We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
More elk than people

I saw more elk here than other visitors. So beautiful. There were so many water falls. Hiking in... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
nadomom2
,
Coronado, California
Tranquil, Alive and Beautiful

Quinault was just about an hour and half from where we stayed when we visited Hoh, so we decided to... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Linda Z
Read all 281 reviews
  
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
195
50
15
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
50
15
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quinault lodge spruce tree ranger station the loop south road old homestead large trees some great photos salmon mousse sitka spruce several days great hiking day hike nice hike worth the trip short hike beautiful lake
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I saw more elk here than other visitors. So beautiful. There were so many water falls. Hiking in the rain was a pleasant surprise, the trees provide a nice canopy so the rain was barely noticeable.

Thank nadomom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quinault was just about an hour and half from where we stayed when we visited Hoh, so we decided to visit. We did not arrive until 4:30 PM, just before the ranger center closed. We were able to get a map, which was valuable on our journey into the forest. There are short trails that are great for kids - watch out for the slugs so you don't crush them! There is a lovely creek and beautiful moss, canopy, fungi, trees. There are so few people here that you almost have the trails all to yourself depending on when you go.

Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It is one of the rare places in the continental United States where you find rain forests. Drenched in over 12 feet of rain per year, west side valleys nurture giant western hemlock, fir, birch, cedar, and spruce trees. Moss draped big-leaf maple create a magical scene that obliterates all sense of time. Roosevelt elk may linger along river banks at dawn and dusk. The ranger station at this rain forest is not staffed but has information on self guiding trails. There are several campgrounds located near by.

1  Thank SDR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Such an incredible area, words and even photos don't do it justice. It feels like you've stepped back into a completely different time.

Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Many people do not come to the south side, but do not pass up on an opportunity to see a beautiful rain forest that is not crowded.

Thank joedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018

Hoh rainforest was closed due to road construction so we ended up here, and it was great! The area was very quiet and did not have large numbers of tourists. We stayed nearby at the Rain Forest Resort Village cabins. The south road out to the Graves Creek trailhead is REALLY rough. It's worth it though as the hike to the pony bridge is moderate and scenic. We also went to the north side of the river and hiked to Irely lake. The lake was very nice and the trail was considerably tougher and more rugged. There were even fewer hikers there. This area, at least in late September, is a great place to go hiking without large crowds of people.

Thank MattIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

We were one of two groups there. And we arrived only because Hoh was closed for a few days for road repairs. Please be sure to check NP alerts before planning your trip!

This was a beautiful place. We did the 1.3 mile loop back to the 1891 homestead. None of buildings are open because they are being fixed, but it was fun to see the homestead area.

We saw beetles and huge brown slugs that the kids thought were greatly interesting. It’s a rainforest with moss, ferns, and the fairy-like appearance I’m assuming you’d see at the other spot.

Nice and easy excursion for our 8, 6, 5, and 2 year old.

Thank SeesTheWorld5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018

The Rain Forest Resort at Lake Quinault was a very nice resort with cute little cabins and a fantastic restaurant. Close to Olympic National Park rain forest area providing lots of hiking trails & water activities. Is well equipped with little store, its own post office and laundromat. Many camping sites as well as the cabins.

Thank 889lum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2018

The Maple Glade Trail takes off of the north Quinault Lake Ranger Station parking lot. It is a short loop trail going into the rain forest. A beautiful trail. Along the way there are numbered posts. At the beginning of the trail is a box for guidebooks for the trail. Empty. Don't know if it's because of a funding shortage. Or time of the year. But a lot is lost without the guidebook. Without the book, the Trail is much like the Kestner Homestead Trail. Nice trail if you're pressed for time. If you have more time, skip it and take the Kestner Homestead Trail.

Thank MikeB1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2018

We were there in August. Before we went, we did research about how amazing the Hoh Rain Forest but the wait to get in could be long. We emailed the ONP Visitor Center before we went asking them if we went after 4pm, would we be able to avoid the wait. The reply was because of the 1-out 1-in policy in place (one car out, one car in), the best to avoid the wait was to visit other rain forests, like the Quinault. So we did and was not disappointed at all. I've been to a tropical rain forest in Nepal and that was very different from the temperate rain forests in ONP and we loved them. The mosses, the mushrooms, the spruces, it's pretty otherworldly but yet it's not uncomfortably humid. the bonus is it's quiet. we went to the Nature Trail and the world's largest spruce tree trail, both were not crowded and no wait to enter. we later did go to the Hoh (before 9am) and to us, the Quinault rain forest was the same magical as the Hoh. So if you are visiting ONP in a very busy season and are tight in time, I would recommend the Quinault instead of Hoh. NOTE: the ranger staffed information station in Lake Quinault is relatively small but staff were very helpful.

2  Thank YCONWEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews