We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice National Park Rooms at the Ranch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice National Park Rooms at the Ranch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The reason my review title states "rooms" is due to a fiasco with our electronic key card. We were in 628 at the Ranch, a nicely updated room on the 2nd floor with a balcony that had 2 rockers. It was across the hall from our friends. When we returned after breakfast the 1st morning, our key card didn't work and we were locked out of our room. Neither did the cleaning staff's general card, nor the card of the security officer. The officer had a gizmo designed to reach under the door, snag the handle from the inside and open it. She and my husband worked for 30 minutes to no avail. So a maintenance man was called and with all three involved were able to open the door and get us into our room after 90 minutes. It was decided that the battery needed to be replaced and we were told to procure new key cards when we returned from our delayed morning activities.

Guess what? The new key cards didn't work either. So again the security officer is called and at least this time her key card got us into our room, but only hers. We waited another hour to see if the problem could be fixed and I then asked that we be assigned another room. The answer was that only one room was available- in the building furthest from where we and our friends were. I knew that the room next to our friends across the hall had been vacated that morning and told the security gal that we would want our room comped for the night unless we could be placed there. Within a short time the head of housekeeping arrived, got her staff cleaning the vacated room and so we moved without any compensation for our troubles. (A bottle of wine, or a meal voucher would have been a very nice gesture.)

Aside from the problem described above, we enjoyed our lodging and visit to Death Valley even though it rained in a place that received less than 2 inches of rain yearly!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMLAalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    2,385
    1,177
    381
    194
See reviews for
1,394
2,809
117
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Wow, what a brilliant place! Amazing location, room spot on - clean, all the facilities needed (bath, shower, coffee maker, wifi) rocking chairs great! Food at the bar good, big portions and friendly staff. Stopped here for 1 night only on a road trip but will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clembo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the Inn. It was lovely. Everyone from the bellman to the waitstaff were wonderful.

And dinner in the dining room was delicious...expensive but worth it.

One funny thing: We were chatting with an employee at the Golf Course and was told that the Inn catered to: "the newlywed, the overfed and the almost dead"... and we could not disagree. haha.

Room Tip: We had a room that looked out on the "oasis"! It was quiet and comfortable. Also...make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lookieloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We booked the cabin accomodation for our one night stay. On arrival, we were pleasantly surprise by the level of accomodation in the cabin. It was the best nights sleep in our 24 nights in the US (must be the serenity of the desert). Loved the rocking chairs on the porch. Awesome facilities and the pool is great. The choice of cafes and restaurants was good, and the food was well priced and tasty. The ranch coupled with the scenery and beauty of Death Valley left us wishing we had stayed longer. Definitely going back to the ranch.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed two nights at Furnace Creek Inn over New Year's. The service was generally excellent, although the staff was a bit confused about logistics and meal availability on New Year's Eve. Death Valley is stunning. Our room was generally comfortable and large. We hope to return in the future, although we would not come again during around New Year's. We found the hotel to be on the expensive side given the room quality, although this reflects the limited lodging choices available in Death Valley.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsogl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaliforniaGingerale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed four nights in the 900 building looking west on the golf course. The room was fantastic, clean and the friendly maids always checked to see if we needed anything. We really enjoyed our stay there. The pool is a must after being out during the day seeing all of the beauty in Death Valley. The food was fantastic at the cafe and we all loved how they prepared the food. Overall our stay there was just awesome!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGingerale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed two nights in a cabin at Furnace Creek Ranch. We just wanted to get away and it was perfect. No frills, just wonderful dark skies at night and very quiet. I slept wonderfully. I took a couple of swims in their warm-spring filled swimming pool. We played a couple of games of tennis on the courts. Check-in and out was fast and easy. Friendly staff at the front desk and in the restaurants and bar. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
39.9 km away
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.0 km away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing