We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
18
9
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
9
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one of a kind park maui summit snacks visitors knowledge
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 32 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Just adding another volcano to our
"Been there" list. And this is like no other. There are rim trails to go as little or long as you want . We
Chose one hour in. Little longer gettin out, all uphill on the shifting sands trail.
Colors and rock/ lava shapes that were so un usual. Plants that exist no where else on earth . Military observatory at the very top.
Wear a hat and bring water and sunscreen. NO shelter from the sun.
This elevation is 10,000 feet, keep that in mind if you are on meds for heart or bp.
A litter free experience . Very nice.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MarshallGulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2016 via mobile

Our 4 day / 3 night hike in Haleakala was the highlight of our trip to Hawaii. We spent a night in each of Kapalaoa, Paliku and Holua cabins. The cabins sleep 12, being 4 bunks of 3 beds high, and you hire the whole cabin. If you want, drag the mattresses from the top beds onto the floor, as they're rather high. All the cabins have gas cooking, and a wood burning fire (it got cold at night), with pots, plates etc supplied. Bring filters or purifying tablets for the water. Bathroom facilities are a pit toilet. The cabins were all clean and there were no flies or mosquitoes. There were resident nene geese at each cabin, which pose beautifully for photos. The days were not long walking cabin to cabin, so there was plenty of time to relax and explore. Will come back again if I can.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank BlueGeckoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2016 via mobile

The park was super crowded and we're talking May. Don't even want to think how crazy it gets in the summer.
First off DoNot take the mountain road and the south road to Hana. That my friends is a very scary ride. The road was in great disrepair. There was a "guard rail so old and rusty most of it was missing and this was on a very steep cliff.
Anyways back at the National Park. I just don't understand why they don't build a nice Trex boardwalk throughout.
It had just rained and the path was very muddy. With the prices and number of guests they see surely this little thing could be done for comfort and safety.
Go early morning if you don't like crowds and want to also visit Wai'anapanapa Black Sand beach.
This island generates millions in tax dollars it wouldn't hurt to fix it up a bit.
Maui use to be a magical place for us.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2016

Hosmer Grove Campground is located right after the entry booth, about a mile down the hill from the Visitor Center. The campground is right on the edge of the windward forest, so the camping area is sheltered from the wind but gets the rain. The Visitor Center just a mile away has entirely different weather--dry and windy. There is not much for bathrooms, just pit toilets, but there is a sink with water. The parking lot is paved and very close to the large open tent area. There is a fair amount of space, so you can probably find a site although the prime flat grassy spots will get taken first. If you arrive late on a busy day you can probably count on at least finding a poor site, maybe a rough spot or hillside. It is a long drive up to the summit from here, count on 30-45 minutes up the switchbacks. There is a pleasant hiking trail through a quiet forest here. I could not get cell signal in the campground but I did from just up the road a hundred yards or so. Overall a pleasant and peaceful campground.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank bearchri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2016

Went here with husband and our parents and we drove a rental van through the park, it did just fine, but the roads are so twisty turny that no matter what car, I would've been car sick. So just be aware of that! Besides the curvy roads though, everything was beautiful. We even got to see some Ne-ne birds up close in person by the gift shop.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank HeatherD1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews