We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Eric T
Saint Louis, Missouri

Awesome campsite, location, and view

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 11, 2009
Many Glacier Campground is the best there is in GNP. I scoped out other campground in GNP during our trip, and nothing compared. A little over-priced at $20/night, but that was on par with most other campgrounds in GNP. The views from our campsite (lucked out with a site along the creek/river) were beautiful, overlooking Grinell Point. Also nice having access to showers and laundry facilities. Swiftcurrent lodge provided the bare essentials as well as a restaurant. Best part of this camprground was the access to all the trails in the area. We thoroughly enjoyed this area of the park. Only main reason for not receiving of 5-star was that it's proximity was a little far from any small town or the GTTS road. But well worth that drive.
Date of stay: July 2009
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$437
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$437
  • Priceline
    C$437
  • Hotels.com
    C$437
47.6 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free parking
C$678
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$678
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$680
  • Vio.com
    C$679
48.6 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom
C$302
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$302
  • Vio.com
    C$303
  • Tripadvisor
    C$302
49.9 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$398
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$398
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
53.7 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free parking
C$462
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    C$463
  • Priceline
    C$462
54.1 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mule Deer Room
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    C$233
  • Vio.com
    C$233
48.3 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free parking
Restaurant
C$175
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
19.0 km from Many Glacier Campground
C$391
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$378
  • Priceline
    C$391
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$379
59.1 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$326
  • Priceline
60.1 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Glacier National Park
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
56
25
6
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
56
25
6
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 94 of 94 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2007

I have camped in Glacier National Park and stayed in some of its historic lodges and in my opinion the campgrounds are the best place to stay in the park. They are primitive but have the best locations without spending a fortune. Many Glacier Campground is nice because it is located near some of the best day hikes in the park (Grinnell Glacier, Iceberg Lake). The campground is also located near the Swiftcurrent Motor Inn and Camp store where there are coin operated showers if you want a shower. The bathrooms in the campground (and all the camp grounds in Glacier) have only cold water. A nice feature of staying in the campgrounds in Glacier is the campfire program. The National Park Service usually puts on a program a few nights a week. The Native American Speaks programs I have been to have been very good. Many Glacier does not take reservations so you may have to get there early to get a spot. [--] has a list of historical fill times for the campgrounds so you can look and see at what time the campgrounds have filled in the past to get an idea of what time you may need to get there to find a spot.

Date of stay: August 2006
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
19  Thank avelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 14, 2005

After a beautiful hike up the Swift Current Pass Trail to Bullhead lake we were relaxing at our campsight which was right on the creek in the Many Glacier Campground on August 4th 2005. A mother moose and her calf gave the six of us quite a show,eating and drinking in the creek. We whispered, took our fill of photos and showed her our respect by not making sudden movements or speaking loudly. Pretty soon we had quite a crowd of campers who were enjoying the same thing. It seems we were all observing this wonderful moment in nature without frightening the pair or even making them nervous. Then the park rangers showed up. Two younger males (we're guessing summer employees) and one middle aged female wearing a vest saying "Wild life resource Management" or some such thing. I wish I had taken better notice. By this time the mooses had wandered back into the brush across the creek and you couldn't see much of them. THe woman proceeded to take over the situation by telling us we were all too close and we needed to move back to a safer spot. She reminded us who she was and that this is what she did with her summers. Boy, what an insult tor intelligence. We observed the pair for 20 minutes before she even showed up. And since when did campers need to share every wild life encounter with the park service? I know there are some idiots who would have tried to approach the animals and maybe even tried to pet or feed them. Does this mean the park service needs to react like we are all idiots? After all, stupidity has it's just rewards and if you are going to do something stupid, you deserve what you get. That doesn't mean the rest of us should be subjected to intimidating park service employees. THe whole moment was ruined for us and as we look back on our adventure, we'll always remember the so called expert who felt she needed to take control of the non situation.

32  Thank Global10250
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 25, 2016
Google Translation

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 22, 2012
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews