We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Ranch at Death Valley(Death Valley National Park)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$309
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$111
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amargosa Opera House and Hotel(Death Valley Junction)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (758)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveller rating
106
206
187
109
150
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
206
187
109
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdarwin fallsbeer selectiontent cabinspizzarestaurant barfront porchfull hookupslong drivemilky wayrooms are basicexploring death valleynational parkballaratsolitudesignalwildernesscampsite
Filter
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 758 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I could not decide what this motel would be like from reading the other reviews so decided to find out myself. It was built in the 30's, and so when you park in the tiny space outside the rooms alloted for cars made 80 years ago, it can be a bit difficult and as you walk the few steps into the room––no stairs or concrete walkways––you enter the small room with dusty footprints.

It's at the edge of the park and it does feel as though you have entered another realm.

Joseph, the man in the filling station/convenience store where we checked in, was full of suggestions for hiking/viewing experiences and quite pleasant, and so was the owner, or one of them, we encountered having dinner outside on the patio where we ate. We found the waiters to be very down-home, friendly folks. There's a great large tabby cat, Bob, who sprawled across a table. The food was edible; we found even vegetarian burgers. They have lots of different beers to choose from as well.

The room seemed clean, the bed was fine with us. The furniture was bare bones minimum, strictly functional. The vanity in the bathroom was wooden and all scratched and blistered on one side, but clean, and the glass blocks in the shower had rust or dirt on the medium holding them togehter and the screen on the window was a piece of screening stapled irregularly onto the frame. It didn't bother me that I couldn't access the internet––we
were in the desert, getting away from it all.

We did like the people who work here which helped a lot, even the fact that there is a nasal hum from the restaurant swamp cooler going all night, and though I would have preferred quiet, it was an innocuous white noise.We liked the feeling of stepping into the 1930's motel ambience, though we wish the prices would reflect that: the $94 plus tax should be reversed: $49 is more accurate. I recommend this for a first stop in the park and just for a night, unless you want to hike around all day and only sleep and have dinner here. The room wouldn't be a place to hang out in should there be a big dust storm precluding sight-seeing or hiking. This place is smaller and more authentic than the larger more generic-seeming large Stovepipe Wells place we drove past.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosabluecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We have stayed here a few times on motorcycle trips, always found it clean and comfortable, good food, good beer and friendly people. Might be a bit more for gas and food but they are off the grid and in the middle of pretty much nowhere. This is an off the beaten path, quaint, quirky, old time feel kind of place, if you're looking for room service and pool side drinks then go to the Hilton someplace. We are able to park our bikes right out side the front door and talk to others sitting outside enjoying the adventure. Darwin Springs is just up the road and Death Valley is just over the hill. If you're in for adventure and people this is a great stop. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGreatBunndini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Yes, it could do with updating. But it was perfect for our tour of the area and fitted our our imagined image of a motel on the edge of Death Valley perfectly.

Fuel is a bit expensive here, but they were kind enough to state that I might as well fill up in the park where it is cheaper. They were very helpful in terms of planning our itinery. The service was good and friendly. Dinner and breakfast were plain but as expected and no complaints.

View from the terrace was great and made the beer even more enjoyable. Choice of over 150 beers was the best I have seen anywhere and I come from an area of England surrounded by micro-breweries!

Room was probably the most basic of our tour but was fine for our needs and no issues over cleaniness.

Overall, a good experience. Helped by a committed team who run this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrCabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Whatever expectations you've gotten from the pictures and reviews posted at this business' website cut them in half. Now cut them in half again. A little lower and you're almost there. I was so upset about that I called the concessions manager at the NPS and found out that these people are NOT part of the NPS, BEWARE! Althought their misleading website might have you believe they are sanctioned by the park, they are not.

The only thing that is reasonably priced is the tent camping at $7.50 a night. But their so-called 'modest' prices are outrageous compared to the rest of the area.
#1. Their gas costs over $1 more than at Stovepipe Wells, which is fifty miles deeper into the interior of the park. Interesting...
#2 A large pizza will cost you $35 and that's the 'special'
#3 The rooms are a 10x10 rat-hole with a thin, flimsy mattress, filthy bedding and a smell that will keep you up at night. I was warned on the phone that there was no T.V., but I thought "Who cares? It's a resort" Think again. At $90 a night, you're betting off driving over the hill to Lone Pine and getting a comparatively luxurious room at the Best Western for the same price.

That said I'm sure this place has managed stick around so long because they're the only place for fifty miles, It's apparent that none of the money they are taking in is going back into the business for basic improvements or maintenance. Even at the campground the site numbers are spray-painted on and barely readable, and the road is non-existent you just drive where you want. I hope with enough bad reviews that people will learn to steer clear of this place AT ALL COSTS!

P.S. I can't help but think that any review giving this place more than two stars is FAKE!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Owner at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

This guest did not stay in our motel, and in fact did not see the interior of the rooms. She saw the exterior and decided she did not want to stay. This invalidates her accusations on the conditions of the rooms, however I will respond to them anyways: All of our queen beds have new mattresses. The rest of our mattresses will be replaced shortly. All of our bedding is new (purchased in November) and is washed daily. Our rooms are very clean and do not have odors.

We are inside Death Valley National Park. We are 10 miles inside the western border, in the Panamint Valley. We are not a park concession. We are privately owned and operated. We have never claimed to be affiliated with the National Park Service, we are simply located inside the park.

Our gas is usually more expensive than Stovepipe Wells, as this is a park concession that receives subsidies from the US government. Furnace Creek gas is generally the same or more than our gas. We have gas as a public service because there are no other gas stations in this valley. The price is unfortunately what we have to charge in order to keep our heads above water.

Our motel rooms are the least expensive in the park. Our restaurant prices are also competitive with the other restaurants in the park. The prices, which may be considered high compared to businesses in more developed areas, are due to the fact that we are completely off grid (meaning we don't have access to public utilities) and must supply our own power (via diesel generator), water (via 5 mile pipeline from a spring), phone (via reflected, captured, and forwarded digital cell signal), and internet (via satellite).

Our high operating costs and maintaining our sometimes difficult infrastructure makes it difficult to do business in this locations. However, we put as much revenue possible towards remodeling and improving our facilities. Several of our rooms have recently remodeled bathrooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2012

PSR is the best place to base Death Valley National Park adventures from. It's an independent family run motel with outstanding micro-brew pub restaurant and excellent WIFI. We stay for ten days at a time every winter and love the spectacular scenery right out the front door. The Panamint Valley is in the National Park and has the best sand dunes and Darwin Falls is virtually out the back door.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BertaLeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews