We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
very fun and mountain road.

this was far better then I could have ever imagined. we were originally headed to the Oregon vortex... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Sabrina A
Easy access to scenic views

We arrived at Crater Lake National Park late in the day (3pm) so we had limited daylight hours... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Lauri M
,
Holmen
via mobile
Read all 535 reviews
  
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
407
88
9
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
88
9
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews take your time both directions park map every turn pull over take pictures road construction west side different angles photo ops visitor center phantom ship overlook spectacular views sun notch closed due cleetwood cove hiking trails
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

this was far better then I could have ever imagined. we were originally headed to the Oregon vortex but we where never gonna make it there b4 it closed. and I was like I have heard of this turned with no expectations what so ever just to add a days adventure on our road trip home to Texas, and LET ME TELL YOU it was so unexpectedly beautiful. the higher the colder it got. we as Texas were not ready for this, we froze a little bit while we looked at the crater when we finally made it. the road itself so worth it!!! vies at every turn, waterfall hikes all over. I wish we had more time than a drive through but we did do one. Also, you can hike down to the crater to that beautiful blue water which I didn't know by the way and if you didn't either you do
NOW!
the drive did have some little scary parts but not that bad if you have never driven on the mountains b4. the road is very well maintained and de-iced but still drive safe and all.

Thank Sabrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We arrived at Crater Lake National Park late in the day (3pm) so we had limited daylight hours. The rim drive was the perfect way to take in the breathtaking scenery around the lake as you could choose which of the many pull/off areas you wanted to stop at or keep going. We spent about 3 hours on the drive and had ample time to get out for short walks and/or photo ops. Next time we would definitely allow a full day or more to fully experience the park but we came away with a good experience in the time we had.

Thank Lauri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

When you go to Crater Lake National Park, make the entire loop drive around the lake on Rim Drive. Not only will you have many wonderful views of the lake, but of the surrounding landscape as well. Just make sure the driver is focused on the road and not on the incomparable scenery, however.

Thank Gafilpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a small national park with few hikes. The rim drive is the major to-do activity to see the lake from different points. It's a 33 mile loop around the lake and consists of many overlooking stop.

Thank tazrianahmed91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Rim Road is just that. The 33-mile long road that circles Crater Lake.
It is a very scenic road and the views are great from everywhere.
The road is in good shape, but it is narrow, so wide and long vehicles need to proceed carefully.
It is generally open from early July to late October or the first heavy snow.
If one does not stop (how could you not?) the drive take about an hour, but time plans should be made to include many stops and some side roads. 2-3 hours, or a half day was about right for us and we left off some side detours.
There more than 30 scenic pullouts and most have reasonable parking. Then if one wishes to hike any of the trails, more time is needed. Good shoes for hiking are suggested. Most of the lookouts do not have guard rails, the edges are crumbly and the sides are steep.
Pick up the park newspaper for the must-see stops.
Rim Village (SW side) has a café, and gift shop, and it's where the Crater Lake Lodge and Visitor Center are. Its the only services area along the road. Arrangements can be made there for lake trips, fishing, or any other on-the-water activities.
The snow was off the roads and piled up out of the way, but there still was enough. Dress for wind and cold, even if you think you won't need it. The wind can be strong and frigid and it comes up suddenly.
Leashed pets are allowed on certain trails, but not all. Inquire at the Visitor Center. Overnight backpacking trips must be permitted.

Thank Violette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we took about 3.5 hours to make the 34-mile rim drive---frequent stops were our choice---Do not miss the Pinnacles, about 9 miles off of the rim drive---well worth the detour. (I posted a website, but the review was rejected by Trip Advisor) Great views every few miles!

Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best way to see all of the lovely features of Crater Lake is to take the Rim Drive along the circumference of the Lake. It provides many stopping points and parking areas, many with postings describing the geological features you're seeing. Allow at least a couple of hours.

1  Thank DonaldYokum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were there in October, and the weather snookered us. It was forecast for 52 degrees and might have got there later in the afternoon, but we were there around 10 in the morning, and it was 32 with about 15-20 mile per hour winds. When we arrived at the Watchman Viewpoint, I got out to take some pictures but got chased back to the car by snow pellets. Since the winds were so strong, the snow was blowing sideways and pea-sized pellets blowing at that angle could really sting. The frost on the trees on the west rim was gorgeous, but there are limited options for photography on that stretch.

Thank NikkiN777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The area is beautiful; however, the drive allows you any opportunity to see the lake from different vantage points. There a are lot of photo ops. I like the fact that you could pull over, safely and take in the views. It takes some time; but it is certainly worth you effort and the time that you spend. I like the fact that the footing was level which is very good for physically challenged guests. Dress appropriately as it can be windy and cool.

Thank AJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

The views from the lake are nice but they are kind of the same around the lake. The drive is enjoyable and acceptable

Thank plaraa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews