We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay.....again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017

My husband and I stayed here on a Stay,Shop,Relax package in July.......we enjoyed it so much we decided to stay again for my husbands birthday in September.
We arrived slightly early and our room wasn’t quite ready so the reception staff arranged for us to have our afternoon tea earlier than we had booked it for.....no problems everything sorted promptly and efficiently.
Our afternoon tea was in the bar as I’d previously phoned to ask if we could sit somewhere near to a source of fresh air.....this had been sorted and we were comfortably sat by the open door......beautiful and freshly prepared cake stands were delivered to our table along with our choice of hot drink from an extensive menu......we thoroughly enjoyed it all.
Our garden room was lovely and had everything we needed in it.
We ventured down to the spa and spent a good hour or so enjoying the jacuzzi and pool with even a brief step into the snow cave.
Breakfast next morning was lovely a good choice of hot and cold products with probably the best sausages we have ever had in a hotel!!
We will definitely be going back, probably for our 20th Wedding Anniversary in December!!

Room Tip: Garden rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

We had a wonderful time at the hotel, experiencing the bistro and spa facilities which were excellent. We booked a couple of rooms which were lovely, clean and spacious. The concierge was very knowledgable and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pbbasnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

First class! The whole experience was a pleasure from start to finish especially the food,living in the Wirral we could easily drive home but with such great rooms and value for money e decided to make a night of it and stay over.
We were not disappointed and would recommend folks consider doing the same
Well done to all concerned in looking after us and Thank You

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tonyj326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

A surprise for my partners 40th birthday and he loved it, lovely place, bedroom very comfy and the tapas were fab.
Spa facilities good especially the outdoor spa when the rain is pouring and having a glass of vino, all in all a lovely stay

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 572gemmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Have attended functions at this hotel many times, but this was the first time I had stayed the night. The fact that I did not have to hang around for a taxi only added to my enjoyment of the event I was attending. The room where the event was staged was beautifully decorated. Due to fact that two events had taken place that evening and the hotel was full, breakfast was busy, however the staff were friendly and attentive. Would definitely stay overnight when attending future events.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Room fabulous, service fabulous, spa facilities fabulous but, it is 2017 and people who follow plant based/vegan diets are increasing, I would expect a hotel of this standard to have, at least, a Linda mccartney sausage or hash brown for breakfast! The meal at the ball was a roast = veg, roast spud ( which I enjoyed) but it was served with..,a dollop of black lentils with curry paste - which was awful not very inventive or impressive- breakfast was a huge plate of mushrooms, 2 tomatoes and beans... they tried but I was surprised at the lack of flair/thought. Please consider providing vegan options, we are a growing group of consumers-you can store Linda mc sausages in the freezer to use on demand, or offer avocados on toast perhaps? ... even McDonald's are bringing out a vegan burger! I love the hotel and it's staff but the powers that be need to revisit the menus !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 188Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Two day break here with my wife. Overall was enjoyable if somewhat overpriced for what was actually received on a dinner, b&b rate. Dinner on the first evening was a very nice Italian special menu, inclusive of wine and at a supplement to the normal rate. Second evening was dinner in the Lawns Restaurant, nice enough but took what seemed like an age to arrive.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
7.4 km away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
7.8 km away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
286 reviews
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
294 reviews
6.6 km away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
813 reviews
5.8 km away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Neston Road | Wirral, Thornton Hough CH63 1JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Price Range: $128 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Spa Resort - 20 minutes from Liverpool and Chester. Free high speed Wifi throughout the hotel, including all bedrooms, Smart TV's now in every bedroom offering a huge selection of channels and interactive services including Sky Sports 1,2 & 3, free car parking. Nestled in the Wirral Countryside and conveniently located for Manchester, Merseyside & North Wales. Our luxurious four star hotel offers state of the art conference facilities for up to 650 delegates & event management along with one of the finest Spas in the North West, offering an amazing array of spa treatments and spa packages to suit everyone, both Holistic and Clinical treatments. 20 metre pool, outdoor Hydro Spa Pools, Gym, Sauna, Steam Room, Tranquility Suite and New Rasul Room, makeup styling Suite and additional dual treatment room. Plus Golf Breaks playing at Heswall Golf Club one of the finest courses in the region. Delighted to be Headquarter hotel to the R&A Open Golf Championship 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Hall Hotel Thornton Hough
Thornton Hall Hotel And Spa
Hotel Thornton Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing