We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, Quiet and Rustic.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
San Giustino, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
tessa c
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“basic rather than rustic”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Agree with the previous 'it's a mixed bag' review. One or two nice rooms but overall impression is that it is neglected and uncared for. Overgrown area outside, lots of cobwebs, limited seating area. If you're looking to cook, the kitchen is tiny with an old stove and very limited storage and work space, even for six guests, let alone 9 - 11! Near some lovely hill towns but a car is absolutely necessary for any trip. Really needs a big overhaul.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: beds - basic but comfortable
Liked least: neglected and festooned with cobwebs outside; primitive, inadequate kitchen with dirty oven.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2016
We valued this feedback, and have since then addressed the comments with upgrades and maintenance. We are pleased that our recent visitors have again been very happy with the accommodation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
972travel...
Rehovot
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Quiet and Rustic.”
Reviewed September 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for holiday where Peace, Quiet and Rustic are your first three keywords then Molino Meocci should come high on your list. We, three generations, six adults and five youngsters, seven months to seventy plus years old chose to holiday here and we were not disappointed. This 18th century water mill, lovingly restored, is actually split into two apartments which are interconnecting. For the eleven of us we took the whole building.

There was quite a lot of information for guests but we came well prepared with the area carefully researched from the web so did not really need it. It could be updated but gave a very interesting insight into the restoration of an essentially derelict building.

The mill itself is situated a couple of kilometres outside the small town of San Giustino in the foothills of the Apennines on a road that goes nowhere for motor traffic but is an ideal starting point for hikers and bike riders. The river, easily accessible from the mill provides for an adventure playground for the youngsters, (supervision needed!). Ours would have been willing to spend every day there, but the adults had other plans. We hiked up the hill following the clearly marked hiking trail quickly finding ourselves in open farmland with harvest in full swing. Wherever we went we were greeted warmly by the local folk. The trail took us back down to San Giustino. Just right for our group with babes and toddlers through to eight years old. For keen hikers the possibilities are endless.

San Giustino, an unflustered and sleepy little town offered all we needed. A good supermarket and several restaurants happy to cater for a large group with kids.

Further afield many gems of hill villages wait to be visited.

However back to the Molino, situated in the Umbrian foothills of the Apennines, we found everything in good order. The kitchen is a little small but there are masses of pots, pans, crockery and cutlery. We asked the owners if there was a high chair. There was not but they immediately had one organized. Any concerns we had regarding traffic were unfounded since the few cars that passed did so very carefully. There are quite a few stairs inside the building but our young ones coped well and we had no accidents. Apart from a single residence across the road one is completely alone. We ate outside nearly all the time and should the fancy take you there is a large wood fired pizza oven and BBQ. The deck built over the old mill raceway leads naturally into the forest, again a great adventure playground for young kids and away from the road.

Umbria seems less on the tourist track than Tuscany but still with all the natural beauty and fantastic summer climate, warm clear days and cool nights. We left all feeling that this is a place to be revisited as many have done before us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Nothing really
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBMUk
UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This property is in a great position for seeing the many fantastic small hill towns and for getting to Arrezzo from where you can easily get trains to Florence and Rome. It's within walking distance of the nearest town San Giustino, which has a few bars, restaurants and a supermarket. The plumbing is good and there was plenty of hot water. The beds were ok and the bedrooms were a good size. We found booking straightforward and the owners were easy to hold of.
However, other things were less than satisfactory and the reason I'm sharing these with TripAdvisor is because I wish I'd known about them before booking.
For anyone who loves to cook with local ingredients, the kitchen is very small with just a tiny area to prepare food, so not the kitchen to do much in. We were totally put off using the oven as it needed a thorough a clean. In fact, the whole property needs a spring clean which would make it so much more welcoming. Inside, there were many spiders' webs, ants and a collection of dead moths in the uplighters. The washing machine is on the ground floor (we stayed in the upper level), which means a walk outside, around the mill, and down the lane to the door of the "laundry room". Once inside, there were swathes of spiders' webs across the walls and window and the floor was covered with a layer of stone dust (not good if you drop a clean, wet piece of laundry). Worst of all, there were many mouse droppings on the tiled bench surface running across the back of the room.
One of the bedrooms had bedside lighting with an electric fitting that didn't fit into the socket. It was clear we weren't the first to notice this, as there was a candle next to the bed - a potential fire risk.
Outside because the mill is in a deep valley, it meant that by 5.30/6pm there was no sun on the decking, so no evening sun to sit in. The "sunken garden" was very overgrown (you couldn't walk through it) and in general, there were many ants and mosquitos around.
Accessing the rock pools wasn't straightforward: an old local map in the mill showed one route down, but the path was overgrown, muddy and slippery and we had to turn back. We found another path further along the lane, but this was frequented by local dog walkers who not surprisingly let their dogs in and around the pools...
The local information folder in the mill, was very out of date - we ended up using the Sansepolcro tourist office which was a great source of information and very helpful, as were all the tourist information offices.
Just to note 1) there is no maid service between weeks; we washed our bed linen at the end of week one and 2) there's no dishwasher.
We knew it was an old property and therefore expected some rural charm, but this little mill needs a big clean, some new internal furnishings and external/garden maintenance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location as a base for exploring Umbria and Tuscany
Liked least: The laundry room
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility
Liked least: Ants! Not a big problem but ants all round the grounds did on occasions get in...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
bristrip
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A sanctuary close to so much”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you very much for the opportunity to live for a week in such a beautiful and atmospheric place. We enjoyed the suggested local walks and the girls really enjoyed the space of the stream.

In particular, the suggestions in the in-house guide of day visits to La Verna, Urbino and Montone were marvellous days - drives we won't forget for pure enjoyment. Assisi and Siena were also an easy reach in a day. This is the perfect base for a slightly less touristy visit to Tuscany/Umbria. One week was not enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the sense of peace, history and food
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATHERINE...
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A "must visit again" property and location”
Reviewed November 11, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The molino is a lovely place to stay.
A very welcoming house with everything you need.
Well equipped kitchen and comforting wood burning stoves for the colder months.
The house is in an ideal position to visit the many interesting, historic, picturesque towns and breathtaking scenery.
Our favourite local towns were Citta Di Castello and Montone.
We would love to visit the Molino again one day. The next time would be in the summer to take advantage of the garden, rock pools and sunbathing areas.
I would recommend this house to everyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well equipped the house was
Liked least: No wi-fi/internet access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie728
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go back in time to beautiful countryside, tranquility and a bounty of culture that you will find nowhere else.”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Cuckoos in the Spring, night jars in the evening, a nightingale between you and the village. This is the place to get away from it all and unwind in this solid converted mill, where you can step out and walk in any direction along quiet roads or across the countryside.
Or visit the beautiful hill towns, go on the Della Francesca trail or visit Assisi. You could even take a train to Rome or Florence for the day as we did.
Whether its the tranquility you want, or the culture, or to soak up all of these experiences away from the main tourist trails whilst enjoying the delicious food and wine that Italy has to offer, you will find plenty to do here. We have been four times ..........a car is a definite advantage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property away from the village near to the river.
Liked least: An hours drive to the main railway station
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing