We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little piece of paradise!”
other travellers have booked this property
fivespot cabin - an art and nature lover's retreat, just 15 minutes to Sequoia Kings Canyon NP
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
fivespot cabin - an art and nature lover's retreat, just 15 minutes to Sequoia Kings Canyon NP
casual living, kitchen, and dining in one open room thoughtfully laid out open-plan kitchen, dining, and living
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
fivespot cabin - an art and nature lover's retreat, just 15 minutes to Sequoia Kings Canyon NP
casual living, kitchen, and dining in one open room
thoughtfully laid out open-plan kitchen, dining, and living
art-filled and fresh flowers from the garden in season
a full kitchen with stove, oven, microwave, and fridge - but no dishwasher
the chalkboard wall in the kitchen
the fireplace mantle features an array of tchotchkes from Bachrun's eclectic collection
a fireplace for fun and relaxation; electric heat throughout the cabin to stay warm
fivespot has one bedroom with a queen bed, a loft bed, with another twin mattress below
queen bed in the bedroom
the loft bed is a favorite with kids
bathroom with shower, tub, 2 sinks, and partitioned toilet area
custom tiled shower
toilet area
larger sink and claw-foot tub
beautiful seasonal light effects can be seen from the front porch
the front porch in the fall (the cottonwood tree is turning color)
the front porch is another relaxing location at fivespot
covered patio in back of the cabin, with a sauna and outdoor shower
another view of the back patio (the gas grill is just out of sight on the left)
in winter, the patio is protected from rain and snow
sauna and outdoor shower
spring at fivespot
The Pinehurst Lodge - 1/10th of a mile from fivespot
the fireplace at Pinehurst Lodge
fivespot cabin in the snow
snow at fivespot - view from behind
stairs behind fivespot bring you up to a snowy meadow...
... and a view of Logger's Point
charming waterfalls and a swimming hole are found at Cedarbrook, 1 mile from fivespot
dramatic sunset effects as seen from fivespot
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Bibbykins
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise!”
Reviewed August 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Homely, quaint, quirky, peaceful, relaxing and eclectic nik-naks all make Five Spot an absolute delight. If you fancy sitting outside having breakfast while humming birds drink nectar from feeders, or if watching the Milky Way in the dark skies appeals, then book to stay here. There is everything you need for self catering, except a TV, but who needs a TV when there's so much to do outside?
The cabin is about 20 mins from Sequoia National Park, where we spent four wonderful days exploring and walking. We saw beautiful waterfalls, rivers, and meadows. The giant cedar trees were breathtaking!
If you enjoy wildlife we saw: frogs, ground squirrels, chipmunks, deer, many bird breeds, a snake, a tarantula, a skunk...oh and a bear!!
I loved Five Spot and Mahalia made sure we had settled in okay and was genuinely concerned that we had everything we needed for an unforgettable stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
blnicol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well equipped cabin, convenient to Sequoia/Kings Canyon”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Well equipped kitchen, clear directions and instructions, and fast responses from the owner for any concerns. Very pretty garden; clearly a lot of loving care has been lavished on the house. A smooth and pleasant experience!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chrism612
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely, cozy spot near the entrance of Sequoia NP”
Reviewed January 24, 2017 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We absolutely loved our stay at the cabin. The fireplace and sauna were enough to keep us cozy and warm in the winter and the lodge next door was a nice option for "getting out" at night for anyone feeling a little restless. There were plenty of games, books and other activities to keep you busy on a cold evening and the kitchen was well stocked with utensils and supplies so we enjoyed cooking and wine after snowshoeing by day. Oh, I should also mention that they had snow shoes for us to use as well. I highly recommend this charming getaway. We hope to return soon!

Date of stay: January 2016
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GoPlaces6...
1 review
“A truly wonderful spot.”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A really beautiful, quirky cabin in a gorgeous location. It has a fantastic fire and a working sauna - ideal for a winter get away.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RichardM3...
2 reviews
“Wonderful Retreat in the Sierra !”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My family of 4, two daughters 4 and 11, wished we had more time at the 5 spot ! A great launching point to explore Kings Canyon and a relaxing retreat !

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jestill1
Stanton, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“ Wonderful Outdoor Space”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Close enough to Kings Canyon and Sequoia to enjoy the parks during the day. Far enough to escape the crouds and enjoy the peace and quiet. The outdoor space was nicer then any cabin I have ever stayed at. Lots of beautiful flowers and wonderful smells. The kitchen was well stocked and the cabin had more necessities then most. There was no TV, that freaked my kids out but enhanced the family time. The bed was a very firm thin mattress with no box springs. That may suit some but led to restless nights for me.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Jun 2016
Sorry you didn't get the sleep you needed, Jason! It's a foam mattress that doesn't require a box spring. But thanks for letting us know - maybe it's time to swap it out for a new one. Thanks for coming!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan R
Walhalla, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful getaway while visiting Sequoi & Kings canyon”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

loved the cabin! Great layout, great artwork, even a sauna which felt great after a day of hiking. My favorite area was the back porch with its. view of the trees. Would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy
Liked least: Distance from the parks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.