We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jenmattevans
Flagstaff, Arizona

Wildlife galore - beautiful views - pristine location!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 25, 2012
Loved this campground! They strictly enforce the rules here so it is a pleasure to stay there. Felt very safe in spite of all the bear warnings because of that. We literally walked from our campsite to the trailheads. Saw deer, mama moose and baby, bighorn sheep from the comfort of our camp chairs. Really! It was magical. Can't wait to return!
Date of stay: June 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$1,101
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
    C$1,101
  • Vio.com
41.3 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$339
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
47.6 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$394
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$394
  • Vio.com
48.6 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$314
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$314
  • Priceline
49.1 km from Many Glacier Campground
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Hotels.com
    C$301
  • Skyscanner.com
49.9 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$395
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$395
  • Vio.com
53.7 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free parking
C$616
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$614
54.1 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mule Deer Room
C$271
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
48.3 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free parking
Restaurant
C$174
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$174
19.0 km from Many Glacier Campground
C$355
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$347
  • Priceline
59.1 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Glacier National Park
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
56
25
6
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
56
25
6
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 94 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Many Glacier Campground is a great base camp for a lot of great day hikes. However, it is extremely crowded and, when my husband and I went (Labor Day weekend), getting a site was stressful and we almost walked away empty handed (and that was at 10:00 a.m.). We prefer smaller more intimate campgrounds like Kintla Creek campground but you really can't beat the location of Many Glacier campground and the flush toilets are nice.

Room tip: Only the lucky few get a creek site and, other than that, all the sites are pretty generic.
Date of stay: September 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
13  Thank megank423
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This is a great campground. Rangers set up telescopes in the parking lot of the camp store to let people watch for wildlife on the hill behind it. The camp store carries huckleberry soda and frozen yogurt (as well as your usual camp store things). There's a restaurant that has take out pizza for campers as well. But the best part of all of this is that the campground is so close to what I consider to be some of the best hiking in the park.

The only drawback is that this area of the park does have a LOT of bears (great if you're hoping to get a picture) and because of that they are REALLY strict about food prep and storage. This includes having to take your dirty dishwater to the bathroom and throw it down a specified sink. We ended up taking the last spot one day by the bathroom but found it so easy for food prep that we stayed in the spot for 3 more days and would actually recommend that. Otherwise, be sure and pack a bucket with a handle for dishwater because it can be a pain to haul back and forth.

Date of stay: July 2010
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
16  Thank CarCampChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

While I am often skeptical of the "most popular" locations with tourists or in tour guides, fearing an over-touristed locale, I can understand why folks put Many Glacier Campground at the top of their list. It was my family's first trip to Glacier National Park and we went at the end of June. We arrived on a Monday around noon, and there were only a handful of open campsites even then. We grabbed the best of the open lots, and set up camp (tent camping) for 4 nights. A little over 100 campsites, limited hours for generator use, not a lot of sites to accommodate very large R.V.'s although you saw quite a few pop-up or trailer R.V.s in the park, but many tents. Most of the camp sites had pretty good privacy, some of the tent pad areas a little limited or small in scope. Some great spots along Swiftcurrent Creek (all taken when we arrived), and the campground itself is tucked in Many Glacier valley with mountains rising above the trees -- could just get lost in thought gazing at them in the evenings. The Swiftcurrent cafe, store, motor inn and car cabins, along with showers (paid by tokens -- $2.50 for 8 minutes -- purchased at the store), just a short walk from the campground. The campground itself has flush toilets and running water at the bathroom sinks, with pumps throughout the campground providing clean water for camp use. One loop or rung of the campsites bordered the parking lot of the Swiftcurrent, but otherwise you didn't even know it was there from the rest of the sites, and it was not a noisy distraction at all. The campground amphitheater hosted nightly ranger talks, including the "Native America Speaks" program once a night which I highly recommend. Best of all, since Glacier truly is a hiking park in order to appreciate what it has to offer, you have a multitude of trailheads within walking distance from the campground, including the Iceberg Lake trail (our favorite from our stay). Fishercap Lake, a great moose-spotting location, is also a short hike from the campground. I believe it took about 20 minutes to get to St. Mary and the start of the Going-to-the-Sun Road from the campground -- a scenic drive in and out of the Many Glacier section of the Park. The campground also is close to Many Glacier Lodge, where you can take a boat ride across Swiftcurrent and Josephine Lakes to hike the Grinnel Lake trail or cut some mileage off the Grinnell Glacier trail, once it is fully open for the season. Highly recommend this location for camping.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank MNnortherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Many Glacier Campground. We were there in early June when things were just starting to open in the area and it wasn't busy. The campground has lots of trees, there are flush toilets, access to hiking nearby, and a camp store nearby where you can buy firewood, basic supplies and food, and souvenirs. They say there are showers available at the Swiftcurrent Motor Inn, but it wasn't open yet when we were there. The ranger station is nearby and we got lots of great information from them about the different hikes and what was closed due to bear activity. There are some amazing hikes and great views in the Many Glacier area! It was also fun to visit the Many Glacier Hotel and look at all the historical photos in the hallways. There are two options for restaurants at the Many Glacier Hotel too, if you don't feel like using your camp stove for every meal - we enjoyed the bison burgers and huckleberry ice cream at the Swiss Lounge after a long day of hiking around the lakes.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank MinnesotaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Many Glacier Campground is the best there is in GNP. I scoped out other campground in GNP during our trip, and nothing compared. A little over-priced at $20/night, but that was on par with most other campgrounds in GNP. The views from our campsite (lucked out with a site along the creek/river) were beautiful, overlooking Grinell Point. Also nice having access to showers and laundry facilities. Swiftcurrent lodge provided the bare essentials as well as a restaurant. Best part of this camprground was the access to all the trails in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed this area of the park. Only main reason for not receiving of 5-star was that it's proximity was a little far from any small town or the GTTS road. But well worth that drive.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews