staying with us can opt for anytime for breakfast between 8:30 and 9:30am, so breakfast is at whatever time you’d like, between those times.

Thanks again for staying at Bindon Bottom B&B.

Kind regards, Lisa (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Midlands
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Each December we make a "pilgrimage" to the South Coast to walk parts of the South West Coastal Path and always stay at a location new to us. This year we stayed in Lulworth, Dorset at a delightful B&B - Bindon Bottom for our pre-Christmas break and we were ertainly not disappointed with our choice.
On arrival we were greeted by our very friendly host, Lisa who took us to our room and explained everything that was necessary and made reference to the extremely helpful welcome guide that they had put together, including where to eat and drink in the evenings. The room we pre-selected was front facing with beautiful breaktaking views across the hills. All Bindon Bottom rooms are named after authors and/or poets who have a Dorset connection, Hardy being our room name, after Thomas Hardy.
The room had a bay window with 2 comfy chairs and a selection of magazines on the table to while away the time - if you had any to spare of course! In addition a selection of books was available by the bed, including the works of Thomas Hardy.
The comfortable king-size bed was dressed with clean white crisp linen which complimented the pastel tones of the room. The ensuite shower room was beautifully kitted out and the additional touches provided by Lisa and Clive were just great. They consisted of lovely organic toiletries, large soft white towels and bath robes and a box of necessaries such as blister plasters, toothpaste, Savlon and all manner of emergency items - very thoughtful.
The hospitality tray provided quality products together with cookies, filtered water (refreshed daily) and a bag of crisps! Each day 2 home-made chocolate truffles appeared by the side of the bed and they were moreish! In addition to the tray, there was a fridge on the landing which housed fresh milk and a supply of additional tea, coffee and filtered water.
The hospitality shown by Lisa and Clive was second to none, for example: one afternoon after getting drenched on a hike we placed our walking boots and wet socks in front of the log fire in the lounge/dining room. Later we discovered that our hosts had taken them away to be dried thoroughly in their drying room! How nice was that?! In addition we had planned a 16 mile round trip hike and needed to leave at 07:15am (in the dark, I hasten to add!) which was before breakfast commenced, so Lisa and Clive left us extra milk for cereals, a selection of fresh berries, fruit juice and water, to ensure we had something to start the day. These are just a few examples of the kindness shown by the wonderful hosts!
The breakfasts at Bindon Bottom are mouthwatering delicious and beautifully presented. All local and fresh produce are used where possible and Lisa bakes her own bread to make the first meal of the day even more enjoyable. Their ethos of organic, fresh and environmentally friendly is to be admired as they are doing it so well.
Due to bad weather coming in we had to cut short our stay in Dorset by one day, which was sad because we were quite comfortable at Bindon Bottom and still had places to explore. At least it gives us the opportunity to return another time.
I would like to take this opportunity of wishing Lisa and Clive every success in their B&B business, they are proving that they have what it takes!

Room Tip: Book the Hardy room for superb views across the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheHappyHikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Really great to stay at Bindom Bottom where they have just got the balance so right. Everything was really good from pre stay communications to the welcome to the room and attention to detail. But at the same time not over the top and very relaxed.
Also Lulworth Cove is one my favourite places to visit and located in a very special area. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam18Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at Bindon Bottom for 3 nights and it was absolutely lovely. Lisa and Clive are great hosts and the room had pretty much everything one could need. It's in a great location, very convenient to the main attractions on the Dorset coast. We will definitely be back for another visit!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kashif Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We found this B&B on the internet and it was all we hoped for. Love the name!! We stayed for 2 nights in the spacious Hardy Room which has wonderful large windows and a lovely view. Lots of toiletries and extra’s (Eco friendly) and the hosts Lisa and Clive were friendly and helpful. Good breakfasts and also catered for vegetarian and vegan. A great place to stay while enjoying the beautiful scenery in this area. Could have stayed longer. J&C

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We received a warm welcome on arrival and throughout our stay from our wonderful hosts Lisa and Clive.

The decor homely, our bedroom was spotless and very comfortable. Little touches such as a basket of toiletries and essentials, and an eco torch made such a difference! Why have other establisments not come up with the same concept?

We'd highly recommend staying at the delightful Bindon Bottom.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Lulworth
0.1 km away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
440 reviews
11.9 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,007 reviews
11.0 km away
Springfield Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Lulworth Cove Inn
Lulworth Cove Inn
#3 of 13 in West Lulworth
785 reviews
6.4 km away
Frome Dale
Frome Dale
#2 of 5 in Wool
68 reviews
14.7 km away
The Old Mill Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bindon Bottom B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bindon Bottom B&B

Property: Bindon Bottom B&B
Address: Main Road | Lulworth Cove, West Lulworth BH20 5RL, England (Formerly Graybank Bed & Breakfast)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > West Lulworth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in West Lulworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lisa and Clive welcome you to Bindon Bottom. This charming Victorian country house built of Purbeck and local stone is our home, nestled into the bottom of Bindon Hill in the quintessential English village of West Lulworth, Dorset. We have five guest rooms at Bindon Bottom: Four double rooms and one twin room. We feel sure you'll have a very relaxing and comfortable stay with us. Because of our perfect location and our relaxed atmosphere, many guests settle into Bindon Bottom as their base to discover the magnificent World Heritage Jurassic Coast as well as the beautiful Dorset Countryside and the Isle of Purbeck. Each guest room offers: * An extremely comfortable bed made up with Organic & Pure Cotton bed linen, luxury duvets and divine pillows * Flat screen TV, with 'Free Sat' Channels & DVD player ~ And we have a new DVD Library. * Wi Fi Internet Access * A hospitality tray brimming with Organic/Fair Trade tea & herbal teas, coffee, hot chocolate, decaf tea & coffee, filtered bottled water, fresh local milk and a jar of local biscuits & snacks. * Fluffy Fair Trade/Organic cotton towels * Luxury Fair Trade/Organic bathrobes * Eco Hair dryer * A wind-up Eco Torch to get you to the pub and back in the dark (there are no street lights in the village) * Organic luxury toiletries including hand wash, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel/bath foam & lots more... * The Official Jurassic Coast Information & Guide Books * A guest folder filled with useful information and ideas on where to eat and what to do... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bindon Bottom Bed And Breakfast
Bindon Bottom Hotel West Lulworth
Bindon Bottom B&B West Lulworth, Dorset, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing