We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Anniversary Break”
Review of Manolya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manolya Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We visited Northern Cyprus to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary and elected to stay at the Manolya Hotel. What a good decision that was. Without doubt this is the friendliest Hotel we have stayed at, the staff were unfailingly polite and so friendly. The Hotel room was comfortable and we had a good sea view. It is excellent value for money. There is no doubt we will return to the Hotel again. We have such good memories.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North and West sides of the building have the best sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

Our party of 4 recently returned from a holiday in N. Cyprus, staying 10 nights at the Manolya Hotel. Overall, we were reasonably happy but not everything went smoothly. We arrived late at night, around 11:30pm, after a long day of travelling and a transfer from Larnaca airport, only to find our 2 rooms were not ready for us. This was totally unexpected and unacceptable, particularly as we had made our booking weeks before. The man at reception gave us some lame excuse and offered a few free beers to assuage us. One room was finally ready at 01.05 and the other at 01:40. We’re pretty sure that the previous occupants were leaving on night flights and would have paid extra to keep their rooms thereby depriving us of going straight in as you would normally expect. If this was the case, a sharp practice and not acceptable! We complained to the hotel rep the following morning and eventually agreed a compromise of free wi-fi (yes, this is chargeable even though some on Trip Advisor might leave you thinking otherwise) and free deposit boxes for both rooms during our stay. As it transpired, we couldn’t get the hotel wi-fi signal in room 414 (quite shabby and in need of refurbishment) and a deposit box never materialised so that was half the promised compensation never came to fruition.

Before booking, I’d read that using a wheelchair in the area close to the hotel was ok which meant we would be able to push my disabled mother around to restaurants etc. It isn’t! There are high kerbs and deep drop offs at property entrances all along the strip, which allied to uneven surfaces made going out near impossible and need of a car essential. I hadn’t pre-booked a car but upon ringing round, it quickly became apparent that no-one had a car to hire straightaway. The hotel came to our “rescue” and would have a car for us the following day. When the time came to collect the car there was no wiper attached on the driver side, damage to the rear wing and I noted there was 229,000 kms on the clock. To all intents and purposes, this looked like a privately owned car which someone was making a bit of extra cash from. After complaining to reception I was told a man would come after 2pm to deal with the wiper so I waited….. At 4.30pm he turned up without a wiper and couldn’t understand why I had an issue with it, saying it doesn’t rain in N Cyprus. I said that I wanted to be able to clean the screen when it became dusty / dirty. As it happened, a few days later we went on a trip to the Karpaz peninsula and… it rained, so wipers were needed! Anyway he went off clearly unhappy and returned half an hour later with a new wiper and fitted it to the car. By this time I had lost most of the day waiting for him and the car still hadn’t moved an inch. I wanted some return of the excessive charge for a lost day’s car hire but he kept saying he’d already given me discount on the car, which was rubbish as he’d charged way over the top for a clapped out car in the first place. I spoke to the hotel rep who had initiated the booking and he guaranteed me a return of half a day’s car hire charge but this has failed to materialise too! The following day we drove to Kyrenia and after parking up, I couldn’t get reverse gear. Upon our return to the hotel, the man was called out again and discovered some part had snapped. I told him I’d been given a bad car and wanted a replacement. He accused me of being a bad driver and I had caused the part to break and words were exchanged. It quickly became apparent that no replacement would be forthcoming so I was left in a quandary. He “repaired” the car with super glue and cable ties, yes don’t laugh and we test drove the car and despite my misgivings, we managed to use the car for the rest of our hire term without any further incidents. By the way, any advertising blurb about all cars being valeted and being subject to a computerised diagnostic check after every return, should be taken with a pinch of salt, certainly in this case!

Other than the problem with our arrival, the failure to provide what was promised, problems with the car and the manner of the man from the car hire, the rest of the time went pretty well. The rest of the staff were courteous and obliging. Would I go back there? No.

Room Tip: Don't have room 414
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robnicho1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We stayed at the Manolya in October for a week. On arriving from Larnaca with no luggage, thanks to LGW Airport. The staff were so very helpful in arranging transport back to the South to collect our luggage, when it turned up. They were also aware of our problem and were very attentive to ensure we new where to purchase the items we needed. Thank you very much, it was very much appreciated.
We stayed in a very nice modernised room, which was serviced daily, to a very good standard. The breakfast was a good verity of Turkish/European foods, and to many fresh fruits to mention. Lovely pool area, with plenty of beds, and direct access to the sea by numerous sets of steps. As we were a late flight home, we were allowed to access to our room until late afternoon, which was a bonus. Excellent location to some rather goods restaurants, just walking distance away. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skitrip20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We had a short break in October and we decided to come to Cyprus. We have chosen Manolya Hotel. Everything is fantastic. The food is delicious, organic, fresh. The service is great. The owner of the hotel, Mehmet is brilliant, very helpful. We forget to book a rental car when we book the hotel. We call directly to the hotel just before we catch the plane to Cyprus. When we arrived to Cyprus, our car was at the airport. Thanks to Mehmet sorting it out for us with a short notice. Thanks to all staff for being polite and helpful. See you next time.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gurkan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

My wife & I have been coming to the Manolya for many years now, usually only on short stays as we live in the south. We have seen it grow with all the alterations over this time & this is down to Mehmet, his family & all the staff & owners associated with the hotel.
It is & always has been a great place to stay, handy for everywhere in Northern Cyprus.
As i said, I have had the pleasure of knowing Mehmet for all these years, & he still greets us when he sees us. This time was in the restaurant at breakfast. The rooms have been further upgraded & are very comfortable, as there is plenty of hot water at all times & free wifi in the rooms as well as reception. We will be back again in November.
Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: All very good in our opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank goododlbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Spent a lovely relaxing week at Manolya, staff are very helpful and pleasant. We were given a pool side room which was not to our liking and next morning asked to be moved and were given a new room that day. We understand the pool rooms will be upgraded soon. The buffet breakfast had plenty of choice. Restaurants nearby the hotel are all great and ATM across the road from hotel.

Thank you everyone at the Manolya Hotel for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murphy146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

After last year's holiday, we had no hesitation in booking a further fortnight at the Manolya in September 2017. We arrived quite late, were shown into the room of our choice, and made a beeline for the bar which was still open and remained so until by 2.00 a.m. we thought we should unpack!

The rooms have been upgraded really nicely. The bathroom a total improvement with a large and efficient shower; a pleasure to use. The bedrooms too were more than adequate, plenty of mirrors; eventually we got the hang of the rather cantankerous sliding wardrobe doors.......

The food was adequate but not exciting but we never went there expecting gourmet cooking. A selection of cold meats to go with the salad would have been nice, and maybe the main meals would have been tastier and warmer if we hadn't left it till the last minute every evening

Although we'd hired a car, a good deal of our time was spent lying around the pool in the hot sun under the blue skies; we've been to Girne so many times that we have seen most of the sights - twice - and really, with such an excellent Dolmus service, I suppose the car was just a habit!

Plenty of sunbeds; towels provided. Found it hard to understand why people go out at the crack of dawn to 'reserve' beds with towels when they then don't come back till after lunch......maybe this is something that the management could address politely.

I did have an issue with the fact that the pool bar staff chose to play incessant 'music' all day, and took it up wth the manager, explaining that most of us were middle-aged and more, and wanted to doze or read quietly rather than listen to ....... Jamaican music. From which date, the noise stopped, and never again did we find it intrusive.

The only intrusive noise was from the awful pool bar from the next door hotel; we have taken this up with the Manolya management who seemed equally as frustrated and welcomed the letter of complaint which we wrote to that hotel's manager. But it didnt spoil our experience, we worked around it - thank goodness for the car after all!

We loved the new decking and on windy days, enjoyed the waves breaking over it. The pool bar has been upgraded and the staff were ceaselessly courteous and polite. As indeed were the staff throughout the hotel, who couldn't have been more helpful.

Reading some of the less positive reviews, I think that people need to remember that this is a 4-star hotel and priced accordingly; if you're looking for a 5-star hotel it's not for you. But if you're looking for a lovely hotel in a lovely position with brilliant staff, this is the hotel for you. Glad we came back !

Room Tip: avoid poolside rooms if you ant some sunshine, and also rooms overlooking the restaurant extractors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DavidHollister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapta
1.9 km away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
540 reviews
1.4 km away
Lapida Hotel
Lapida Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lapta
153 reviews
0.7 km away
Club Alda Hotel
Club Alda Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lapta
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Chateau Lambousa
Chateau Lambousa
#5 of 7 in Lapta
253 reviews
19.9 km away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#15 of 31 in Kyrenia
276 reviews
8 km away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manolya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manolya Hotel

Address: Fevzi Cakmak Cad No:48, Lapta, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Lapta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Price Range: $71 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manolya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manolya hotel is a beautifully positioned and welcoming hotel set between the sparkling seas of the Mediterranean and a dusky mountain backdrop. The Manolya provides good quality accommodation at a reasonable price. The hotel interior is modern and welcoming. The comfortably furnished rooms have air-conditioning, a mini-bar, satellite TV, private balconies, and en-suite bathrooms. Both simple and sophisticated holiday pleasures are on offer at this good standard family run hotel located near to Kyrenia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Manolya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manolya Hotel Kyrenia
Manolya Hotel Cyprus/Lapta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing