We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Night Highly Recommended”

Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Arorangi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Oceans Restaurant & Bar is located on the waterfront with indoor and beach dining under a billion stars and sand between your toes. Sunsets guaranteed daily. Daily triple happy hours three times per day where you 'buy one, get one free'. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, including hugely popular theme nights including Island Feast & Cultural Show on Mon + Thu, Steak & BBQ Ribs & Salad Buffet on Fri. Beautiful setting. Gracious Polynesian service.
Kaitaia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Island Night Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

6 of us went to the Island night. On arriving we were greated by the sultry sounds of island Groove's music which set the mood for a lovely nights entertainment. The food was ok smorgasboard style a large selection of different foods. Would recommend for the entertainment alone but arrive early as Island Groove will have you singing along. Great Fun.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loonies_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your Thursday Island Night Experience at Oceans Restaurant & Bar.

We agree with you that Tani & Rose (Island Groove) are truly fantastic singers & entertainers and we are pleased to feature them at Oceans Restaurant on Thursdays, Saturdays and Sundays.

We are equally pleased to read that you loved the Akirata Cultural Dance Troupe who present a fascinating cultural performance featuring vibrant costumes, pulsating drums, angelic singing and energetic dancing presented by Rarotonga's top female and male dancers.

Our island buffet features over 30 traditional dishes ranging from ika mata (marinated tuna), rukau (taro leaf spinach), poke (banana / pawpaw pudding), eke ta'akari (curry octopus), mitiore (fermented seafood in grated coconut) through to roast pork & a full selection of gorgeous desserts. Cook Islands traditional cuisine is natural & cooked in its own juices (which can be described as bland) and may not bode well with visitors.

We hope you were able to participate in our daily happy hour program (4-6pm & 9.30-10.30pm) where you buy one drink and get one free absolutely free. Its always about value for money at our restaurants.

All in all, thank you for sharing your cultural experience with us and we hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Ms Mii Pauka
Manager - Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    91
    23
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“oh so much to eat”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

loved the lot, breakfast, lunch and dinner and the coctails on the beach

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bev H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent dining experiences at Oceans Restaurant & Bar.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed all your meals with us, including your daily American breakfast, the cafe style lunch, and our full service dinners (and theme nights) and our famous daily triple happy hour (12pm, 4pm and 9.30pm) where you buy one get one absolutely free!

We hope to see you dining with us again, soon.

Kia Manuia,

Ms Mii Pauka
Manager - Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good meals for island standards”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Tasty meals with some attention to detail. Would not recommend the steak night - overprized for what is offered. 'A la carte' offers variety and is executed fine - but not 'above average' compared to New Zealand standard. The setting is beautiful since you are virtually 'right there' at the beach front. The meals are reasonably priced for what is on offer.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Maya23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 9 November 2011
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent dining experience at Oceans Restaurant & Bar.

We are pleased to read that you absolutely loved the setting & ambience of our beach-lagoon front restaurant, which commands the best sunset views, daily.

We are equally pleased to read that you rated Oceans meals as tasty with some attention to detail. Your comment on our T-Bone Steak & Ribs & Salad Bar is accepted - we are upgrading our salad options, refining our steak marinades & cooking styles; and will soon introduce a dessert station. Yay!

We also agree with you that the Oceans menu is reasonably priced for the good quality food on offer, gracious island style service from our team of Cook Islanders, and the stunning beach-lagoon front location with firey sunsets, daily.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Kia Manuia,

Ms Mii Pauka
Manager - Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“oceans is pretty good all round”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

great for breakfast, which expanded during our visit. loved the bircher muesli.
the dinner options varied and were each different in their own right. i definitely
would not do the ribs and steak night again. the t bone steak was awful to say the least.
roast night was good if a little pricey. island night was well organised and great fun.
a la carte was also very nice, great choices and on reflection, probably the best way to go overall.
happy hour time is great, but the addition of ice to the top of most of the glasses, is not what we are after here. it's a way of covering the cost of buy one get one free of course.
the staff are awesome, especially the older more experienced members of the staff.
but in saying that, on friday night, ribs night, 7th, there were three young newbies waiting staff, who seemed to wander around in a daze, with no guidance from a senior staff member who was concentrating on paperwork at the bar.
theres always room for improvement, but its still a fabulous place with fabulous people.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dingdongNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your dining experiences at Oceans Restaurant & Bar.

We are pleased to read that you loved our full breakfasts - especially the bircher muesli with natural yoghurt & fruit compote.

Your comments about the T-Bone Steak are a concern, I will take this up with our Executive Chef to see what magic he can do to improve this product.

Our Sunday Roast Buffet has been withdrawn from service and will be replaced by our a la carte menu, which is fabulous!

We are pleased to read that you loved our Island Feast & Cultural Shows on Mondays and Thursdays - they definitely are well organised and timed to perfection.

Our Happy Hour program is designed to deliver value for money three times a day: 12noon, 4pm and 9.30pm where you buy 1, get 1 free. The 'ice factor' varies with guests. If we dont put in enough ice, guests complain of a warm drink. If we put in too much, guests complain of a watered down drink. Perhaps we need to get the drinks to you sooner so you can have a cold drink and still taste the alcohol? I will work on our beverage production timing.

We are recruiting new staff members to cover our busy schedules and we do our best to provide on-the-job training. Our senior / older team members ooze confidence and have a penchant for a good chat with guests. I am sure our newby staff members will do extremely well once they achieve confidence in service delivery; as well as familiarity with their operating environment.

All in all, thank you for your constructive feedback, we will definitely do something about the small but important issues to ensure our Oceans product is well aligned to the general resort standards.

We hope to see you dining with us again, soon.

Kia Manuia,

Ms Mii Pauka
Manager - Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Roast night disappointing”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We enjoyed our breakfasts, lunches and the yummy cocktails but our Sunday roast night experience was a little disappointing. The staff seemed disorganised and didn't explain what the process was for the buffet. The food was fine but we had finished our meal before any drinks arrived. The buffet commenced at 7pm which was when we arrived. We asked the staff about desserts and were told we had to wait for everyone to finish their roast dinner before desserts would be available. They were put out at 8.30pm which was a long time to wait. This buffet experience then put us off trying out the cultural buffet nights.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, Manager at Oceans Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Kia Orana,

Thank you for your constructive feedback on our Sunday Roast Buffet.

Firstly, we are pleased to read that your enjoyed the meal!

Secondly, we apologise for the slow drink service. We are horrified to read that you received your drinks after you finished your meal.

Thirdly, we apologise for setting up the dessert station at 8:30pm, one hour thirty minutes after the commencement of the main buffet.

I am pleased to advise that we are correcting the problems by implementing the following actions:

a. We currently have a new recruitment drive for more staff at Oceans Restaurant, to support our peak periods, especially happy hour 3pm to 6:30pm. We are currently training up a new Assistant Manager to oversee restaurant operations during the weekends.

b. We will apply greater flexibility to set up our dessert stations from 8pm, instead of 8:30pm.

c. We will be cancelling our Sunday Roast Buffet (effective Sunday 9th October 2011) and will replace this with our popular a la carte menu.

What a pity you decided not to try the Island Feast & Cultural Night on Mondays and Thursdays, they really are spectacular, encompassing the 'spirit of sharing with family & friends woven with island music & spectacular cultural dancing'.

We hope you give us another try, soon.

Kia Manuia,

Ms Mii Pauka
Manager - Oceans Restaurant & Bar
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oceans Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Arorangi, Rarotonga
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Oceans Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing