We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Big Meadows Lodge(Shenandoah National Park)
US$147
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Skyland(Shenandoah National Park)
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lewis Mountain Cabins(Shenandoah National Park)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Big Meadows Campground(Shenandoah National Park)
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
66
35
10
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
35
10
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstent campingcamp storeappalachian trailperson tentriver fallsfather sonsouthern endgreat sitebig meadowsbathrooms were cleanwind and raintent stakespay showerstree covergreat outdoor experienceparking areasites
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 116 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

Overall we enjoyed our stay here. We were here Saturday - Monday. Weekend was crowded and our first night our neighbors were very loud.
We had site #27, was a little inconvenient because our car was directly by our site. Had to walk back and forth to car several times.
You're in bear country, so you CAN NOT leave any food or dishes out.
Location was also too remote, hour and half to the nearest visitor center. Showers were nice! $1.75 for 5.25 minutes. Views are amazing though!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank scrappinerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2016

This used to be one of our favorite weekend getaways from DC to tent camp in the Summer. It was peaceful and a good place to get away, while not completely roughing it. The last several times I've gone, however, over the past two years, it's gotten very crowded and loud. There are noise ordinances, but definitely not enforced. Last time I was there a group showed up at around 1am and set up camp while chugging beer and cheering each other on. It is a great place when you have it to yourself, with excellent hiking and view opportunities.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DLM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

Great privacy and plenty of breezes. Very clean and friendly, with a well stocked camp store with firewood and hot showers! Check out the sunset views on the Appalatian Trail behind campsite A-13, fantastic outcropping view point and only about 50 feet behind the campsite. You can access the trail just past the tent camping area.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Phillip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2016

This was my first time camping at Loft mountain for our annual family camping trip. The campground is at the southern end of the park. The sites are well spaced, with lots of grass instead of packed dirt The bathrooms have new tile, new everything! The campground store closes at 6Pm, along with the wayside store.
This will be our campground of choice for the coming years.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cleaningwhitedoghair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2016

Great campground and campsite location! Loft Mountain is quite secluded compared to other SNP campgrounds and features heavily wooded sites, bathrooms, showers, a modern camp store, great views of the mountain valleys, and easy access to the Appalachian trail on all three sides. If you enjoy tent camping with the feeling of being deep in the woods, but still enjoy a few creature comforts of home....this is the place for you.

I needed a site that could fit two tents and four people, with close access to the bathroom and utility sink, but was still reasonably shaded and private. Site E106 was perfect for all my major requirements. The bathroom/utility sink is next door with only a short walk. The woods surrounded the site on all sides and was accessible to our parked cars via a short access trail. In fact, the woods were so thick the bathroom and other campsites were barely visible. Nice!!

On this particular trip, there was a lot of bear activity in the campground. We saw a few bears around the sites and one up in a tree. The National Park Service even closed off one site and set a bear trap. So use caution and heed the park warnings/guidance when cooking and storing food.

I will definitely go back!
Stayed August 2016

Room Tip: The showers require $1.75 in quarters.
Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
4  Thank singleF S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews