We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, Dated, Depressing.”
Review of Travelodge Frimley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Frimley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Frimley Green
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Stayed as business user for 3 nights and found the overall experience very poor. The hotel itself is pretty non-descript and more like a motel/hostel than a hotel. They even still use a big chunky key attached to a big chunky key fob to open the room doors, which is something I haven't seen in a hotel for a long time.

The room I stayed in was very dated, stuffy and terrible reception for both phone signal and 3G. Even the Travelodge WIFI (£3 for 24 hours) was poor and dropped off regularly. Nice to note that if I wished to query this, I'd have to ring a premium rate number (providing I could get a signal of course) to Virgin Media, the provider.

The bed and bedding was decent as usual and would have contributed to a decent nights sleep if it wasn't for the constant distant humm of the M3 traffic I had to endure through the open windows (only the restricted 4 inch opening 'for my safety') which were open to let some much needed air in the room.

I didn't use the Toby Carvery right next door to the hotel, but heard mixed reviews from colleagues who did.
I was disapointed to find out that there was no link between the hotel and the Toby chain for a breakfast despite the two buildings appearing to be linked physically. The bed 'and breakfast' option was a 'breakfast box' for the princely sum of £5.95 for a box of cornflakes, milk, muffin and one other item which I think was a carton of orange juice or similar.

Another gripe was the fact that - at least during my visit - the hotel seemed to have some kind of deal with various contractors staying over (Sky and other communications or building companies), which is fine until you find yourself boxed in the car park in a morning due to the amount of contractor vans taking up most of the parking spaces on the one-way exit system.

Overall a visit I wouldn't recommend, especially considering the amount of other hotels (including other Travel lodges) in the area from which to choose from which also seem closer to all the amenities in Frimley, Camberley, Farnborough etc. As stated above, it was the overall feel of the hotel - like stepping back a decade or two.

Room Tip: Only two floors so perhaps the upper floor may be better for phone/wifi signa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Monko2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Frimley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Thank you for submitting your review of our Frimley Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Nice quiet location. The beds were comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean. The shower was good and the towels were good quality. The staff were excellent. They were friendly and extremely helpful. For what we paid it was excellent value for money.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank holidayaholic10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and it was perfect for what we needed - a bed for the night and at good value. We were exhausted after traveling over 300miles and didn't arrive until 10.30pm but the staff immediately welcomed us and were extremely efficient. The bed was lovely and comfortable and we had a fantastic night's sleep. Which is all we needed and wanted. The room was clean and there were enough towels for us. There is shower gel which also serves as shampoo but that's all for toiletries - exactly as you would expect from a Travelodge though. There was a kettle in the room with tea and coffee. There is a pub on the same site and it does a decent breakfast - would recommend for cooked English breakfast. The staff at both the hotel and pub were really friendly and helpful and I would definitely recommend to stay here if you really need no frills but a great night's sleep.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lisao00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of 4 the start of August the family room was very large, the member of staff was happy to set up a travel cot for us, the beds were all very comfortable and although nr the road wasn't noisy! The beds where all remade every day and fresh towels when required, the car park was free and ideally situated next to Toby carvery we used the hotel as a base between legoland and trips into London! only thing that we was disappointed with was no bath having a young baby using a shower was a mare otherwise had a lovely stay!! will stay again!!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

The room was clean and well maintained. Bed very comfortable and we sept well. Bathroom was clean and well equipped with thick towels and liquid soaps. Staff pleasant and helpful. Toby Inn close by for dinner and breakfast (8am start).

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Excellent accommodation, clean, fresh decor, quiet, plenty of parking.Adjoining Toby restaurant convenient for breakfast and other meals (although extremely busy when we called late on Sunday evening). It was regrettable that there was a charge for wi-fi. In theory you can have 30 minutes free but this did not seem to operate as expected.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Badger8218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Stayed here with my boyfriend and his family. I was toying between a 2 star and 3 star review of this place. I feel like the rooms could do with some regeneration and a bit of sprucing up, however it was clean, comfortable and staff were friendly, and so perfect for a night's stay. The rooms are still opened by key rather than a card and there is no lift. I was kept awake for quite some time by a loud noise, sounded like someone trying to turn on a hoover. This went on all night.

However the big disappointment was in the morning when we tried to have a shower. We had absolutely no hot water. My boyfriend's parents who were next door also had no hot water. As there was no phone to call down to reception we just had to have a freezing cold shower. When we went down to reception to check out the lady on reception asked if all was ok with our stay - without mention of the hot water - and it was only when I bought it up she said that the pump was broken (which happened to be the loud noise!). It would of been nice to have at least a compliment slip pushed through our room door to explain the water situation, or maybe a knock at the door in the morning. There was no offer of a refund, or even a free breakfast as compensation. Although obviously, these things happen, it would of been nice to have been treated a little better by the staff / management of the hotel. The situation could of been handled a lot better in my opinion!

However I would say that if the hot water was working then we would have had a pleasant stay, and would return if we were ever back in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank siobhanxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Frimley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the overall experience, although we would like to apologise that your experience was impacted by the lack of hot water. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion.

We have passed on your feedback to the hotel and we thank you again for your review. As your stay was not up to our usual high standards, may we kindly ask you to contact one of our Customer Services Advisors via our website help form to look into this more thoroughly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frimley Green
2.6 km away
Lakeside International Hotel
Lakeside International Hotel
#2 of 2 in Frimley Green
284 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Camberley Hotel
1.5 km away
Travelodge Camberley Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
3.9 km away
Premier Inn Farnborough Town Centre
3.9 km away
Travelodge Farnborough Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Frimley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Frimley

Address: 114 Portsmouth Road, Frimley Green GU15 1HS, England (Formerly Innkeeper's Lodge Camberley Frimley)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Frimley Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Frimley Green
Price Range: $75 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Frimley 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Frimley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Frimley Hotel Camberley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing