We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
52
12
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
12
5
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub the banana bread our honeymoon yogurt beautiful rainforest garden room refrigerator was stocked the room was nice large shower volcano national park big island spent nights enjoyed our stay haiku retreat hosts eric
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 72 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

At the Crater's Edge is an interesting experience. The room is beautifully furnished although not necessarily in a practical way - i.e., not much closet space. But it does offer complete privacy in a very quiet setting quite close to Volcanoes National Park. This isn't really a B&B but does provide hot and cold cereals, fresh fruit, and a banana bread. We really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _argold1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2013

i agree with the reviews that state that this is not your mom & dad's B&B. If the term, B&B scares you and makes you want to run and hide, have no fear that Melanie has done a great job of creating a wondrful place to stay in a private retreat.
The room we stayed in was beautiful, spacious, and delightful. The grounds are well kept. The two guys Jason and Jay are great caretakes and did an amazing job making sure we were comfortable at all times.
Our room was clean and freshly stocked with most everything imaginable.
Thank you for a wonderful stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeMeSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in the Nahelani room which concerned me at first as I heard it faced the street and another person had mentioned that for privacy you had to have your curtains closed all of the time. While it's true that the room faces the driveway, and if a person was walking up the stairs to go to their room and they were staring in the glass at night, they would probably be able to see you, there are a few things you ought to know before you panic. One is that the house is in the middle of a forest and there is nothing across the street but thick trees and bushes, secondly, there are only two other rooms in the B & B, one of which is behind yours and the other which is beside it, so it isn't like there are a lot of people wandering around. Third, since it rains a lot in Volcano, most of the other people head to their room fairly quickly and you really don't see anyone around. We only saw Jay the first day when he knocked on our door to welcome us and answer any questions we might have, and we happened to see our neighbor as he came out for 2 seconds to get his newspaper before disappearing in his room again. We were there 2 nights and that was the only contact we had with the other people there. Needless to say, we left our curtains open the entire time and it was just fine. The Jacuzzi is in a beautiful setting, although the jets were not very strong (this may have been due to us not knowing how to operate it properly). There were fresh towels by the jacuzzi for our use and we also had a nice jacuzzi tub in the room which we did not use. The quality of the room and its decoration was impeccable. The first sensation you have when you enter is how clean everything is, and there are notes thoughtfully placed throughout the room to help guide you. We had two loaves of a delicious banana bread left for us, along with some chocolates and snacks near the fridge. The snacks consisted of oatmeal, snack bars, chips, a variety of juices, milk, coffee and fresh fruit. We ate all of our dinners in Volcano (great burgers at the Lava Rock Cafe), and we also found a great store next to that restaurant which made sandwiches to go. The Thai place was also good. For those of you interested in visiting Volcanoes National Park, staying in the town of Volcano is a great idea as the weather is very unpredictable at the park and when you are so close, you can plan your hikes/excursions with a bit more confidence than someone coming from Hilo, which is a lot further away. Another perk is that if you ever get tired and want a place to crash for an hour or two before your next adventure in the park, your room is only a short drive away. This really was one of the most beautiful rooms we have ever stayed in and I highly recommend this B & B to those who enjoy privacy and who won't feel bad if they don't have an opportunity to interact with the other guests.

Room Tip: The Nahelani is very nice and faces the driveway, and the Haiku faces the path to and from the jacuzzi. The other room with the kitchen is currently occupied by the caretakers Jay and Jason.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Melanie the owner and Jason/Jay the caretakers were all wonderful to work with. Melanie sends a lot of useful information with the reservation. Jason and Jay went far out of their way to make our 4 days there wonderful. They provided a blender for smoothies and on our last day, kept our luggage in the room the whole day and let us rinse off before we headed to the airport. The blueberry bread was really great each morning, but it's not what most people would think was "breakfast" The view out our wraparound windows was really nice, fiddlehead ferns everywhere.

You should understand what this place is though. It's basically a house with two studios attached. You have a microwave and a mini fridge, but you will eat your meals in Volcano which is a 5 min drive away. There's a hot tub which worked great and a sauna which I didnt use at the end of a long catwalk. The sink is interesting and somewhat impractical but it works. There are stairs. If you dont have a car, what are you doing in Volcano? It's a long drive to Kona

The biggest surprise was just how loud the rain on the roof was. You get used to it pretty quickly, but you definitely knew when it was raining.

Room Tip: there's only two
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dmadeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This abode of relaxation was perfect for the two of us for pausing between day hikes between the volcano, desert, black sand beach and green sand beach. We stayed in the Heavenly Forest room, which was excellent. Felt like home. The fireplace was a nice touch and came in handy to warm ourselves after trekking miles in the gusty volcano slopes. The caretakers were warm, friendly and helpful. Very much recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank iamjanosik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews