We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
carolineceaton
Kansas City, Missouri

STAY HERE!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 11, 2017
It's by far the best location in the park. Our site was within walking distance of the Swiftcurrent Inn restaurant, showers, and camp store. It's also steps from the trailheads for Swiftcurrent Pass, Iceberg Lake, and other great trails. It's a mile from Many Glacier Hotel where you can rent canoes/kayaks or watch an incredible sunrise on the lake.

We booked reservations in advance as soon as they opened. Reservations go within minutes, so get your pointer finger ready to click. If you don't have reservation, there are quite a few FCFS sites, but you will need to get in line by 5AM now. Actually, when we left our last morning at 4:30AM, there were already two people in line. We were also told that during the week we were there (first week in July), 1600 cars came through Many Glacier in one day. The word is out!
Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
0.1 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free parking
Restaurant
C$435
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$435
  • Hotels.com
    C$435
  • Trip.com
    C$435
47.6 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free parking
C$675
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$675
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$673
  • Vio.com
    C$675
48.6 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$301
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$301
  • Vio.com
    C$301
  • Hotels.com
    C$301
49.9 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$395
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$395
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$395
  • Vio.com
    C$395
53.7 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free parking
C$460
  • Vio.com
    C$460
  • Priceline
    C$460
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$459
54.1 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$385
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$377
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$377
  • StayForLong
59.1 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$329
Fully refundable
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$271
  • Expedia.com
    C$345
  • Priceline
    C$361
60.1 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
63.7 km from Many Glacier Campground
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Glacier National Park
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveller rating
56
25
6
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
56
25
6
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 94 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2017

Such a cool place to stay! There were all types of campers here. Simple tents, large tents, car & vehicle campers, trucks with campers, Small RV trailers & large RV set-ups. I loved the arrival procedure! The rangers would come out at 7:00 a.m. and the first in line was the first helped. We scouted the campground the day before. It was a little drive, but worth the trouble. Each site has a tag on it with the occupants departure date, so we knew what was to be available the next morning. We have a 22 foot tow behind, so we wanted a pull through larger site. I showed up at 5:00 a.m. and was first in line, but only by 5 minutes. BY the time 7:00 rolled around, the line was out to the street (20 or so). It is worth the trouble! The sites are too cool. Absolutely no hook-ups, but there is a picnic table and a cooking area with a grill (bring your own firewood). The campground does have 3 2-hour blocks when generators can be run to re-charge things. The restrooms are nice and have a plug-in where many charged their phones, though we got no reception with Sprint so I'm nit sure why! It's only a 2-3 minute walk to the Swiftcurrent Lodge (Closes around Labor Day) where they have a general store and they will even sell you a shower token if you like! Several deer alked through camp while we sat at our picnic table. A short drive to the Many Glacier Lodge and the Swiftcurrent lake area. I highly recommend spending a few days in this beautiful area.

Room tip: I suggest scouting a day before, picking a spot as far from the entrance as possible. There can be a lot of motor vehicle traffic.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mlbpafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 25, 2016

I was there a few years ago, going back this nexr year, from there Alaska...
But it's a great place to visit, and wonderful things to see,.
Will let all know about the trip to Alaska when we get back, will be going in June of 2017

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tonig55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 22, 2016

We got there at 5:30AM and were second in line for the day. By the time we woke up from our nap at 7AM when the rangers start coming car-to-car the line was probably 20+ cars deep. Many didn't get in but unsure of exact amount. This was a Tuesday. I would say it's definetely worth it though due to it's proximity to a lot of trails (Swiftcurrent, Grinnel, Ptarmigan, etc). In addition, being first time campers we were grateful for the walkable distance to Swiftcurrent Motor Inn with Nell's to eat when we were too tired after hikes to cook, and the luxuries of the gift shop (ice, snacks, beer, wine, coffee). For first timers, I think it's definetely worth the aggressive competitiveness to get a spot.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank burgerbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 19, 2016

We loved Many Glacier Campground. My family of 4 camped there for 6 nights in early August 2016.

Getting a Site
First thing you should know is that half of the ~100 sites are first-come-first-serve. We don't generally plan our vacations months in advance, so using the reservation system really wasn't an option. I couldn't find much help online to explain the system for the unreservable sites, so I'll explain.
Each morning, a line forms outside the campground. Around 7:30 or so, a ranger will go down the line assigning a number for which place you were in line. As the rangers confirm that sites will be vacated that day, they will offer the site(s) to the first people in line, and then keep going down the line. There is a website that the park maintains that tells when each Glacier campground fills up each day.
We showed up at 6:30 AM on a Sunday morning, and were the 12th car in line. Fortunately, 20 or 30 sites were becoming available that day, so when our turn came, the ranger offered a pick between two sites. We picked #4, which was pretty great. There were many trees on both sides, so we didn't feel like we were crammed in with others.

Location
This is one of the best parts of the campground. If you're a hiker, you don't even need to get into your car to do a couple of the best hikes in the park - Grinnell Glacier and Iceburg trail. If you want a shower, these are available a short walk away at the Swiftcurrent Inn. If you don't want to cook dinner over a fire, our family loved the restaurant at Swiftcurrent (Nell's). This is casual dining, but delicious.
The other great thing about Many Glacier is the wildlife. We saw much more in this area than any of the others (St. Mary, Logan's Pass, Bowman Lake).

So, I think this is the best campground in the park, and would highly recommend. Just get up early!

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
11  Thank joshb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 18, 2016

We tent camped here for 6 nights on the creek. We were close to the toilets and it was nice having the camp store within walking distance. We used the 1st come option as this was a last minute trip. As others have said, one must be here early for a spot! The line varies as to how early one needs to get there. This year there is a new system....more fair. You line up at the entrance (host will be there 6:45 am) and give out available sites. They do try to accommodate people needs. One RV was long and I heard the hosts discuss a good site for them. They will kick out people who try to get a site on their own without queuing up! Be fair to the ones who were in line 1st and wait your turn for a site. We were assigned a site and then waited at Many Glacier Hotel for it to become available. The previous campers took all morning to pack up. They left just before noon which was their privilege. Most seem to leave earlier. We were pretty tired this 1st day with the early drive for the 5:20am que!
The hosts were great at having the campground quiet at 10pm. The toilets were cleaned frequently. Ours had one hook, shelves above the sinks would have been nice. The toilet near the campground entrance had shelves.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank WaterviewSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews