We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“My Second Home when in Rarotonga!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Bay of Islands, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“My Second Home when in Rarotonga!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I have stayed here four times now over the past 10 years and every time it has always been great. I love the location, that the Resort has everything you need, bike hire, pool, snorkeling and much more. The housekeeping staff are great. Price is very good too

Room Tip: Lagoon View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    610
    261
    91
    69
See reviews for
473
562
39
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Really happy with our stay at Edgewater. We had originally booked 2 separate rooms for our group of five (because it was cheaper) but one room had a minor problem so they upgraded us to a villa where we could all stay. We didnt expect that at all so we were ecstatic. The staff helped us move our luggage and made us feel very welcome. The bar and pool area was also great fun with lovely staff. The beach at edgewater is great to swim at. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maidmarion0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We've been to both Fiji & have friends who travelled to Vanuatu & the cook islands offer so much more.... Expensive compared to an Asian country but ... It's not an Asian country... So you cannot compare it.... Ocean is beautiful, warm & gorgeous.. The beach is unbelievable...you hire a scooter & get your license for NZ$20... & that's your transport... You can only travel at approx 30 km so everything s relaxed....the accommodations adequate. Clean & nicely presented... Loads of Fijians work at the Edgewater & that's a good thing... Everyone's so friendly & helpful... Food is not cheap anywherev( except markets)..but it's worth the price... All the restaurants we ate at gave us lovely meals... There was a fantastic Italian restaurant at the entrance to the resort & we ate there 3 times... The food was fantastic...go to the night markets... Had a sensational goat curry there... Also cool Saturday markets... Cook islanders love their food & there's certainly plenty of that.... Find dockside burgers in the town & get their garlic fries!!!!.. Went back for them a few times too... Loads of black opals to buy ... 2 micro breweries ... Heaps of water activities.. Snorkeling. Paddle boarding. Kayaking.. Fish feeding...muri beach is probably the nicest beach which is almost 10 min scooter ride..although the whole island has unbelievable beaches... We went for an outrigging regatta in November & all the extra excitement on the island gave it a great vibe.... don't go expecting a cheap holiday although we did see possible cheaper accommodation for our next trip...Edgewater was a lovely resort... Only let down was that for such a big resort it only had 1 smallish pool... But your on the waters edge so who needs a pool anyway...resort had fabulous tennis courts Internet cafe & tour bookings so everything is taken care of... There's even a bus that goes around the island... But everything about cook islands is worth the experience... The people ..the food ...the beaches ...the weather...= awesome holiday

Room Tip: If your staying with friends ... Try a book a villa... You have your own private backyard.. Your own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamojoplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I sent my parents and my Aunty and Uncle to stay at the resort for 5 nights. Prior to this I checked out the resort to check the standards of the rooms they offered and was impressed at the different levels of accomodation they offered from basic to luxury, this would allow a large group with different needs all to stay in the same place. My parents had slight problems when checking in, the resort went out of there way to fix these and continued providing a very high level of service throughout there stay. They could not praise the resort enough on how much of an effort they went to to ensure they enjoyed their stay. My parents are all ready planning a second trip to Rarotonga, wanting to stay at the edgewater.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Although the rooms are quite basic - but very comfortable the service at this property was second to none! Our TV stopped working during our stay and we were upgraded without any hassles. I have also stayed at the Rarotongan Resort and have to say I preferred my time here due to the friendly and laid back staff - well done and keep up the great work!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Our daughter was less than impressed that we had taken a holiday while she was at University and to apease her said we would take her when we went back. Well that was sooner than we thought and the three of us took a week at edgewater halfway through December. Beachside villa once again, and yes still comfortable even with 3 adults.

Once again charmed by the laid back friendly people that work in the resort. I thought the restaurants were better this time around, and the centrpiece of this resort, the lagoon had even more fish. You didn't even need a mask to see the variety of tropical fish swimming in water mostly shallow enough to walk in.

We tried a couple of different tours this time. The Te Vara Nui Cutural Village Island Night was really good. Entertaining show and fantastic Island buffet. Having enjoyed Captain Tama's Lagoon Cruise last time we gave Koka Lagoon Cruises a go this time. Chalk and Cheese, if you want to do a lagoon cruise Koka is it. Better commentary, great crew, one of whom is the world coconut climbing champ, unbelievable.

Our highlight of the week would have to be Aitutaki. We took Air Rarotonga's day trip, not cheap, but they packed so much into the day, with transfers, flights, bus tour and a truly outstanding lagoon cruise. Fanatastic snorkelling, Survivor and One Foot Islands, magic.

We will be back

Room Tip: Beachside Suite, right on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DandJWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

My partner and I stayed in the garden rooms for 7 nights it was comfortable, clean and simple. We were hardly in our room during the day anyways so we were only there to sleep. We found the staff were really nice reguardless of other peoples attitudes. The food was expensive but it also tasted really nice the cocktails were also expensive but happy hour was at 5pm everyday and it was $10 for a cocktail until 6pm. It had everything on the site including the hiring of the cars or scooters, Laundry room, ATM and so on and the bus even comes through to the resort as well which i thought was really convenient for us especially when it was our first time there.
Overall we had a comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arorangi
11.3 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
6.9 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
4.7 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
6.8 km away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
11.2 km away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Edgewater Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgewater Resort & Spa

Property: The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Address: Main Road, Arorangi 121, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Arorangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Arorangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Edgewater Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for your family holiday, dream wedding or indulgent Cook Islands honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Edgewater Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
The Edgewater Resort And Spa
Edgewater Hotel Arorangi
Edgewater Resort Arorangi
Edgewater Rarotonga
Edgewater Resort Rarotonga
The Edgewater Resort & Spa Cook Islands/Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing