We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped, stunning views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of POPPYLAND

View of Poppyland from Winterton valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Poppyland from Winterton valley
Back garden  Back garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
View of Poppyland from Winterton valley
Back garden
Back garden
View from back garden over Winterton valley and the sea
View from back garden over Winterton valley and the sea
View from back garden over Winterton valley and the sea
Poppylands private direct access from back garden to dunes and beach
Poppylands private direct access from back garden to dunes and beach
Front garden with parking for two cars
Winterton beach
Winterton beach
Winterton beach
Lounge with sea view,40 inch tv and free wifi
Lounge with sea view ,40 inch tv and free wifi
Lounge with sea view
Kitchen
Double bedroom with sea view
Twin bedroom
Single bedroom
Winterton dunes
Seals at nearby Horsey beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Winterton-on-Sea, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pamela P
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well equipped, stunning views”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This place ticked a lot of boxes for us. I was travelling with my elderly parents and young son and a dog. It is really dog and child friendly. It is secure, so once you close the gates the kids/dog can't get out and can run around happily in the garden.

My parents couldn't make the steps down to the dunes and beach, but they loved the views.

It was a about 15 minute walk for me (able bodied) into Winterton village and about the same down to the fair in Hemsby.

The bungalow is well equipped with things that I didn't expect like washing up liquid, tea towels, bath mat, cleaning things and plenty of toilet rolls.

It is really quiet here, the only thing we heard was the wind and the sound of the sea whilst we were there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View was amazing and so quiet
Liked least: Shower and I would prefer a dishwasher to a washing machine
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda T
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful stunning view”
Reviewed 2 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Didn't need half the stuff I took. Only towels. Really tranquil stunning views. Ten minute walk on beach to fisherman's return that served excellent food and very dog friendly. Fish shop and shop there as well

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: The slug in the kitchen! :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma B
1 review
“Idyllic Break”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We are so happy that we found Poppyland and our first visit definitely won't be our last. We've recommended it to lots of family and friends already.
The chalet is fantastically equipped and in an absolutely amazing location. We were so happy with everything and the children were devastated to have to leave.
Couldn't have wished for anything more!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H
Doncaster
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location,stunning views”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a weeks break at poppyland and was pleasantly surprised by the location as it is tucked away out of sight.The bungalow is spacious and vey clean with great views over the dunes out to sea.Inside was pleasant and well equipped and really everything you needed was at hand. Once outside through the gate at the bottom of The garden you are on the dunes and only a couple of minutes from the sea and sands. The bungalow is dog friendly and the surrounding area is brilliant for dogs and you can walk for miles along the beach and hardly meet any. Around and about the village of Winterton on the sea is very quaint and has a shop,pub and chip shop. Hemsby in the other direction has shops ,cafes and amusements if you got kids to amuse. Further afield, Yarmouth and the broads are all within a short drive. Would recommend a Sta at poppylands if you want a quite relaxing break in pleasant surrounding.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela G
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Wonderful house, wonderful location, this house had everything we needed for a break over New Year, even some goodies to welcome us when we got there.
The direct access to the beach meant that we walked along there every day, Nobby the dog was particularly pleased! Hope to return

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JANICE J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxing break”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were drawn to Poppyland by the beautiful pictures and good reviews and were definitely not disappointed, it is a lovely place to stay. Peaceful surroundings, lovely views and home comforts make for a perfect holiday, not to mention the miles of traffic free walks on the doorstep, our dog was as sad as we were when it was time to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Comfort, location and views.
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Bungalow was presented in a nice clean and tidy manner, quite clearly with attention to detail.
2 Adults and dog had a great time, in this well equipped and very comfortable property.
The location is fantastic, the centre of Winterton easily managed by foot either by beach, sand dunes or path, where you will find a shop, post office, great dog friendly pub and fish and chip shop. Also the beach hosts a great cafe, stocking a good range of food and drink, with friendly staff. Great sandy beach, plenty of space for dog walkers or sun bathers.
Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No giant lost of rules and regulations. Like we don't know how to behave!
Liked least: Prospect of Adders on sand dunes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;