We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Grange

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Cussay, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hans M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely place. We visited the property with 2 families with small children. What they do not mention is that they got everything covered for small children from a guarded stairways to a huge fenced garden (min 350 m2) with lots of shade for the kids to play in while the parents relax in the sun. Lots of toys in the garden and also at the pool area.

The small pool for the youngest children is ideal. The water is 20 Deep and the large pool is a joy.

Alistar and his wife make everything very easy for you and help you with all the needs. Just ultimate relaxed.

An unexpected surprise was the almost tropical garden with banana trees and bamboo forest. Within the communal garden you can also find swings, ping pong table and a badminton net for which all material is present.

The house is a lovely rustic French old building restored to a good standard. A huge space below its the salon and kitchen in 1. But who needs a kitchen if you have a bbq present.

All in all we had a perfect time and loved it!!!!

Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WonderPoo...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderful week at La Grange”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful place to relax and enjoy France. Our second visit and just as good as the first. Having stayed at a few places in France, this is the best we have found and well equipped with everything we needed. The accommodation was spotless as indeed were the gardens which are amazing and large enough for parent to escape the children or is that the other way round. The pool area is secure and clean despite the owner building even more facilities and we look forward to returning again to see them finished and to carry on our tour of the Chateau of the area.
An easy place to find with notes from the owners, secure gated parking and pool area, lots of outdoor activities, badminton, table tennis swings etc. The owners are on site and very helpful and know the area well.
Thank you Alistair and Jenifer for a wonderful week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Stunning gardens and space
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michael g
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“La Grange - Mrs and Mrs Gosbee”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We found the house very clean, the kitchen was huge and had everything we needed, the private garden area was great for the children with lots of toys for them to play with. The main garden was fantasitic with lots of really beaufiful trees and shrubs (lots of hard work for someone). The pool area was very clean with a large heated pool and splash pool, the whole area was paved and very safe for the children. The owners were always available and very helpful, we really enjoyed our stay and will come back again and will highly recommend this property to all our family and freiends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
171MrsJ
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“PERFECT GET AWAY – HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Having stayed here 2 summers ago we decided to return for our mid week get away as we enjoyed the local area so much and have some great memories.
When we arrive we had a pleasant surprise. The gardens are one of the things that we most loved about this place (beautifully landscaped)
But what a difference 2 years make! Especially to the pool area it’s more like a Roman Empire now, Amazing!
The gite is lovely and fresh, Very clean and well equipped.

We had a Great time, the weather was good and we enjoyed the local restaurants too much (my wife said i need to lose a couple of pounds!)
Thank you Jennifer and Alistair for making us feel most welcome
(I’ve never tasted tomatoes as good as yours)

Brian & Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Love the gardens!
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J0Gil
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing Property”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The property listing was accurate in regard to the general description however we found the property to be in poor condition and in need of upgrade. Everything was tired, basic, old and a number of electrical items were needing replaced. The property did not seem particularly clean and the main bathroom drains had a very bad smell. The best thing about the property was the private area in front which was great for the children to play around.

The pool area could have been nice but again was getting a bit weedy and in need of general maintenance. The owners were working on building new facilities near the pool but had more need to ensure that the immediate area round the pool was in good shape and weed free.

We did not see much of the owners at all during our stay. The area is very remote with the nearest town of any size being 25 KMS away. You have to therefore be prepared to generally stay around the house and pool unless you are prepared to drive quite a bit.
In summary the property was disappointing and we would not recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good play area for children in front of house.
Liked least: everything about the house was tired and in need of modernisation/upgrade. Wifi would only work intermittently at the kitchen table and nowhere else.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2014
My Response
My two cleaners and myself spent up to 3 hours cleaning and getting the house ready for each incoming client we try very hard to make the place spotless, we saw the client on numerous occasions and when we asked if everything was ok they said everything was fine, we live on the 5acre site about 80 mts from La Grange and work in the gardens every day so are always available for any problems, at no time did the client approach us or complain during their stay, all our 3 houses are painted and upgraded every 3 to 5 years, La Grange was repainted this year, it has a fully fitted kitchen with a double oven, two hobs with a total of 9 gas rings, fridge/freezer, microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, coffee machine, toaster, electric kettle etc, all new in the last 4 years, we replace all pots and pans, plates etc every 2 to 3 years, the house has a new 54 inch flat screen tv and has internet access, in the private garden we have just this year built new walls and replanted the garden with some clematites and grasses,there is a 4mts by 3mts marquee for sunshade and teak tabble and chairs plus BBQ, the beautiful 5acre shared landscaped garden is full of exotic plants and trees aprox 100 bananna trees, palm trees, bamboo forest, etc, the list is too long to list, i am a landscape gardener and my husband a master stonemason. The completely walled pool area has a heated pool and a childs splash pool, and is completely paved, 500 sq mts ( NO place for weeds ) i am sure they have reviewed the wrong gite. Just read the other reviews on all three houses to confirm that these people must do this for a living. The estate is situated on the edge of our village in a rural, peaceful setting yet just 5 minutes walk to the village centre where you have a great restaurant, 2 kms away is a town with a large supermarket and about 50 shops and restaurants 8 kms in the other direction another large town with 3 very large supermarkets and about 100 shops and restaurants, the client must be confused with citys and towns We have been letting theses houses out for 24 years and work very hard to make each clients stay a happy one, we are shocked at this review, again just read the other reviews. Jennifer and Alistair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CveB89
Tholen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$344
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing