We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome campsite, location, and view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glacier National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Many Glacier Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Many Glacier Campground is the best there is in GNP. I scoped out other campground in GNP during our trip, and nothing compared. A little over-priced at $20/night, but that was on par with most other campgrounds in GNP. The views from our campsite (lucked out with a site along the creek/river) were beautiful, overlooking Grinell Point. Also nice having access to showers and laundry facilities. Swiftcurrent lodge provided the bare essentials as well as a restaurant. Best part of this camprground was the access to all the trails in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed this area of the park. Only main reason for not receiving of 5-star was that it's proximity was a little far from any small town or the GTTS road. But well worth that drive.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank stl_cardinals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2007

I have camped in Glacier National Park and stayed in some of its historic lodges and in my opinion the campgrounds are the best place to stay in the park. They are primitive but have the best locations without spending a fortune. Many Glacier Campground is nice because it is located near some of the best day hikes in the park (Grinnell Glacier, Iceberg Lake). The campground is also located near the Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Camp store where there are coin operated showers if you want a shower. The bathrooms in the campground (and all the camp grounds in Glacier) have only cold water. A nice feature of staying in the campgrounds in Glacier is the campfire program. The National Park Service usually puts on a program a few nights a week. The Native American Speaks programs I have been to have been very good. Many Glacier does not take reservations so you may have to get there early to get a spot. [--] has a list of historical fill times for the campgrounds so you can look and see at what time the campgrounds have filled in the past to get an idea of what time you may need to get there to find a spot.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
19  Thank avelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Minnesota
130
Reviewed 13 August 2005

After a beautiful hike up the Swift Current Pass Trail to Bullhead lake we were relaxing at our campsight which was right on the creek in the Many Glacier Campground on August 4th 2005. A mother moose and her calf gave the six of us quite a show,eating and drinking in the creek. We whispered, took our fill of photos and showed her our respect by not making sudden movements or speaking loudly. Pretty soon we had quite a crowd of campers who were enjoying the same thing. It seems we were all observing this wonderful moment in nature without frightening the pair or even making them nervous. Then the park rangers showed up. Two younger males (we're guessing summer employees) and one middle aged female wearing a vest saying "Wild life resource Management" or some such thing. I wish I had taken better notice. By this time the mooses had wandered back into the brush across the creek and you couldn't see much of them. THe woman proceeded to take over the situation by telling us we were all too close and we needed to move back to a safer spot. She reminded us who she was and that this is what she did with her summers. Boy, what an insult tor intelligence. We observed the pair for 20 minutes before she even showed up. And since when did campers need to share every wild life encounter with the park service? I know there are some idiots who would have tried to approach the animals and maybe even tried to pet or feed them. Does this mean the park service needs to react like we are all idiots? After all, stupidity has it's just rewards and if you are going to do something stupid, you deserve what you get. That doesn't mean the rest of us should be subjected to intimidating park service employees. THe whole moment was ruined for us and as we look back on our adventure, we'll always remember the so called expert who felt she needed to take control of the non situation.

30  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank yutariko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glacier National Park
5.7 km away
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabins
Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Cabin...
#2 of 6 in Glacier National Park
414 reviews
18.8 km away
St Mary Lodge & Resort
St Mary Lodge & Resort
#1 of 3 in Saint Mary
954 reviews
16.2 km away
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
Rising Sun Motor Inn and Cabins
#4 of 10 in East Glacier Park
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25 km away
Lake McDonald Lodge
Lake McDonald Lodge
#1 of 6 in Glacier National Park
609 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Many Glacier Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Many Glacier Campground

Address: Many Glacier Valley, Glacier National Park, MT
Region: United States > Montana > Glacier National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Glacier National Park
Hotel Class:3 star — Many Glacier Campground 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Also Known As:
Many Glacier Campground Hotel Glacier National Park
Many Glacier Campground Glacier National Park, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing