We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
67
35
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
35
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstent campingcamp storeappalachian trailperson tentriver fallsfather sonsouthern endgreat sitebig meadowsbathrooms were cleanwind and raintent stakespay showerstree covergreat outdoor experienceparking areasites
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 118 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2018

was doing a bike trip down blue ridge parkway and skyline drive. stopped here for a night. Here and big meadows campground were the 2 nicest places we stayed over 21/2 weeks. we stayed on a16 which was a great site. campground hosts were very nice,they even gave us a pack of matches which we had forgotten. I wish we had more time to stay longer. our only complaint was after riding the hills of the parkway, was peddling up the hill to the campground.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2017 via mobile

I take my dogs camping at Loft Mountain at least twice every summer, mid-week when fewer sites are occupied. Most of the campsites offer more privacy than you find at other campgrounds. We are usually able to snag a site where our tent and campfire ring aren't easily seen by passersby. Access to the Appalachian Trail is easy; summer sunsets are amazing. Staff is cordial but unobtrusive. Shower facilities are great (although the actual shower stalls are tiny!) This IS bear country so follow campground rules about storing food and scented items to the letter. Some campsites can be reserved online but if you arrive on a Monday or Tuesday, you'll also have a pretty good pick among the choice non-reservable sites that face West, toward sunset. Download the campground map to get oriented ahead of time. Have fun!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank Kathi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

Beautiful, well maintained campground. This was our second visit to this particular campground. This visit we picked a site on A loop that had an amazing view of the sunsets. Our site was conveniently located close to water and facilities and was within walking distance to the amphitheater for fantastic star gazing. Hoping to take another trip in October to enjoy the cool crisp air and wonderful fall foliage.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank dhc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

Spent a night here while thru-hiking SNP on the AT. It was nice that they had tent only sites that were a bit secluded (A10). Didn't have to put up my tiny tent next to some monster RV and be kept awake by bright lights and noise.
What I really appreciated we're the showers, laundry, and store. The showers & laundry we're very $ reasonable and worked very well. For $3 I got all cleaned up in about 1 hour. Felt human again; until getting back on the trail in the AM. The store was well stocked and also had reasonable prices. Plus there was a covered breezeway between the store & bathrooms that was gloriously cool during a very warm afternoon. Even got cell phone & 4G reception there!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank txbenton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile

Spent 3 days and two nights tent camping at Loft Mountain site A19. Overall a great outdoor experience and close to the Appalachian Trail. Saw lots of deer but no Bears. Be prepared for extreme wind and rain while staying at Loft Mountain. Bathrooms and showers were clean and park rangers friendly. Great spot for small families.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews