We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pavilion House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
White Hart Hotel(Newmarket)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cadogan Hotel(Newmarket)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Black Horse Inn(Swaffham Bulbeck)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
71
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnewmarket racesgreat weekendlovely hostsrace courseother guestsbreakfast was excellentperfect stayb and btea and coffeewould definitely stay here againlovely roombed and breakfastcomfortwedding
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 75 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2017

We stayed here for the weekend as we were attending the races at Newmarket. We gotbtherecearly but we were able to park up, put our things in out room and then spent the rest of the day in Newmarket. David and Gretta who run this B&B are a lovely couple and they really look after you. The room were very clean and spacious, tea and coffee was in the room, the rooms were cleaned each day, you could choose what breakfast you wanted each day by filling out the menunyoubare given each day. Two of the rooms have their own private bathrooms which are located next to the room you are in. You can also order meals if you require them. The B&B is in a very quiet location, it is near the local train station but the trains only run about once every two hours. You can easily order a cab to take you to the race course or the local high street in Newmarket. This is an ideal place to stay if you want peace and quiet but also want to see the local town or the race course, if you do travel fro. Here to the race course or town it will cost you about £12 each away.

Room Tip: The back room has great views
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmb53, Owner at Pavilion House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Thank you so much Joanie for taking the time to write this kind and very detailed review. I hope it will be helpful to any future guests.
We very much enjoyed having you both to stay and hope you had a speedy journey home.
Best wishes, Gretta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2017

Visited for the weekend . Lovely warm welcome from 2 superb hosts . Excellent room which had all the required amenieties . Breakfast was lovely & filling , i had the omellete each morning . Superb location for Newmarket races .
Can not speak highly enough of a lovely place .

Room Tip: En suite room was lovely
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wakeyphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmb53, Owner at Pavilion House, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Dear Phil,
I have just read your lovely review. Thank you so much for taking the time and the lovely things you say about Pavilion house. We really DO appreciate it. It was a pleasure to look after you and Vanessa. Best wishes, Gretta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2017

Having booked this very last minute due to my cats emergency it was nice to have a very comfortable quiet clean place to stay while he was in the AHT. Lovely room with all the amenities. Bathroom not ensuite but didn't meet or hear any other guests so no problem.
Breakfast was excellent . Lovely comfortable bed with superb duvet.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VR1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmb53, Owner at Pavilion House, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are most grateful when guests take the time to do this and especially if they have enjoyed their stay. We really do try very hard to "get it right".
I do hope that your cats are fully recovered. Best wishes, Gretta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2017

This was a great B&B doing both Bed and Breakfast very well!

The hosts, David & Gretta, made me feel very welcome and were exceedingly accommodating to my requests. Both by email before my stay and then in person during. Not to mention their exceedingly friendly dogs!

The house and room were comfy and clean. I had one of the most peaceful nights sleep I've had in ages! So quiet and relaxing.

Breakfast - fresh fruit & omelette (using eggs from their own chickens) - was delicious and super fresh. They offered cereal, fry-up, granola, toast and more if I had wanted them.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HDD88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2017

Warm welcoming hosts with a genuine desire to make your stay one of comfort and ease. Beautiful home & garden good for the soul! Spotless clean, luxurious and 1st class breakfast. A kind & happy home.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews