We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
52
47
32
8
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
47
32
8
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indio viejo great atmosphere vibe hostel scooter pier supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 158 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2018

We love this place! Stayed here for about 5 days, then moved to a house we've rented, but we keep coming back here for the good vibe. It's run by great people, it's clean, food is great and reasonably priced. We definitely recommend Hospedaje Central, also known as Indio Viejo.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraRoozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma C, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hospedaje Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Dear Barbara,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your nice recommendation!

We hope you come back soon!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

Although the hostel looked very comfortable with a great atmosphere, we never had the chance to stay there. We kept coming back for the food and drinks though! In a couple of days, we enjoyed a breakfast, lunch and a dinner there. Great food, good quantities for a fair price. Can recommend to anyone looking for a nice relaxing place to eat.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Swillieblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Indio V, Propietario at Hospedaje Central, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Thank you so much for visiting us. Our doors are always open!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2017

This place isn't anything spectacular, however if you stay in Moyogalpa by the pier there isn't much better out there!
The rooms were hot, small and cramped. The pillows were super flat and there was only one fan to 4 bunk beds.
However my friend and I were fine with it! The shower/ bathrooms were basic but kept really clean.
The restaurant served good, decently priced food (although there is a MUCH cheaper place down the street from the hostel!).
The girl running the place was super friendly and attentive. She helped us book our scooter ($15 for the day), gave good directions, and booked our volcano hike ($20 plus $7 for food and water the whole day).
Everything worked on a tab system which was fine. In three days with all the above expenses plus food and beer there, we only spent about $70 US each total- not bad.
We made some amazing friends there who we traveled with to San Juan which made that trip much easier too!
Tip: Bottom bunk if you want to feel any sort of air flow!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleymarie416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Indio V, Propietario at Hospedaje Central, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017

Thank you for your good feedback, we like to receive your comments and work hard to improve our hostel. Overall during the last year all of our rooms have been refurbished, more showers and bathrooms added to the dorms, the whole restaurant renovated and we keep on tuning up our spot and the services we offer. Thank you very much for staying with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile

I had a great experience here - the staff was nice the vibe was nice, it was relatively clean with lots of hammocks and a good common area. The food is super cheap and tasty with giant portions. If you are a backpacker, this is a good home base for exploring the island. They offer tours and rentals as well. Has a party vibe as it's next to a disco!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2017 via mobile

This hostel is really worth its price. For about 5 dollars you'll be in a dorm room (14 people). There are several showers and toilets outside the dorm. They've got 2 dorms. One is nearer to the Hostelrestaurant (might be a little bit noisy in the evening) and the other one is behind the first one but doesn't have good Wi-Fi connection. So you'll have to set your priorities. They offer many tours like horseback riding, volcano hiking, rentals of bikes and motorcycles. Also the staff provides you with many informations about what to do and see on the Island.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jaqueline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Indio V, Manager at Hospedaje Central, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2017

Jaqueline, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback!
Enjoy your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews