We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to moderate hike with great views”

Gorham Mountain Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.00*
and up
America the Beautiful - National Parks & Federal...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed October 25, 2018

I did this from the Gorham Mountain Trail car park clockwise, down to Sandy Beach then back on the Ocean Road. You probably need to get to the trailhead by about 9am if you want to park there, but don't stress about it as you can park on the road. If you do the trail this way, it's not as steep going up, but it does mean it's a bit steep going down. There are quite a few boulders and rocks to navigate, but as someone in my late 40s who is not that fit, I took my time, had hiking boots on, a walking pole and didn't find it arduous. It's only c200m/650ft climb. Fabulous views on the way up and at the top - all the way down to Sandy Beach and Otter Cover.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank holidayqueen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cadillac cliffs"
in 44 reviews
"moderate hike"
in 22 reviews
"great hike"
in 35 reviews
"sand beach"
in 65 reviews
"parking lot"
in 29 reviews
"thunder hole"
in 27 reviews
"half day hike"
in 3 reviews
"total distance"
in 3 reviews
"parking area"
in 15 reviews
"rated moderate"
in 4 reviews
"family hike"
in 4 reviews
"balance issues"
in 3 reviews
"ocean view"
in 4 reviews
"year olds"
in 5 reviews
"hiking shoes"
in 5 reviews
"rewarding views"
in 3 reviews
"bring water"
in 5 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 275 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2018

This took us about 1.5 hours. We are in our 30s, fit. Took time to take pictures at every scenic outlook, which there were many. If you are choosing between Nikes and hiking shoes for this hike, the winner is hiking boots. LOTS of rocks and boulders to traverse up and down. Bring more water than you think you might need! We parked in the Sandy Beach parking lot, then took Ocean Path south down to Otter Point. You can stop and see Thunder Hole that way, and not have to worry about parking and the one-way gridlock with Park Loop. We timed our hike to coincide with 2 hrs before high tide at Thunder Hole. No thunder, but still neat. At otter point, we went across the road to the nearest parking lot, from which you can start Gorham Trail. Depending on where you pop out, you may have to go one parking lot more north to access a trailhead. They all seem to join up. We hiked NORTH up Gorham Mountain, then down the trail to eventually pop out across from the Sand Beach parking lot. GORGEOUS!!!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2018

One of the best hike is the park in our opinion. The views from the top of Gorham Mountain are spectacular.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank shatiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

A friend recommended this trail and I'm so glad since I chickened out on the Precipice and Beehive. This hike was perfect for me with no daring cliffs to scale but still enough of a workout to have to stop once in awhile. The trail is gorgeous and the views are spectacular!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank amy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

We arrived at the parking area about 9:30 on a Sunday and were pleased to find a spot. It was a lovely day and we enjoyed the trail which was well marked and moderately traveled that day. We ended up combining the Bowl trail and Beehive before meandering back to our car via the sand beach and Ocean path.
It was very rewarding with fantastic views.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Lovtorun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gorham Mountain Trail also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Gorham Mountain Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing