We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
EASY TO REACH GHOST TOWN

The ghost town of Ballarat (named after a famous Australian mining district) lies just off the... read more

Reviewed October 15, 2018
Cary L
,
San Diego, California
The town caretaker makes this side trip worthwhile

There really isn't that much to see here any more apart from a handful of dilapidated buildings... read more

Reviewed October 9, 2018
binthere-dunit
,
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Read all 58 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Death Valley National Park
from US$80.00
More Info
from US$214.99
More Info
from US$218.99
More Info
from US$275.00
More Info
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveller rating
10
17
18
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
17
18
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews general store barker ranch death valley the main road worth a stop caretaker jail cemetery mining tex stories desert tourists rock restrooms degrees
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 58 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2016

What a great little stop. We were a bit confused by a bit Open sign to the ghost town, but apart from a road runner we didn't see anyone, but a charming little stop to see the flavour of the area

Date of experience: December 2016
3  Thank Rufmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2016

Stayed the previous night camping beside the trona Tufas and decided to explore the area. Ballarat is definitely a ghost town, few building scatter the site, the jailhouse is standing and a few others. There is a home that is occupied, didn't see the human but there is a rather unfriendly dog to "welcome" any visitors.

It's worth the stop, in the surrounding mountains there are quite a few relics of mining history. Be prepared, carry water, food and supplies, it is after all the desert.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank FraserS106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2016

We love checking out ghost towns. Some old buildings and mining equipment. Worth a stop to check it out.

Date of experience: September 2016
1  Thank DaBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2016

We love Death Valley and when we are there we concentrate on it. Ballarat was a great side trip though and a fascinating example of a town built during boon times and then abandoned when the boom went bust. I'd say DON'T MISS IT!

Date of experience: December 2015
2  Thank cgtravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2016

It really was a ghost town and not well kept or marked - didn't want to even get out of the car and view anything except perhaps a Santa Fe railroad car.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank NJCricketer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews