We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time at the Ranch, but bring your wallet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
PA
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good time at the Ranch, but bring your wallet”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed at the Furnace Creek Ranch, which should not be confused with the Furnace Creek Inn which is about a mile away and considerably more upscale (we pulled into the Inn by mistake on our way into town and became very jealous).

The Ranch is a quaint motor lodge type of resort with the schtick of a western town. There is a museum with an old steam locomotive and 20 mule team wagon. We paid ~$225/night for a ground floor room with two queen size beds. The room was clean and had a small fridge. Our room had a small patio with stunning views of the mountains and magnificent trees. There are gas-fired fire pits where people gather at night to chat and drink.

The pool is very nice and fed by a hot spring, but it is unattended and you must bring your own towels.

There is a gift shop / general store on the property and is well stocked with items that you might want to cook if you have such accommodations. The beer in the general store was the only thing that was reasonably priced. The town is pretty far from everything. There is only one gas station and they know it... gas was over $2/gal more than what it should have been!!! Make sure that you get a full tank in Nevada if you are coming from there.

There are some restaurants and a bar on the premises. We ate at the 49'er; I had the fried chicken and was unimpressed; it lacked flavor and was overpriced. Service was adequate.

The property is reasonably located in the heart of Death Valley. Badwater and Zabriskie Point are a short drive, but Scottie's Castle is much farther.

All in all, a good time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pilot_Sluggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    2,451
    1,231
    397
    204
See reviews for
1,445
2,898
120
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This was my first visit to Death Valley in 24 years. We used to camp in the Sunset campground in my family's trailer, so this was the first time that I actually stayed at the Furnace Creek Ranch. We stayed for one week.

They have a nice swimming pool fed by spring water, which is very nice on a hot day. They did make a bunch of improvements around the pool area, with the seating areas and updated bocce and tennis courts.

The room itself was, okay. The rooms are nothing special to write home about, especially when spending almost $200 per night, and the buildings are definitely dated. The bathroom was noticeably updated in recent years, which was the best part of the room - go figure. We noticed the outside paneling showed a lot of wear and was at the point of needing to be replaced. Although you had a small refrigerator, there was no microwave, so you couldn't cook leftovers or other food unless you used a camping stove on the deck. Thankfully I brought one on the trip, and that's just what I did. We were on the north end of our building (700 numbered) towards the back near the 16th hole of the golf course, which was a bit quieter as there was less people coming in that way.

The general store used to have more food selections, but it's more about the usual gifts and other touristy stuff. I remember being able to buy chicken years ago.

The food selections at the restaurants are excellent. My wife is a vegetarian, and I was very worried about having items for her. Thankfully there were plenty of choices. They had an excellent black bean burger (which had some spicy zing to it!), along with salmon and buffalo entrees. The prices were pretty good, considering that you got very large portions. No one left hungry.

The service in particular was excellent. We had Livia from Romania serve us a couple of times, and she was wonderful. She remembered our preferences and was very attentive. All of the servers were pretty good and very helpful. I'll give them credit for having excellent wait staff, which makes a huge difference.

Would I return? Sure, but I would like to see some of the rooms updated. Also, could you please include a microwave?

Room Tip: Book early, try to get a room that's away from the parking lots so it's less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QADude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We were very happy with the room. We were in the 900's building in the back of the little village complex which houses cabins, some restaurants, a saloon, store and museum, plus golf and swimming pool. The room was spacious, and had a balcony, as well it might, as it was a bit over $200. We had a really great dinner over at the Furnace Creek Inn where I looked at one of their pricey, almost twice as expensive and much smaller rooms and was very happy we chose the Ranch instead.

There were two queen beds, a flat screen TV, fridg, and microwave, hair dryer, ironing board, etc and even a nice view of the roadrunner birds cavorting on the lawn in between the buildings. A great respite among the dust and sand!

Room Tip: The buildings in the back, (motel type not cabin) have either patios or balconies and are probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosabluecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed here in March 2012 for my photography retreat. It's quite expensive (check their Ranch for cheaper accommodation), but offers comfy rooms, a nice pool and a very good restaurant - beware, there's a dress code for dinner.
Lovely views of the park from the terrace bar and easy access to all the major park attractions.
For some reason, however, there weren't enough electrical wall sockets so I had to unplug a light if I wanted to recharge more than 1 piece of equipment at the time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

This was our third stay at Furnace Creek Ranch. There have been some improvements which have made since our last stay here a year ago. There is now free wi-fi in the hotel rooms which worked very well. They have also increased the area for sitting around by the pool. In addition to the plastic sun loungers that were round the side of the pool, there is now a pleasant seating area with comfortable seats and some shade adjacent to the pool. They have also put a second gate in, so that you don't have to walk all the way round to enter the pool area.

We ate in the 49er Cafe for two evening meals. The first night one of us had a steak and that was nice, whilst the other one chose an omelet. The omelet was disgusting! The second night we both had burgers. The buffalo burger was better than the 'Old Timer' burger. Service was very good and friendly. We were told on the Saturday night that there would be a 40 minute wait, but it was only about 20 minutes.

Rooms were very nice and housekeeping was good.

Room Tip: I preferred the rooms which faced west so that the sun was on the balcony at the end of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gelandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I have stayed here twice - once in July when the temperature reached 118F and in March when I came to participate in a 100 mile Death Valley bike ride, which was blessed with perfect weather - cold morning, warm afternoon, low winds. The Ranch is the less expensive, less fancy hotel and it was fine for my purposes. The rooms are fairly large, almost all come with two queen beds, and a balcony or porch. All staff were very nice, helpful, polite and friendly. I love the pool - it's enormous and fed from an underground spring which keeps it at a constant 82F. The restaurants are surprisingly good - i say surprising because usually when there are few options in remote places, they don't bother to go out of their way to present good food. Some tasty vegetarian options and an expansive steak repertoire.There is also a store on the premises which not only sells trinkets, necessaries, etc., but also food, fresh fruit, etc. This property is a sprawling complex, so it doesn't feel cramped. One of these trips to Death Valley i will try the more expensive property, but i would be happy to return to the Ranch.

Room Tip: i liked the one story buildings closer to reception more than the two story buildings in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank califbikegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I am rating this a 5 comparing it to other National Park accomodations. This is among the best that we have experienced. We stayed at the ranch for two nights in early March and were extremely happy with our experience. We stayed in one of the ranch's cabins and were pleased with how the cabin has been kept up. We have stayed in other "renovated" rooms in National parks that were just re-painted and the upgrades were done poorly. The updates to this cabin were done right. Things that needed to be replaced at the Furnance Creek ranch have been. The cabin had a nice flat screen tv, clean comfortable beds and bed linens, a wall air conditioner and an electric baseboard heater. It was also steps away from the lodges dining establishments and a short walk to the pool (which is hot spring fed and a constant 85 degrees). The lodge also had a nice-looking golf course (we don't play, so we can't vouch for it's quality) that the people we talked to said was nice. We would definately stay here again if we come back to Death Valley.

The room was very clean as well, so a shout out to the housekeeping staff!

Room Tip: The cabins are along the road part of the ranch and the deluxe rooms surround a lawn adjacent to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelingas_sis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
14 reviews
15.0 km away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,713 reviews
0.0 km away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing