We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
The Villa(Kakamas)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
78
54
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
54
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern capeguest housefantastic stayblack swansexcellent servicerooms are spaciousswimming poolscrambled eggsroad tripnational parkwow wowpiebottle of watercomfortable staylovely placeguesthousestop
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 143 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2017

Vergelegen is a classy guest house with a very good restaurant. Perfect place to stay over on business and you can invite colleagues over for lunch or dinner. Rooms are spacious and modern. Staff are well trained and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2017

We stayed at Vergelegen for two nights. The units are in a row, very neat and clean rooms. There is a nice bar room where you can sit and have a drink and just relax, as well as outside tables where you can sit and relax at the swimming pool. If you looking for accommodation in Kakamas, I would say this is the place to stay. Dinner was divine, as well as the breakfast. We would definitely stay in Vergelegen again.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Irene Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2017

I suspect that Vergelegen is one of those places that surprises just about all of its guests as soon as they enter the guest house and experience what they have to offer. After long drives along the hot and dusty Karoo roads and often barren landscapes, it is a wonder to take in all that Vergelegen has to offer. From the beautiful pond with ducks and black swans, to the manicured lawns, meticulously sculpted trees, and the welcoming little pool, Vergelegen feels like an oasis in the middle of a desert. The warmth and friendliness of all the staff makes it even more attractive.

Vergelegen stands out from other accommodation facilities in the area as it offers a full hotel-like service. Parking is plentiful and secure. The rooms are clean, comfortable and beautifully furnished. The air-conditioning and tea and coffee facilities in the room was very welcome. The bathroom was pretty basic with a shower, sink and toilet, but it was clean and had everything we needed. The bar and restaurant have plenty of food and drink options to select from, and they serve the most delicious grilled chicken skewers I have ever eaten in my life! Meals are friendly, relaxed, and unrushed, including the breakfast service. The poolside area has a few loungers for sunbathers as well as a couch, and tables and chairs where guests can just relax.

Most guests come to Vergelegen as a place to overnight and break their journey, and probably regret not being able to stay longer. If you are able to, I would recommend you extend your stay and re-charge your batteries in a peaceful and beautiful place before continuing your journey.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MeerkatV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vergelegen, Owner at Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review.

It is difficult to find words to really say thank you for the compliments.

THANK YOU SO MUCH !!

We shall use this as encouragement for the future and will definitely strive to keep up the standard.

Looking forward to seeing you when visiting the Northern Cape again.

Vergelegen greetings
Niel and Anelma, and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2017

Very friendly and intent staff. Unexpected good dinner. Big and safe parking area. Nice bar with a good selection of Whisky, Brandy etc.

Nice breakfast buffet and a big coffee machine with a lot of choice.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2017

We were on our way camping when my boyfriend got sick and we decided to stop at the guesthouse. The people (especially Tahlitha) was so helpful, friendly and just made us feel at home. We end up staying 3 days and it was like staying in a oasis with the weather. We even got a Christmas Card from the staff for Christmas day. I will recommend this haven to anyone going to Kakamas. The food is great and we received excellent service. Thank you to all. Alida & Giovanni

Room Tip: All the rooms was excellent. Air conditioners were excellent. Room service very good and you get free water in your rooms every day.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naudealida9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews