We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely little cottage, good location to explore...”
other travellers have booked this property
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Avonlea Cottage frontal aspect Tourist Board awards
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Avonlea Cottage frontal aspect
Tourist Board awards
Lounge / Diner with blazing log fire, TV/DVD/freeview and Broadband below open plan stairs
Welcome bubbly on arrival
Private and secluded sunny rear garden with view to open countryside with two seating areas.
Garden view with open countryside views and second patio for BBQ and al fresco dining an
Large double bedroom with cast iron bed with co-ordinated decorations and linen.
Bedroom with comfortable bed and distressed pine furniture
Bedroom with wicker chair, ladies dressing table / stool and hairdrier
Large bathroom with 3 piece white suite with power shower over and countryside view from window
Relaxing chair with view through bathroom window  to countryside
Fully appointed kitchen with with fine quality porcelain crockery, cutlery and crystal glasses
Fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/ and ample utensils any chef.
View over the garden and patio to open countryside
Garden view from kitchen window, is a delight when birds and animals come to visit.
Garden view towards Cottage with 2nd patio. An ideal location for a BBQ and outdoor dining.
Visitors to bottom of Avonlea's garden usually cows or horses
Monyash village showing Avonlea's location with The Bulls Head pub on the village green
The Bulls Head pub and Smithy cafe on the village green in Monyash 150 meters from Avonlea
Hartington - Lambs at play on walk to Beresford and Wolfscote Dale
Walk high above Ladybower Reservoir with picture postcard Peak District scenery.
Chatsworth House with acres of Grounds
Original Bakewell Pudding shop in Bakewell town centre
Bakewell bridge and river Wye. Bakewell is probably the most popular venue in the Peak District.
View from Monsal Head looking down onto Monsal Dale. Beautiful scenery and a must to visit.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Monyash, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HKRDave
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Homely little cottage, good location to explore the Peak District”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Our stay was cut short by a couple of days but that didnt stop us enjoying our trip to the Peak District. This cottage is a well presented little place with everything you need to make you feel at home. The cosy living room with the log fire (finally!) burning is a great place to wind down after a long walk in nearby Dovedale.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log Fire
Liked least: Noisy Boiler waking us at 6.30am!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2012
It gives us great satisfaction when guests have really enjoyed their holiday in our cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Reviewed October 14, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Nov 2012
Thankyou for your comments about our cottage. We take pride in presenting it to our guests in the best possible way, for their comfort and enjoyment.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sandfly21
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect one bedroom cottage in lovely setting”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed at this lovely cottage for three nights in September. It is difficult to find one bedroomed properties and we usually end up paying for two which always seems such a waste. The bedroom and bathroom are generously sized for such a small cottage and the lounge is very cosy. The kitchen is extremely well equipped and leads on to a charming garden overlooking fields. We were there primarily for the walking and were not disappointed. Walks straight from the front door are delightful. We also walked part of the Monsal Trail from Bakewell and can recommend the coffee at Hassop Station. This was our first time in the Peak District and we will certainly be back. So much to see and do in this area. Chris, the owner, was very friendly on the phone. We highly recommend this cottage and will be back for a longer stay next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and how cosy the cottage was
Liked least: Water pressure of shower but in such an old property there are bound to be minor drawbacks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2012
What lovely comments from a couple who really enjoyed their first visit to the peak district and appreciated our one bedroomed cottage, with its central location in the peaks. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VEH1982
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Cottage - perfect for a relaxing weekend”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

My boyfriend and I have recently stayed at Avonlea and were delighted with the cottage and everything provided for us from the bottle of wine awaiting our arrival to the DVDs to watch on the chilly evenings. The cottage was well equipped and comfortable, it is a shame the weather wasnt the best for enjoying the garden but in sunnier months I could imagine sitting eating breakfast outside.

Monyash is a lovely village and it was great to be able to park right outside, very quiet so no noise issues. There is no shop however so be prepared with food or to head into nearby Bakewell where we would recommend The Peacock pub for a Sunday roast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness
Liked least: Shower a little tempermental
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2012
Thankyou for the compliment that everything was provided for you to enjoy your stay, with doorstep parking and a very quiet location. Please come again in summer to sample al-fresco dining in the garden.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewed October 4, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Nov 2012
We are pleased you found Avonlea central for exploring the peak district and that it was cosy, welcoming and comfortable each day, on your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BarnsleyB...
barnsley
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“excegreat location cottage clean tidy great hospitallity and”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

we arrived at the cottage and a great start a bottle of bubbly waiting what a great touch.the cottage itself was very clean and tidy with a good size living area with a lovely log fire and kitchen with everything you need for your stay ,the upstairs has a great bathroom and the bedroom is a good size.the outside has a lovely enclosed area which is great for bbq .the local pub is only 100 yard away and serves a good selection of real ales and lager they also do great food all in all the cottage is in a great spot and is well kept and i would advise anyone looking to stop in this area to book avonlea as we will definately be booking again thanks again dave seddon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cottage and location
Liked least: no pint pot ha
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2012
Thankyou for writing a review of your stay with us. We are pleased you had a great time in our cottage and we look forward to your return visit in the future.
Regards Carole & Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
25KarenB
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A beautiful cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed July 17, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stay at this cottage every year as we take part in the White Peak Walk (26 miles) which starts at the doorstep. The cottage is a lovely cosy place to return to - everything you could need has been provided - dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer etc. It is always spotlessly clean and the decoration is perfect - nothing too fussy but warm and welcoming. It's the perfect size for two and would make the perfect honeymoon cottage.
The only downside to the cottage is the low water pressure which makes the shower a little disappointing although, on the upside, there is no shortage of hot water.
A note of caution for anyone with mobility problems - there are steps up or down into each room so if you struggle with your knees or hips this might be an issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness of the cottage
Liked least: Low water pressure for shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2012
Our most frequent returning guests - we are pleased to welcome for a 5th consecutive year. Avonlea was built in 1769 and was recently completely restored by the owners Chris and Carole to achieve a 4 star Visit England rating. Unfortunately, due to its configuration, we could not make it suitable for everyone to use. We are also taking steps to improve the shower water pressure.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing