We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for a group getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
11 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Beattock, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jared b
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a group getaway”
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay here. The caretaker was very helpful and friendly and the owners had even left a cake and a card for my wife's birthday. Plenty of space, perfectly clean and a great venue for a weekend getaway for a group of friends. Only problem was that none of the showers worked while we were there, but apparently this was due to an electrical fault caused by work in the village. Otherwise it was a great experience.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mimgodfer...
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely big house perfect for get togethers”
Reviewed 20 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Telford house for a long weekend with three other families. There were 8 adults and 11 children but the house gave us lots of room. There were plenty of Showers/bathrooms and enough space for everyone to sit and eat together. The kitchen space was compact and a little challenging to cook for 19 with only one oven, however it contained plenty of equipment and we managed. There were lots of take aways in Moffat which we used for two meals. Breakfast time was entertaining as we managed to set the fire alarm off whenever the bacon was being cooked. it was lovely to have a number of welcome gifts including wine, chocolates, sweets, crisps and cans. We had some lovely walks in the beautiful countryside within 30 minutes drive of the house. I hope we can book the house again to explore more.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona J
Renfrew, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 14 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Just back from a fantastic weekend at Telford house! This place is amazing, beautiful house! From start to finish my family had an excellent time here celebrating my Dads 70th. Chris and Tam the owners and Colin the care taker do a wonderful job here and gives it the personal touch!! Will cherish the memories forever and will definitely be back!! Moffat is a lovely town only a couple of miles away. Lovely wee pub the old Stable which was great too and only a wee 5 minute walk from the house! Can't recommend Telford house enough, thank you Chris, Tam and Colin the weekend was everything and more we could have wanted!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Can't fault a thing!!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahoni
motherwell scotland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great weekend at Telford house for our Christmas night out with workmates from Tunnocks .was welcomed into the home by Chris and Thomas and also Colin the caretaker who was absolutely fantastic with us nothing was to much for him .the house itself is absolutely beautiful and very clean and we'll keep we had a great weekend there was a party of 20 of us and there is nothing that can be faulted the place is great for a big get together plenty space and very homely .would recommend this house it was amazing and made our Christmas weekend away one to remember and we will certainly be back for more visits x xx

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mags1968
Ayr
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic house for friends getting together.”
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely weekend at Telford House. The big space absorbed our children, allowing the adults peace to catch up. Plenty of room in the lounge for us all to gather for quiz and games. Moffat offered quirky wee shops and plenty of walks around the area. Shame about the sheep's ears ( mofdat joke).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
r b
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely House for Large Family Group”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We all had a great time staying at Telford House. Tam, Christine and Colin were all very welcoming, Colin knew a great deal about the history of the house and was extremely friendly and helpful. We had no noise disruption from the motorway or railway line, even when sitting in the garden we didn't feel like we were so close to the motorway. Moffat Community Nature Reserve is a short walk from the house and well worth a visit. Lots of hides, nature rambles, and picnic tables. Moffat is a lovely town with plenty of cafes/coffee shops, a lovely toffee shop, and a few good pubs as well as a great many walks, from gentle strolls round the boating pond to walks to Moffat Well (great views) and Gallow Hill (lots of different paths to follow). The Visit Moffat website has a great many more walks/drives in their "take 5" range of leaflets. The Grey Mare's Tail is a must, and follow the road to St Mary's Loch, Megget Reservoir, Talla Reservoir (they supply Edinburgh), Tweedsmuir then back to Moffat on the A701. The Crooked Road is a lovely (if steep) walk with great views over Moffat and the surrounding hills. Take the car if you are going to Earshaig Loch Nature Reserve as its a fair hike, but worth it, a lovely place for a picnic. Telford house was a great place for a family holiday. Plenty of room, bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, everywhere was clean and tidy. Asda and Tesco deliver too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of space for the family
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mancheste...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful venue, great for family and friends to get together!”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This house was the perfect location for a surprise 40th. Mixture of family and friends attended with kids and a dog! The owners and the caretaker (Colin) could not have been more welcoming or helpful, evening leaving a cake and card for the birthday boy along with wine and chocolates for the adults and treats for the kids. COmmunication prior to our trip was excellent and everyone commented on how much they had enjoyed their stay. The bedrooms are comfortable and roomy and the living accommodation is ideal for socialising. Kids are allowed to be kids, playing in the garden and running around the spacious halls. Kitchen is brilliantly stocked for self catering and I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, facilities and friendly staff. Excellent weekend had by all.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;