We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
USAExplorer_2010
Chicago, Illinois

We had a good stay in late July.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 28, 2016
We camped here as a family for our first true camping experience. I recommend staying some on the east side of the park and some on the west side. We spent 2 nights at this campground. There are flush toilets within walking distance of each campsite as well as potable water. I thought the water tasted great! Each site has a small fire pit and a picnic table. There is a creek very close by to some of the sites as well as good day hikes. We hiked Iceberg Lake Trail, Swift Current Nature Trail, Red Rock Falls Trail, Fishercap Lake, Bullhead Lake, etc. without ever having to get in the car. Also a store and showers are in walking distance. The showers require you to purchase a token. I did not have a great experience with the showers though. I found them to be cold. One guy in there kept putting in his token and the thing would not work. We took a short drive over to Many Glacier Hotel and were able to take a boat tour from there. The weather on this side of the park was dreary (a bit rainy and cold). The winds howled and whipped through the campsite making it unpleasant (even though we were surrounded by trees). Saw a deer in the campsite once. Saw moose on our walk to Fishercap Lake. Very busy campground. Did not care for the cars trolling around looking for openings. Other campers were respectful and friendly. You can park right at your site. The campground host was nice and stayed out of our business. Buy firewood there. It is unlawful to bring it to the site and it is also unlawful to gather firewood at your site even though there's plenty around. We were able to buy ice (walking distance). No radio signal or cell phone signal.
Date of stay: July 2015
Room Tip: Get there early to ensure you find a spot.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Lake McDonald Lodge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
24.8 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free parking
Restaurant
C$435
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
47.6 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free parking
C$675
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    C$675
48.6 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$301
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • Skyscanner.com
49.9 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$396
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$396
53.7 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$459
  • Vio.com
54.1 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mule Deer Room
C$271
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
48.3 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free parking
Restaurant
C$174
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$174
19.0 km from Many Glacier Campground
C$377
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Skyscanner.com
59.1 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$345
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Skyscanner.com
60.1 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Glacier National Park
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
56
25
6
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
56
25
6
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 94 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2016 via mobile

The first thing we saw when coming to the campground were the volunteer animal spotters with their high powered scopes for spotting wildlife in the parking lot for the information center. We saw mountain goats, grizzlies and bighorn sheep from very far away on the mountains that surround the area. The camping here is great, although there's a lot of people. One thing that caught my attention here is an account I'll relate. Shortly after setting up my tent, I noticed a ranger walking through sites with lots of things in her hands. As she passed our site, she said "You guys have nothing out, which is great!" I explained to her how serious we take grizzly bear warnings in regard to food and toiletries. When I asked her why she had so many water bottles from different sites in her hand, she replied "It's the smell and taste of the food that is transmitted to the bottles from hands that draw animals". I never thought of that! It's important to be diligent with EVERYTHING related to food to prevent unwanted animal encounters. There is a very nice river at the back of the campground that is very peaceful. The campsites have a gravel base, which means you'll need a hammer to pound in your tent stakes. The trails from the visitor center are fantastic! You can go on a ranger led hike to a very nice waterfall. You also can get to iceberg lake and the ptarmigan tunnel. It was pretty neat to see some snowboarders having fun in early July going down the mountains. This area is FANTASTIC!

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
6  Thank Tigerman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 4, 2015

There were a lot of students there even up to the last couple of days before they close for the season. You can buy shower tokens at the Swiftcurrent Inn good for 8 mins each. The water really shuts off around 8 mins. The fire pit at our campsite was very close to the trees and underbrush. It was very windy. People had fires going but nobody warned against fire hazards. The sparks were flying far. The lakes were pretty dry when we were there.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 3, 2015

A very nice quiet campground if you go after Labor day weekend. But we aware that most of the time the host is gone and the NPS personnel are hard to find. . hey but no matter just go. . great scenery this time of year too!

Room tip: This is a campground not a hotel. .
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 30, 2015

The sites were clean and surrounded by trees which offered privacy between camping sites. The rangers were very helpful. Showers were not available at the campground but were easily available at the nearby Swift Current facilities.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
2  Thank 450denisec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 28, 2015 via mobile

We went up to Many Glacier and saw this campground it was beautiful. We hiked up to Fishcap Lake on an easy trail. In the area we saw mountain goat, black bears, and moose. We also saw many glaciers. Hence the name.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank montcowgirlup
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews