We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“6 Stars in Malta”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Munqar

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Zurrieq, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Hugh19572...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“6 Stars in Malta”
Reviewed July 13, 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is quite an extraordinary property. Undoubtably Malta's finest self-catering holiday experience. The quality of this accommodation and its magnificent hill-top location are matched only be the professionalism and hospitality of its hosts. Access to an immaculately presented private pool was probably the highlight for us during summer, but the spacious, air-conditioned interior with plush and tasteful furnishings was also so welcoming after a hot day's sightseeing. The theme here is luxury and space, allowing you to focus on engaging in all the island has to offer and returning to a villa at the cutting edge of relaxation. This home can not be recommended too highly!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Villa”
Reviewed May 1, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful Villa, it was just lovely in a quiet location. The accommodation was furnished beautifully with everything you needed. The pool was a bit cool but did not stop us from going in. Just 10 mins from the airport and easy to find. There were a couple of little snags bit these did not spoil our stay. 3 good size bedrooms all with en-suits and walk in showers which was ideal for my mother who is 82. All in all fabulous.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
selbylodg...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful villa in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed April 4, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very luxurious villa set in beautiful grounds with many opportunities to relax. The view from the property is lovely. A lot of detail has been paid to the facilities with all the necessary things to be at home from home. It is very clean and looks even better in real life than the pictures.
It has 3 equally nice double bedrooms, a spacious open plan living & dining area.
The kitchen has good equipment, sufficient to self-cater.
Local shops have all that we needed to more than adequately provide for our needs. Delicious cheeses and fresh bread in the smallest of shops!
Malta itself was beautiful with so much to see & do. We will definitely need to return to see more as our 5 night stay was not enough!
We can happily recommend this property to anyone planning to visit Malta but make sure you hire a car to get around easily.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culture45...
1 review
“Top Villa”
Reviewed March 15, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Everything was great. the house was very neat. Contacting the owners was quick and easy. gladly again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanie P
1 review
“Fabulous home for homebase to see Malta!”
Reviewed January 10, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We loved our stay at Villa Munqar! Janice & Charmaine at the Baldacchino Group were a pleasure to work with during the whole rental process. The villa is in a private setting but easily accessible to all of Malta. 3 large ensuite bedrooms. Wide open home and very well taken care of. Lots of natural light and there is plenty of room on the deck to enjoy the outside. Given we where there in December, the villa was a little cooler at night than expected given it's a stone building and there were constant winds coming off the ocean. Only a 6 minute drive over to the Blue Grotto area where there is a beautiful overlook and some great restaurants, specifically Cassarini Restaurant. The food and staff were absolutely delightful at Cassarini's.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Repoets
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful Luxury”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed at Villa Munqar in early October 2017. Our party comprised 4 adults.

It's less than 20 minutes from the airport, at the end of a secluded lane with little through traffic. The villa and patios are not overlooked and provide fantastic views across the valley with Valetta on the far horizon. It's an ideal location both for relaxing and as a base for sightseeing. A short walk up the lane leads to breathtaking clifftop views of the Blue Grotto bay - a perfect spot for stunning sunset photographs.

The villa itself is very well equipped with high quality fixtures, fittings and furnishings. As previous reviews have mentioned the beds are a little too firm but that was our only gripe.

The unheated pool was spotlessly clean and the gardens are well maintained. Security standards are high with electric sliding gates across the driveway.

Janice and her team who manage villa bookings were very efficient and prompt to respond to questions and kept us updated before our stay. They offer the option to purchase a food pack in advance which was most welcome. They were also very helpful when we asked to check out late.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fearless6...
1 review
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The villa is beautiful. We were impressed with the cleanliness and quality of the appliances and furnishings. The pool was lovely, The barbeque and outside seating and eating areas were excellent. We had wonderful holiday.
We were troubled by mosquitos on the first evening but with sensible precautions it wasn't a problem.
We couldn't get the sauna or Jacuzzi to work, it didn't matter to us but may do to others.
The club/venue on one side next door was a bit noisy up to midnight on a few days and we had people asking to park across our drive for an evening event. Again not important to us as you could hardly hear any noise indoors with the windows closed. Thank heavens for the excellent air conditioning.
The small building site on the other side next door was dusty and noisy at times during the day but it didn't spoil our holiday.
The house was situated up a rough track on the edge of town and had wonderful views. We definitely needed our own car as most of the shops were a bit too far to walk to. Sadly we didn't find a bar within walking distance.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing