We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxed and rustic retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room overlooking paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room overlooking paddock
Kitchen/Dining area with double oven, dishwasher,washing machine, and fridge freezer Adjoining paddock; home to friendly sheep, lambs pygmy goats and pigs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Living room overlooking paddock
Kitchen/Dining area with double oven, dishwasher,washing machine, and fridge freezer
Adjoining paddock; home to friendly sheep, lambs pygmy goats and pigs
Large TV with Sky TV including Sky Sports; and  DVD player
Hallway leading to Bedrooms and Bathroom
Bedroom 1 - King Size Bed, quality pocket sprung mattress
Bedroom 2 - Two 3ft Single Beds, quality pocket sprung mattresses. TV/DVD player
Private garden with raised terrace; Beautiful views across village and open countryside
Plenty of comfortable seating in very spacious open plan living room/kitchen-diner
Bathroom with bath and power-shower
Entrance to Hursey Gate Stables
Court yard area at the front of Hursey Gate Stables
View of village from the large raised terrace
The Pygmy goats are great characters and are very popular with guests.
Lyme Regis, evening sun
The view from Golden Cap 25 mins away.
Broadwindsor looking towards Lewesdon Hill
Broadwindsor from Hollis Hill
The village public house, very friendly good food
Surrounding countryside from the paddock.
Forde Abbey, wonderful gardens and house nearby.
Lyme Regis looking towards the harbour and the Cob.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Broadwindsor, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
albequ
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxed and rustic retreat”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a lovely break at Hursey Gate with our two young children aged two and three. The stables were a great mix of homely furnishings with high quality modern fixtures and fittings. (It seems as though the accommodation has been further upgraded since the pictures posted on TripAdvisor) The children loved feeding the animals over the back garden fence and John and Elaine and their children couldn't have been more welcoming. We were very lucky with the weather and spent three days of our week long break at Lyme Regis, which has a great soft sandy beach. We would definitely highly recommend this accommodation, and plan to return as soon as possible. The discount offered on return visitors makes a good value break all the better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sam j
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved our weeks stay in Hursey Gate Stables”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week staying at Hursey Gate Stables. Coming from a city this was a perfect country escape for us. Our boys loved feeding the animals and the walks from the accommodation are beautiful with woodpeckers in the woods and fantastic views over Dorset. 20 min car ride to the coast, fossil hunting, open beaches, cliff top walks, great pubs, cream teas.............the downside...returning to work!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen H
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted somewhere to escape to after Christmas and found the perfect place in Hursey Gate Stables. It was cosy, well-equipped and felt snug from the moment we walked through the front door and, as we have two small children, it was great for relaxation after the kids had gone to bed. Would definitely recommend for families or couples at all times of the year.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful property in a picturesque Dorset village”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent facilities provided in this 2 bedroomed property. We were a party of 3 adults and found the beds comfortable and the property very clean. With the accommodation being on one floor this was very convenient for my 83 year old mother. It was warm and cosy inside and we were able to easily entertain 2 adult guests for Christmas Day with the well-equipped kitchen. The property is situated in a quiet, rural location within walking distance of the village which has a church, a pub and a community village store. Broadwindsor is in easy reach of the spectacular Dorset coastline and countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Efficient heating and insulation of the property
Liked least: Limited storage and space in twin bedded room
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Florida
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful Relaxing Retreat”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

As three ladies looking for a quiet relaxing break this was perfect. The only reason I have marked the location as 4 as because it was a little remote but this was perfect for us. The cottage was well equipped with milk in the fridge and biscuits and some information about the cottage as local area. We would love to return here.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loft85
new barn ,kent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“wonderfull homely property and well equipped”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Arrived late on the Friday night with my wife and 2 poodles, but were still met by Elaine and showed in to the property, on the table was a tray with tea and coffee, and biscuits and a pint of milk in the fridge.
Although the converted property and 2 others are in the grounds of the farm house, it is still very private. Very well equipped, plenty of plug sockets everywhere.We felt at home immediately, From the rear patio doors a decking area with steps leading down to enclosed garden which was very good for the dogs, and beyond this private garden is a field with 3 sheep, 3 goats, 2 Pot bellied pigs, and 2 ponies on there own at the top of the field. It was fun feeding them all.Back to the property it is a very warm barn nicely furnished with flat screen t v"s in the main open plan lounge/kitchen and each of the 2 bedrooms, There was nothing that we felt we were short of in the way of contents.The constant hot water was the same temperature through the really powerful shower.
We booked through an agent whose web site only showed it as 3 star.I am sure if it had been rated by the tourist board, it would have been given a minimum of 4 stars.
All in all it was a very nice stay, a convenient location for country and coastal towns, very close to local pub.
They also have as i mentioned earlier 2 other conversions within the farm grounds, we were shown the 3 bed roomed property before we left, which for a family or a group of friends would be ideal as all the rooms were sympathetically restored and all bedrooms were en suite. We would have no hesitation in returning to West Hill House farm.Thank you David and Elaine for a very nice stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: private position of rear of property with decking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 29, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall quality of the property and animals out the back!
Liked least: Stairs down to garden at rear with young children.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Jul 2013
Thank you for your kind words,we’re so glad you enjoyed your holiday.
Regarding the pub, we are happy to clarify there has been a seamless change of management and it is continuing to operate as before,serving lunches and evening meals.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing