We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpassed my expectations”
Review of Manolya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manolya Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2017

I had a party to attend in the area so needed something cheap and cheerful for the night, staff were courteous and friendly , Free WiFi was a bonus, room was very comfortable with Sea view (#213) and extensive TV channels in English (Something that certain 5* Hotels here don't offer), Very handy location with public transport at the door and numerous restaurants and bars on the doorstep but still maintaining peace and tranquility. Breakfast the next morning seemed never ending once again shaming other Hotels in the area, Sea front position an added bonus, I work for a travel company here and have added the Hotel to my personal recommendation list

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2017

Was not sure what to expect but for a 3* hotel this one is good. There are lots of negative comments I could make about the décor and state of some parts of the hotel but overall it was clean, comfortable and made for an enjoyable stay. Lumpy pillows were swapped with no fuss.
Most of the front desk staff were very friendly. The cleaning staff were all very pleasant. One thing that really made the place a pleasure to stay in was the dining room staff - waiters and chefs. They were all absolutely wonderful. Very friendly and helpful and going out of their way for us. We had lots of chats with them, even though there were some language limitations. Well done to each of them!
The hotel is right by the main road but that was not too much a problem as it also gave easy access to places. The pool is set behind the hotel building and in November this means it gets very little sun on it. The sea was warmer than the pool and there are steps down from the hotel grounds straight into the water. Safe when there is not too much swell.
Being on the main road means the supermarket next door is easy to get to, the restaurants are close by and the dolmus service runs right by the door. This service is VERY regular and cheap to get into Kyrenia, or to travel the opposite way to various villages.
The hotel breakfast is plenteous and varied to suit many tastes. Cereals, soup if you like it for breakfast, hot and cold buffet, fresh made to order omelettes/fried eggs, fresh, tinned and dried fruits, pancakes to order, toast and jams. Plus plenty more that cannot be detailed. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate, squashes, water etc etc to drink. All there for you to eat as much or as little as you like.
There was one sad anomaly in total contrast to this. In the rooms the standard mini bar with price list was understandable. However, having used a couple of tea bags we were told by another guest these were also charged for, but weren't on the list. What!??? We talked this over with someone at the desk and resolved the matter, but did not use any more of their provisions in the room.
This apart we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Manolya and would not hesitate to consider it again if we make it back to Cyprus for a fourth visit sometime.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the East for the morning sun or the West for the afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank souspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

This is our second visit to the Manolya Hotel. We stayed for 21 days at the same time last year. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves last year, hence we booked again.But there has certainly been improvements this year.The pool area has been transformed. Fully re-tiled walk areas and the addition of a wrap-around sun deck right over the sea.
The dining room has seen improvements also, a more varied breakfast menu can now be had along with more attentive staff, ensuring high standards of cleanliness and efficiency.
The room was fine with plenty of storage space and cleaned daily to a high standard. The entire staff could not be more helpful and friendly. It was a very relaxing holiday.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank philandsue639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

This was a wonderful hotel to stay in. The hotel facilities were excellent and the staff were wonderful. Before arriving Mehmet had organised a rental car and a pick up in Nicosia for the 4 of us. This went brilliantly and allowed us to visit a large part of Northern Cyprus in our relatively short stay. We were also pleased with quality of the restaurants both in the hotel and locally that we were able to use in the evening. A little piece of paradise and would definitely use it again

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ViMa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We visited Northern Cyprus to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary and elected to stay at the Manolya Hotel. What a good decision that was. Without doubt this is the friendliest Hotel we have stayed at, the staff were unfailingly polite and so friendly. The Hotel room was comfortable and we had a good sea view. It is excellent value for money. There is no doubt we will return to the Hotel again. We have such good memories.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North and West sides of the building have the best sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Our party of 4 recently returned from a holiday in N. Cyprus, staying 10 nights at the Manolya Hotel. Overall, we were reasonably happy but not everything went smoothly. We arrived late at night, around 11:30pm, after a long day of travelling and a transfer from Larnaca airport, only to find our 2 rooms were not ready for us. This was totally unexpected and unacceptable, particularly as we had made our booking weeks before. The man at reception gave us some lame excuse and offered a few free beers to assuage us. One room was finally ready at 01.05 and the other at 01:40. We’re pretty sure that the previous occupants were leaving on night flights and would have paid extra to keep their rooms thereby depriving us of going straight in as you would normally expect. If this was the case, a sharp practice and not acceptable! We complained to the hotel rep the following morning and eventually agreed a compromise of free wi-fi (yes, this is chargeable even though some on Trip Advisor might leave you thinking otherwise) and free deposit boxes for both rooms during our stay. As it transpired, we couldn’t get the hotel wi-fi signal in room 414 (quite shabby and in need of refurbishment) and a deposit box never materialised so that was half the promised compensation never came to fruition.

Before booking, I’d read that using a wheelchair in the area close to the hotel was ok which meant we would be able to push my disabled mother around to restaurants etc. It isn’t! There are high kerbs and deep drop offs at property entrances all along the strip, which allied to uneven surfaces made going out near impossible and need of a car essential. I hadn’t pre-booked a car but upon ringing round, it quickly became apparent that no-one had a car to hire straightaway. The hotel came to our “rescue” and would have a car for us the following day. When the time came to collect the car there was no wiper attached on the driver side, damage to the rear wing and I noted there was 229,000 kms on the clock. To all intents and purposes, this looked like a privately owned car which someone was making a bit of extra cash from. After complaining to reception I was told a man would come after 2pm to deal with the wiper so I waited….. At 4.30pm he turned up without a wiper and couldn’t understand why I had an issue with it, saying it doesn’t rain in N Cyprus. I said that I wanted to be able to clean the screen when it became dusty / dirty. As it happened, a few days later we went on a trip to the Karpaz peninsula and… it rained, so wipers were needed! Anyway he went off clearly unhappy and returned half an hour later with a new wiper and fitted it to the car. By this time I had lost most of the day waiting for him and the car still hadn’t moved an inch. I wanted some return of the excessive charge for a lost day’s car hire but he kept saying he’d already given me discount on the car, which was rubbish as he’d charged way over the top for a clapped out car in the first place. I spoke to the hotel rep who had initiated the booking and he guaranteed me a return of half a day’s car hire charge but this has failed to materialise too! The following day we drove to Kyrenia and after parking up, I couldn’t get reverse gear. Upon our return to the hotel, the man was called out again and discovered some part had snapped. I told him I’d been given a bad car and wanted a replacement. He accused me of being a bad driver and I had caused the part to break and words were exchanged. It quickly became apparent that no replacement would be forthcoming so I was left in a quandary. He “repaired” the car with super glue and cable ties, yes don’t laugh and we test drove the car and despite my misgivings, we managed to use the car for the rest of our hire term without any further incidents. By the way, any advertising blurb about all cars being valeted and being subject to a computerised diagnostic check after every return, should be taken with a pinch of salt, certainly in this case!

Other than the problem with our arrival, the failure to provide what was promised, problems with the car and the manner of the man from the car hire, the rest of the time went pretty well. The rest of the staff were courteous and obliging. Would I go back there? No.

Room Tip: Don't have room 414
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robnicho1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We stayed at the Manolya in October for a week. On arriving from Larnaca with no luggage, thanks to LGW Airport. The staff were so very helpful in arranging transport back to the South to collect our luggage, when it turned up. They were also aware of our problem and were very attentive to ensure we new where to purchase the items we needed. Thank you very much, it was very much appreciated.
We stayed in a very nice modernised room, which was serviced daily, to a very good standard. The breakfast was a good verity of Turkish/European foods, and to many fresh fruits to mention. Lovely pool area, with plenty of beds, and direct access to the sea by numerous sets of steps. As we were a late flight home, we were allowed to access to our room until late afternoon, which was a bonus. Excellent location to some rather goods restaurants, just walking distance away. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skitrip20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapta
1.9 km away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
540 reviews
1.4 km away
Lapida Hotel
Lapida Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lapta
153 reviews
0.3 km away
Chateau Lambousa
Chateau Lambousa
#5 of 7 in Lapta
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Club Alda Hotel
Club Alda Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lapta
75 reviews
19.9 km away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#15 of 31 in Kyrenia
276 reviews
8 km away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manolya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manolya Hotel

Address: Fevzi Cakmak Cad No:48, Lapta, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Lapta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Price Range: $73 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manolya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manolya hotel is a beautifully positioned and welcoming hotel set between the sparkling seas of the Mediterranean and a dusky mountain backdrop. The Manolya provides good quality accommodation at a reasonable price. The hotel interior is modern and welcoming. The comfortably furnished rooms have air-conditioning, a mini-bar, satellite TV, private balconies, and en-suite bathrooms. Both simple and sophisticated holiday pleasures are on offer at this good standard family run hotel located near to Kyrenia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, GoNorthCyprus, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Manolya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manolya Hotel Kyrenia
Manolya Hotel Cyprus/Lapta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing