We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Peace”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Bucknell, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen K
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Perfect Peace”
Reviewed May 13, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Delighted (and relieved) to find this terrific property available at short notice through Sykes Cottages after a booking made many months ago through Holiday Lettings (part of TripAdvisor) was cancelled by the host with eight days' notice and TripAdvisor were no help at all in finding an alternative option. Fortunate for us that the property hasn't been available for long as I imagine it will soon be booked up well in advance for the whole year. It is a beautiful house, much of it historic, with beams and nooks and crannies galore. Nine adults and one greyhound were very comfortable here for a weekend. The house is beautifully decorated and well appointed with fixtures and fittings. The kitchen is a pleasure to cook in, and the hot tub!!! well that was the icing on the cake. Talking of cake, the complimentary home-made cake - and home-made marmalade, and fresh farm eggs - were greatly appreciated. Our host Emma was friendly and helpful and lives in a house which is near enough to this house to be visible but not so near as to be intrusive. Two wood-burning stoves would keep the house very cosy in winter and the central heating is effective too, though we didn't need it much and ended up turning all the radiators off. The outdoor seating area was welcome when the sun came out, and the garden is a good size, plenty of room for the dog to run around. Lower Hodre is in a very quiet area with only the occasional car or farm vehicle passing down the lane. There are walks around lanes and footpaths right from the front door, through spectacular countryside with red kites circling overhead, sheep in the fields and rabbits hopping around. It's a really beautiful, peaceful place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveTrave...
1 review
“A beautiful house overlooking a secluded landscape”
Reviewed April 20, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

A beautifully renovated house with fine views over a secluded landscape. The house has been refurbished to a high standard incorporating both traditional and modern styles with plenty of space to accommodate family and friends. I had a wonderful stay at the house over the festive season and look forward to a return visit soon. The hosts Emma and Edward are delightful and welcoming.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire S
Sandon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful property; very welcoming hosts”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Would highly recommend this property. Stayed for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday with the family. Wonderful property with spectacular views and all could be enjoyed whilst outside or from the comfort of the hot tub, which was a big hit with the kids as well as the adults. Emma (the host) was there to greet us and as well as some welcoming provisions in the fridge including fresh farm eggs, a beautiful chocolate cake for Easter was waiting. We all returned home relaxed and happy in the knowledge we have already booked to return in November (if not before). Thank you for everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
p0psical
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfull !”
Reviewed April 2, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had a lovely stay in this very comfortable house. It was cold outside but we were snug in the house and it is all very beautiful around and about. The countryside is spectacular with wonderful views. We were given a very warm welcome by the owners and will deffinately be going back when we have another break.
Thank you to Emma and Edward for making us feel so at home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
judekemp
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Shropshire at its best for you, your family, friends, and dogs.”
Reviewed March 25, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Lower Hodre has been lovingly restored to a high standard.
A very comfortable, clean, and surprisingly large and roomy holiday let. The views are outstanding and the feeling of getting away from it all could not be better. I would recommend it to any age and can't wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing