We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very welcoming place to stay ,everything you need...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of WildWood Lodge

There is always a warm welcome inside - even when its cold on the outside!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
There is always a warm welcome inside - even when its cold on the outside!
Welcome to WildWood! Between front door and kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
There is always a warm welcome inside - even when its cold on the outside!
Welcome to WildWood!
Between front door and kitchen.
Dining table for 6.
Sit down and relax.
Double bedroom.
Linen and towels are provided at WildWood.
Twin room has an additional TV and DVD player
WildWood Lodge has a large tub as well as a shower.
Fully equipped kitchen with good storage space and work surfaces.
Books and compact discs and a cupboard well stocked with visitor attraction leaflets.
Breakfast or a picnic or a bbq in the garden?
Your key is here on arrival
Pleasant surroundings.
Moffat Manor is the perfect place to unwind.
The beautiful close by spa town of Moffat has an abundance of restaurants, pubs and coffee bars.
Enjoy the outdoor experience - this glen is just a few miles away.
Looking down from the Grey Mare's Tail a National Trust gem on our doorstep.
Meggert Water offers a lovely setting for walking, cycling or a leisurely drive.
Tweedsmiur is just a short drive away from WildWood.
Drumlanrig Castle and its gardens are always a good day out.
We know that you will enjoy your stay at WildWood.
Another double bedroom.
WildWood Lodge has the benefit of 2 double bedrooms.
Alfred's bistro and bar on site.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Beattock, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angela H
Hollacombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very welcoming place to stay ,everything you need is there ,”
Reviewed November 6, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Such a relief to find this lodge ,so warm and welcoming ,the purpose of our visit was to see my brother who is very poorly at the moment ,so to find our accommodation so good ,was such a relief ,everything had been thought of, and provided ,top marks thank you ,must recommend the butchers and bakers in Moffat ,try the Moffat tasty from the bakers ,and the home made steak pies from the Butcher , hopefully we will be back under happy times ,also saw red squrriels ,so cute compared to our grey ones . Angela from Devon .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the extras ,the basics in the kitchen
Liked least: It was all as advertised.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a bonus of sighting of some red squirrels. Wishing you and your brother well.
Kind regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missyzp
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location-perfect for exploring.”
Reviewed July 11, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The lodge is set in a lovely area. Beds were all made up with enough pillows and towels on them. Ideal for a family who want an affordable break as holidaying in the UK is pricy. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming.
We were attending a wedding in the nearby Auchen castle so this was perfect and much cheaper. We made the most of the area, going for 3 runs and driving up to Edinburgh one day. It made more sense driving than going 20 miles back to Lockerbie to get the train plus the scenery is gorgeous.
The only downside I would say about the lodge is the dated pictures etc could do with modernising plus it's quite dark inside due to the woodland. It did smell a bit musty but that could be down to being unoccupied.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Dated decor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rhiamaria
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cabin was a great size and very clean. The rooms were bigger than expected with very comfortable beds. The kitchen had everything you need for a trip away from home. A folder with lot's of information on the local area which gave us lots of ideas for things to do. We will definitely be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good location and great size of a cabin
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lornah7
2 reviews
“Fabulous relaxing cabin”
Reviewed May 15, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Had a great stay in this cabin for a few days after getting married. Excellent value for money. Quiet. Spacious cabin. Just what we were looking for. Would definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alyson M
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

very nice place -nice clean bed linen and very roomey -set in a lovely place =plenty walks for dogs and children really enjoyed our stay -straight off moterway and your there no travelling miles for your accomadation!! as for moffat a mile down the road lovely town and lovely shop treated ourselves to a fish supper and it was lovely £12 for two suppers-also walks in the town -up to the woods and down by the river -up to the golf course and a circular walk back to moffat and NO parking fees all free --brilliant

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and Convenient”
Reviewed February 19, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Our short stay provided the perfect base for a multi-location wedding weekend taking in Gretna, Annan and Moffat. The owners Rob and Steph were very understanding despite a mix-up in booking. Our two boys appreciated the Xbox and we enjoyed a beautiful wlk close by on the Sunday when the snowdrops were out in force in the park

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Low hanging light fittings
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennifer1...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“cosy cabin in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

I just spent new year at this cabin with my 15yr old son, my friend and her 3 children. The cabin is very spacious and can easily accommodate without feeling like your under each others feet. It was very cosy and comfy. The only thing I would say is it could do with a little bit of diy in places and the front door couldn't be locked from the inside which meant trailing through wet mud in the dark to use the back door. We all really had a good time though and I would recommend it to others and would happily return myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the large spacious lounge
Liked least: the shower was either roasting hot or cold, there was no medium
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
Hi Jennifer
Many thanks for your review which like all reviews very much appreciated.
We are grateful that you have highlighted the issue with the front door lock - which has been fully resolved during our own new year holiday in WildWood - and we have also had the chance this past week to get on top of that snagging list of DIY matters - and we do hope to haste Ye back one day!
Rob and Steph.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing