We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiufl Setting, private campspots, but windy!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shenandoah National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loft Mountain Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The camp ground is on top of Loft Mountain. Perhaps it has that name for a reason. It seemed to be always windy. The setting is beautiful , the sites are generous in size and privacy. The views from the Amphitheater are incredible. Showers are a drive or long hike from camp, as is the well stocked camp store. The main drawback is the seeming constant strong winds which blew our awning over the first night.

Room Tip: This is a campground, not a hotel. Pick sites in the interior of the campground with a little less w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nutrinut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Overall we enjoyed our stay here. We were here Saturday - Monday. Weekend was crowded and our first night our neighbors were very loud.
We had site #27, was a little inconvenient because our car was directly by our site. Had to walk back and forth to car several times.
You're in bear country, so you CAN NOT leave any food or dishes out.
Location was also too remote, hour and half to the nearest visitor center. Showers were nice! $1.75 for 5.25 minutes. Views are amazing though!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank scrappinerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This used to be one of our favorite weekend getaways from DC to tent camp in the Summer. It was peaceful and a good place to get away, while not completely roughing it. The last several times I've gone, however, over the past two years, it's gotten very crowded and loud. There are noise ordinances, but definitely not enforced. Last time I was there a group showed up at around 1am and set up camp while chugging beer and cheering each other on. It is a great place when you have it to yourself, with excellent hiking and view opportunities.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DLM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Great privacy and plenty of breezes. Very clean and friendly, with a well stocked camp store with firewood and hot showers! Check out the sunset views on the Appalatian Trail behind campsite A-13, fantastic outcropping view point and only about 50 feet behind the campsite. You can access the trail just past the tent camping area.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Phillip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

This was my first time camping at Loft mountain for our annual family camping trip. The campground is at the southern end of the park. The sites are well spaced, with lots of grass instead of packed dirt The bathrooms have new tile, new everything! The campground store closes at 6Pm, along with the wayside store.
This will be our campground of choice for the coming years.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cleaningwhitedoghair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Great campground and campsite location! Loft Mountain is quite secluded compared to other SNP campgrounds and features heavily wooded sites, bathrooms, showers, a modern camp store, great views of the mountain valleys, and easy access to the Appalachian trail on all three sides. If you enjoy tent camping with the feeling of being deep in the woods, but still enjoy a few creature comforts of home....this is the place for you.

I needed a site that could fit two tents and four people, with close access to the bathroom and utility sink, but was still reasonably shaded and private. Site E106 was perfect for all my major requirements. The bathroom/utility sink is next door with only a short walk. The woods surrounded the site on all sides and was accessible to our parked cars via a short access trail. In fact, the woods were so thick the bathroom and other campsites were barely visible. Nice!!

On this particular trip, there was a lot of bear activity in the campground. We saw a few bears around the sites and one up in a tree. The National Park Service even closed off one site and set a bear trap. So use caution and heed the park warnings/guidance when cooking and storing food.

I will definitely go back!
Stayed August 2016

Room Tip: The showers require $1.75 in quarters.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
4  Thank singleF S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We loved our experience at Loft Mountain. We took a tent site which we loved since it was off the main road and quieter than the pull through spots. It was first come first serve since we had to change our plans last minute but the ranger was super helpful. The camp store attendant was very friendly and we loved the wood there yes it's $7 a bundle but it's super dry so it should catch easily vs some places where the wood is left out to dampen. The showers a a great feature at 1.75/5 minutes you can feel so clean after a day of hiking. We saw tons of birds, some chipmunks and a white tail deer which walked within 5 feet of us (someone was probably feeding them cause we found this super strange). The best part of the campsite was the 5 minute hike to the rock face to watch the sunset, it was fantastic! We definitely want to come back when the leaves are changing!

Room Tip: Go for tent only if you want quieter space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TheVeggieTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shenandoah National Park hotels
15.2 km away
Big Meadows Lodge
Big Meadows Lodge
#1 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
1,169 reviews
14.2 km away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,334 reviews
24 km away
Lewis Mountain Cabins
Lewis Mountain Cabins
#2 of 8 in Shenandoah National Park
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loft Mountain Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loft Mountain Campground

Address: 3655 US Hwy 211 East, Shenandoah National Park, VA 22835
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Shenandoah National Park
Number of rooms: 200
Also Known As:
Loft Mountain Campground Hotel Shenandoah National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing