We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So warm and cozy with great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maz's on the Mountain
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So warm and cozy with great breakfast”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We just turned up one Monday evening and loved all the different themed rooms, and chose the Tivoli room. The best things were the woodburning stove and a big bathroom with spa bath (a few of the water shoots weren't working, but I forgot to tell the owners and it didn't worry us), and we chose some DVDs to watch. It was only a short walk to a local Indian restaurant that was really tasty and good value, and there is a beautiful walk to a waterfall too where we saw some king parrots. The bed was comfortable, and the rooms are in a quiet location in a large garden. The breakfast was such a surprise because we got pancakes with berries and maple syrup as well as cereal, and eggs, bacon and tomatoes, and could have had toast if we could have managed it. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gabbakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazsonthemountain, Manager at Maz's on the Mountain, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Thank you. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope you get a chance to come back in the springtime when the gardens are at their best.
Thanks for the heads up on the spa, the problem has been attended to.
We pride ourselves on our breakfasts and appreciate the feedback.
Thanks again...Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    10
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Upon arriving we were greeted by the manager and all seemed well... upon entry to the rose cottage, we received no afternoon tea, nor the cheese platter at sunset that was stated on the website.

Much to our disappointment, we were amazed to find that not one but 2 lights were not working the drain in the bathroom flooded, the mattress on the bed was hard as a rock, the place was very dark they used recycled tank water so caution do not drink the water as both my friend and myself had upset stomachs! and you can guess the rest...

As night fell we were told that we were gonna receive a kindling pack for the fire which didn't happen, so here we were struggling to light this fire with one piece of newspaper and damp wood! it was extremely cold, and we found one of the managers to be quite abrupt when asking him for newspaper!, he appeared to be be quite stingy with the newspaper so we went out and bought our own.

This is a place i would not recommended for the amount of money that we were charged, in general in my opinion the place needs serious maintenance done, and basically the only thing we got was a breakfast with two pieces of bacon and eggs cereal, and 2 muffins and toast, juice and fruit... don't go there! There are also no phones to get in contact with the managers and you have to go to the office if it's open.... best of luck if you decide to stay..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brightstar101_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazsonthemountain, Owner at Maz's on the Mountain, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
I'm so sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
We are in the process of shutting down our old website as it is out of date.
If you had a problem then maybe you should have spoken directly to us and we could have fixed it.
Yes the cottage is "dark". That is its theme. It is the Rose Cottage painted in rose colours with dark curtains. The lighting is "mood" for romance.
Office hours are from 8am-8pm. We live on site and are readily available after hours.
"Recycled tank water!!!" Yes our water comes from the sky and is tank water, as is all of Tamborine Mountain. We are surrounded by rainforest in a cottage garden so there will be some tannins in the water and slightly discoloured, from leaf litter, but i can assure you it is perfectly safe to drink. It is definetly NOT recycled.
With regards to the fires. Our wood is not wet. It is stored undercover or on your own verandahs. Again you only needed to ask for assistance. Extra wood and starter packs are supplied on a daily basis. As we also do breakfast and cleaning this may not arrive till mid morning.
There are no phones in the cottages or suites as we are not a Motel. This is a B&B and most people come here to get away from things.
Helen, Manager Maz's on the Mountain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2011

I write this as I am quite biased about Maz's, seeing my husband and I were friends of Maz and had our wedding and reception there. The place is magic, and if you are looking to spoil yourself this is the place to do so, with the help of the new managers. The food is of the highest standard, and always has been so. There is nothing like sitting on your own balcony early morning enjoying one of the sumptuous breakfasts surrounded by beautiful rainforest and watching the many variety of birds. Each themed cottage has spa baths, four poster beds, and musical instruments provided.
We certainly will be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalopianGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2011

The new managers Helen and John were simply wonderful. Our suite was lovely, clean and perfect presentation, the spa a delight, the full breakfast outstanding!, service impeccable, hospitality warm and inviting. We stayed for three nights and on the Saturday night, we met our neighbours from the suite next door. In the spirit of the friendly atmosphere we shared, we enjoyed a wonderful Saturday night together - starting with drinks with the hosts, then dinner and drinks at a nearby restaurant/bar on the Saturday night (I laughed so much my stomach ached!) My partner and I enjoyed romantic breakfasts for two on our balcony and when the weather turned cool we shared breakfast in the main dining room which made for a pleasant social occasion. Or if we wanted to keep to ourselves, we simply lit the fire and enjoyed our own company with some lovely wine. Maz's on the Mountain is in a perfect location between the two town areas on Nth Tamborine. Its a short walk to restaurants and Curtis Falls. With lovely established gardens bordered by some rainforest, we can highly recommend it and will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tivoli suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WMayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mazsonthemountain, Manager at Maz's on the Mountain, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Thanks guys. We enjoyed your company too. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We just spend a most enjoyable 3 nights in the jazz theme cottage. The hospitality shown to us by the new management was second to none. We did not book and found after 3 phone calls this was the only one to answer. We went straight there to have a look. On arrival we were shown the cottages available and could chose what we wanted. I cannot express how welcome we were made felt, it was just so wonderful. Every morning we had a breakfast basket delivered with scrumptious goodies inside. Believe me when I say you cannot possibely fit it all in.

This was our first visit to Tambourine Mt and will definately not be our last, everything about Maz's Retreat was so relaxing and homely, I highly recommend it to anyone who needs a relaxing getaway.

Thankyou for a wonderful stay, cannot fault any part of it.

John and Leslie Massingham
Rockhampton

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank braileyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamborine Mountain hotels
0.7 km away
Bungunyah Manor Resort
Bungunyah Manor Resort
#2 of 3 in North Tamborine
127 reviews
1.8 km away
Witches Falls Cottages
Witches Falls Cottages
#2 of 6 in North Tamborine
259 reviews
0.3 km away
Mt Tamborine Stonehaven Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Curtis Falls Mountain Spa Retreat
Curtis Falls Mountain Spa Retrea...
#7 of 9 in North Tamborine
29 reviews
4.6 km away
Escarpment Retreat
Escarpment Retreat
#1 of 2 in Mount Tamborine
303 reviews
3.0 km away
Camelot Cottages
Camelot Cottages
#4 of 6 in North Tamborine
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maz's on the Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maz's on the Mountain

Property: Maz's on the Mountain
Address: Maz's on the Mountain 25 Eagle Heights Rd, Tamborine Mountain, Queensland 4272, Australia (Formerly Ambience Cottages and B & B)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Tamborine Mountain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Tamborine Mountain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maz's on the Mountain 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Rainforest Mazs's Tamborine Mountain Cottages & B&B has four luxurious, large, 3 room, self contained cottages and three B&B suites. All cottages and suites have fires, spas, 4 poster beds, air conditioning, DVD & CD players, a substantial eclectic DVD library, lounge areas and verandas. We serve a delicious. We also welcome groups of friends or wedding parties to book with us and pride ourselves on our provision of first class service to all who stay. Swim in our pool in summer or relax in front of the fire in our delightful lounge/dining area on cool winter nights. We're also close to everything. Located in Mount Tamborine it is a 400 metres to Curtis Falls rainforest walk, a 10 minute walk to Gallery Walk or North Tamborine shops and cafes. The area is also host to a number of vineyards, wineries, cheesemakers and brewers. Tours are available for all. Visitors can visit a variety of weekend markets. Bushwalkers have the choice of many walks in the regions National Parks ranging from simple to difficult. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing