We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (781)
Filter reviews
781 results
Traveller rating
112
209
195
112
153
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
209
195
112
153
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west side beer selection darwin falls tent cabins pizza night skies restaurant bar full hookups front porch long drive milky way exploring death valley national park desert ballarat solitude signal
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 781 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

We spend only 1 night here and it was ok. Restrooms were old and in need of a renovation. Perfect location in Death Valley. Not expensive only 35 dollar a night. There’s a restaurant accross the street.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

Be sure to consider photos and prices before staying. This is a renovated resort originally built in 1937 and it has many old touches. Don’t plan to spend a ton of time in the rooms - this is a good place to rest, recharge, grab a meal, then head out to explore Death Valley. The location is excellent and the gas station/ shop have everything you’d need for camping or hiking at reasonable prices. The restaurant is a bit pricey but tastes great - their house salad is terrific, try the homemade vinaigrette!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Clayton O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thank you for sharing, Clayton! We hope you will visit again soon to continue exploring the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 29, 2018

We stayed for 1 night in room number 1 on the way to visit Death Valley. (Many of our comments on the room are confirmed in FootlooseJan’s review). The room rate was $100, extremely bad value.
The place was once an abandoned mining encampment and unfortunately has not moved on far enough from that. Our room was the end one of a row of essentially small wooden huts behind the main building. The ground everywhere was simply hardened dust and loose pebbles. There was not enough width for a car to be parked outside each room. The mat in the porch didn’t prevent white dust footmarks on the dark carpet. The walls were paper-thin, so you could easily hear conversation in the next room. There was a mirror, but otherwise not a scrap of artwork on the walls. There were two double beds in the room, which resulted in only about 9 inches between one side of the bed and the wall. There was no hairdryer, kettle or TV. The bathroom was dire. The plastic shower surround was cracked and had a 2-inch hole in. The bathroom window didn’t seem to open and there was no extractor fan. The furniture was sparse, old, unmatched and scuffed - it looked like it had been obtained from a yard sale. The wifi did not have enough bandwidth, so was essentially useless.
On the plus side, there were great views and chairs (albeit covered in dust) on our verandah, but the view from there was obscured by a large marquee extending from the main building.
At dinner, the food was quite expensive and bland. Our server was friendly, but in a rather overbearing way. You would have to have been very brave to respond other than in the affirmative to his booming question “Everything good?”
The breakfast buffet was $10 a head and adequate. The coffee was weak and the orange juice too (but this was not unusual for US hotels in our experience, and we stayed at about 20 in our drive from LA to New York). The fresh fruit salad was a nice touch. We didn’t add a tip for service, because we did everything ourselves!
Fine if you are prepared to rough it like a borax miner, but otherwise, drive on a little further into the valley and stay at somewhere better in Furnace Creek or Stovepipe Wells.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SPAN_Edgbaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thank you for sharing, although I would say that staying in one of our historic rooms is hardly like the experiences had by a borax miner. As we have mentioned in other reviews, we have plans to renovate these historic units, but it is a slow-moving process, as our rooms are typically sold out every night because we offer the lowest prices within the boundaries of the national park (even though we are privately-owned and operated and not actually affiliated with the park service). We do state on our personal website that we cannot offer hairdryers, microwaves, televisions, or other items requiring additional electricity, as we produce all of our power from a diesel generator. Also, we do not expect guests to add tips for our breakfast attendants, as they are not actually "servers," just to clear up any additional expectations you might have had there. We appreciate what you have shared here, as your statements are very helpful for our future development projects.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2018

We stayed in the motel, room #1 last fall. There were 2 old beds and a dresser in the room. The blinds had been pulled up and I had to fix them in order for them to close. The bathroom was in dire need of remodeling. The molded shower had holes in the wall. The vanity was peeling. There was no outlet for a shaver or hair dryer. I cannot recommend this motel. However, my daughter stayed in one of the newer one bed cabins and she thought that was fine. It's located on the outskirts of the park and I would want to stay closer in next time so there wasn't so much driving into the park. Beautiful park!!

Room Tip: Try a different venue like Stovepipe Wells.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FootlooseJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thank you for sharing your review of Panamint Springs Resort. We do have plans to renovate our historic rooms, of which has been a slow process for us as our rooms have been fully booked nearly every night. We hope to offer more of our cabin-style rooms in the future, as they are cozy little rooms that stay very warm in the winter and very cool during the summer. Death Valley National Park is a truly beautiful national park, and our area, located within Panamint Valley, has only been part of the national park since 1994, which is partly why we are located so far away from the main attractions. However, we hope you will visit again and perhaps stay in one of our new units and have the opportunity to explore more of Panamint Valley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2018

Stayed in the "resort" after a wonderful day touring Death Valley. Expected a basic, low frills room and wasn't disappointed. Room was clean and comfortable and shower worked ok. No tv or fridge and wifi only worked in early hours of the morning.
Check in was ridiculous. Wouldn't allow wife to check in even though she had the same surname.
Bar/restaurant was ok but service was erratic. Petrol was $5 a gallon.
Plenty of interesting types around the area.
An interesting stay but overall enjoyable.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
panamint_springs, Manager at Panamint Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thank you for sharing, Gary! We are sorry to hear that your check-in experience was unsatisfactory, so we will certainly address the issues you have shared with our staff. As for the price of fuel, we have gas as a public service because there are no other gas stations in this valley. We regret the high cost, but would not be able to operate otherwise. Again, thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews