We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,763)
Filter reviews
1,763 results
Traveller rating
484
728
339
128
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
728
339
128
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspaghetti housekids clubisland nightgarden roomtennis courtsfish feedingbeach frontactivities hutcrabbeachfront deluxe roomon sitespa bathedge watergames roomdaily activitiestropical breakfastcocktail hour
Filter
Updating list...
1,363 - 1,368 of 1,763 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We have just returned home after 5 nights at the Edgewater Resort having upgraded to a lagoon view room which had us looking out on to the swimming pool and seating areas and sea.I suppose some might find it noisy as there was always plenty of activity going on outside but it didn't bother us.For the first couple of days we coped with poor water pressure in the shower before talking to the office and they fixed it straight away-just wished we mentioned it sooner.
We enjoyed the complimentary breakfasts and the meals to be of reasonable value. The staff were always friendly,the snorkeling amazing and the complimentary use of snorkeling gear and swimming towels appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianMjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Director of Sales at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2011

Kia Orana BrianMjul,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the authentic island experience we are known for. The Lagoon View room you stayed in is right in the hub of activity, and as you mentioned this was great. Many guests enjoy being a part of everything and get many hours of enjoyment from this. We are also proud to be able to offer several other room categories that suit everyone's needs.
In regards to your water pressure, we are pleased that this was rectified immediately once it was reported.
The complimentary tropical breakfasts you mention are extremely well received and popular and it is a pleasure having this as part our guest's stay.
We have passed on your comments to our staff on their friendliness and again, we thank you for taking the time to post your review. We do hope you return to visit us again in the future.
Until then, Meitaki Maata e Kia Manuia
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2011

A large family group of us stayed at the Edgewater Resort for a week. Most of us had garden superior rooms, which were a bit shabby in places but met our needs. One family in our group had a 3 bedroom villa and that was our base for cooking meals, washing clothes and general hanging out. We boiled all our drinking water. I recommend taking over a lot of your own food as food isn't cheap and meals and drinks at the resort are expensive. A tropical breakfast was included with our accomodation package with lots of tasty options.

The resort environment was great especially with young children. The staff are friendly and helpful. We spent a lot of time snorkeling and swimming in the pool (can borrow gear from the activities hut plus towels). The resort offers various activities throughout each day like drumming or ukelele lessons, walks, fish feeding etc. We didn't use the Coconut Kids but had heard it was well run and children enjoy it.
We went on Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruise and thoroughly enjoyed the day (they have a bus that will pick you up and drop you back). We experienced paddle boards, kayaks, scooters and a car hirage during our stay (not all through the Edgewater). Some members of our group used the spa facilities and liked it. The resort offers themed buffet dinners. The Spaghetti House (one of the resorts two restaurants) served us delicious meals on our last night. The Saturday markets are worth a visit.
The resort is in a handy location. Not far from the town centre and airport.
Rarotonga is a beautiful place. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable time and would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0uie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdgewaterR, Director of Sales at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Kia Orana L0uie15,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are pleased you had a wonderful Raro Retreat and enjoyed all the activities we have on offer, both at the Resort and outside the resort, and that your family were very happy and comfortable with the resort's friendly environment. We have passed your comments on to all our staff, who appreciate all feedback. We do hope you get the opportunity to return to the Cook Islands and The Edgewater Resort & Spa in the future. Until then,
Meitaki Maata e Kia Manuia,
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed at the Edgewater for 5 nights for a wedding. We stayed in a garden view room which was in dire need of some TLC and a good scrub (scum marks up the wall tiles in bathroom and over floor). It smelt awful outside as the sewage area must have been nearby. The Restaurant was not that great, many of the guests staying for the wedding got sick including myself and my partner, even though we only drunk bottled water. After asking the bar staff if their ice was treated water they told us it was filtered but not treated. The next day we read in the paper how there were parasites in the water which were worse than ever. We counted over 12 people who were staying for the wedding got sick! Not a great way to spend your holiday! While these were the downpoints, the reception staff were happy and quick with answers, and the wedding was great. We wont be returning to Edgewater however. It is not value for money!

Room Tip: Choose a Beachfront room
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leg87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdgewaterR, Director of Sales at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Kia Orana leg87,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are pleased that overall you had a great time and enjoyed our hospitality and service during your stay and that the wedding was great for you all. The room you stayed in is one of our lead-in rooms and are the older rooms in the resort, however we do take pride in keeping these clean and we have taken your comments to our Housekeeping Manager to follow up. In regards to the smell, we do apologise for this, we had had some blockage issues, which have now been rectified.
We are concerned regarding your comment on the water and wedding guests becoming ill. It is a broad assumption to make when there is no factual evidence. The ice at the bar is definitely treated and we apologise for incorrect information given to you from the bar staff. All of the water used in the kitchen and restaurant in the resort is treated, and this includes the water that is used for the ice as it all comes from the same source. The newspaper article you read regarding parasites may have heightened your fears when some of the guests became ill, however, this could have been for many different reasons, and should not have been the water at all.
Regarding your comment on price and quality, we have a number of room categories on the property that enable guests to match their budget with the style of accommodation they choose. We have rooms ranging from our lead-in Garden Rooms (at NZD 225 per room per night) up to Beachfront Deluxe suites (NZD$345 per room per night) to 3 bedroom villas which cater for 6 people (NZD $545 per villa per night). These rates include complimentary daily tropical breakfast.
At certain times of the year we have 1 free night and 2 free night promotions. This can bring the price point down per person to as low as $50 per person per night for people staying in a villa or around $70 per person per night in a room/suite.
The feedback we have from many guests and travel industry is that we represent very good value for money.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we do hope you get the opportunity to return to the Cook Islands once again.
Kia Manuia
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My partner and I stayed at The Edgewater Resort & Spa in the first week of November 2010 (this review is 1year late as I have only just joined tripadvisor) for ten nights, this was our first time in Rarotonga.
We arrived in Rarotonga after a late flight and were greeted by the shuttle bus which was taking us to the Resort, we were given fresh bottled water (much needed as you get off the plane and the humidity hits you in the face!) and leis around our necks. The bus dropped us off at the Resort and we checked in and were shown to our room. The grounds were lovely at night, lit up with lights all through the garden.. I couldn't wait to see what we had instore once the daylight hit!
We stayed in a beachview room, It is worth the extra cost per night to stay in a room with a beachview!! Makes your holiday so much more enjoyable, we are very happy that we upgraded. We had our own private balcony overlooking the water.. check out my photos to see some of the stunning sunsets we enjoyed while having a drink on the balcony :)
The room was basic, two beds, tv (not a plasma or lcd.. remember u r staying in the tropics.. not there to watch tv!), kitchen area, bathroom with large sink area and nice shower. The view was amazing so we were not bothered by the outdated styled room, it kept with the rarotongan theme!
Our package included breakfast which was a buffet.. there was loads to eat, pastries and muffins, cereals, toast, fresh fruit, coconuts, yoghurt, many different fresh juices and coffees... we never went hungry! It was lovely to eat in the outdoor area listening to the waves.. pure bliss!
Edgewater puts on a happy hour between 4 and 5pm (from memory) which we loved! 2 for 1 drinks! Our favourite was a creamy chocolate sensation, my memory fails me of the name.. perhaps a BFK?? Sitting on the loungers at the waters edge waiters deliverd our drinks.. we were sold.. Rarotonga really is heaven :)
We did not go in the pool as the ocean was a jump away and snorkelling is so much more fun than lounging in a pool! The Resort has free use of snorkelling gear, I recommend to everyone to jump in the water and experience it, it was my first time and boy did I love it!!! The fish were amazing, so many different colours and types.. an underwater camera is a must!
The resort puts on an island night, although I was told to check out Te Vara Nui: Cultural Village.. which I am SO glad I did.. for the same price as the Edgewater you get a 5x experience.. Not putting down the Edgewater, but Te Vara Nui was one of the highlights of my trip!! Please take my word for it and book a ticket :)
The resort has daily activies, great for kids, crab racing is a must.. loads of fun!!
I thoroughly enjoyed myself at the Edgewater.. and can't wait to go back :D

Room Tip: A beachfront or beach view room is a MUST
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kiwi_in_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdgewaterR, Director of Sales at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

Kia Orana Kiwi_in_AUS,
Thank you for posting your review on your stay with us at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the wonderful memories are still etched in your mind after a year!! Our resort has continued to get better and better and we pleased to let you know that all of our rooms have LCD TV's now (not that there is much time to sit in your room to watch TV!!), and our daily Tropical Hour from 5-6pm still has popular and mouthwatering cocktails! The Tropical Breakfast is complimentary to every guest now and enjoyed immensely - especially during whale season when you get to sit outside overlooking the lagoon and watch whales frolick just beyond the reef! One of the best breakfast views in the world!! Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review and we do hope you return to the Cook Islands and The Edgewater Resort & Spa in the near future!!
Meitaki Maata e Kia Manuia
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at the Edgewater for 14 days in September for our Wedding and Honeymoon.
It was everything we hoped for and more. We were upgraded to a very spacious
VIP suite on the beachfront and had a perfect view of the lagoon, of which we snorkelled alot.
We also saw whales nearly every evening while sitting in the brassierie which was such a treat.
The staff were always friendly, especially to our 2 year old daughter, and the food was always good.
We particularly liked the pizzas from the Spaghetti house and the wide range of foods available for the buffet breakfast.
Our wedding was so amazing, thanx to our awesome wedding planner, with no major hiccups. The day went smoothly and all of our guests(who also stayed at the resort) had a great night. The ceremony was beautifully set up, the string band played beautifully, our photographer was 5 star. I have to mention the amazing staff at the salon and spa, especially Sanil who calmed my pre wedding nerves with his great ideas and confident abilities with my hair and make up. The reception was set up exactly how we wanted and the buffet dinner so yummy!
Overall, our whole stay at the resort was like a dream for us. We will definately be staying there again.
Rach, Marsh & Maia Wheoki AUS

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachMarshnMaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdgewaterR, Director of Sales at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2011

Kia Orana RachMarshnMaia,
Thank you for posting your review on your stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We were delighted to host you and all your family and friends and make your wedding day a wonderful and memorable experience. It is always a pleasure to make fantastic memories! We have passed on all your comments to all of our staff who appreciate and love to receive great feedback from our guests. Once again, thank you for posting your comments and we wish you all well for the future and look forward to welcoming you all back again one day!
Meitaki Maata e Kia Manuia
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews