We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,778)
Filter reviews
1,778 results
Traveller rating
486
733
344
131
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
486
733
344
131
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spaghetti house kids club island night garden room tennis courts fish feeding beach front activities hut crab beachfront deluxe room on site spa bath edge water games room daily activities tropical breakfast cocktail hour
Filter
Updating list...
1,203 - 1,208 of 1,778 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Edgewater and exploring the beautiful Cook Islands.

The Edgewater is a resort which caters to mass tourism and as a result the personal touch is somewhat lacking. Many of the basic questions we asked staff were met with a blank look and an attitude which suggested "why are you asking me this question".

The rooms are basic but comfortable with a good shower and are cleaned to a high standard. The air conditioner was an old clunker which struggled to keep the room cool. Thoroughly recommend the lagoon view rooms over the garden rooms as the views are breathtaking from the lagoon rooms - very much worth the extra dollars spent. The garden rooms don't really have any views.

The resort's free activities were all well run and interesting. We enjoyed cultural talks, crab hunting, snorkelling tours and a raw fish demonstration. The raw fish prepared in the demo was delicious. It was so good I ordered a raw fish dish the next day in the hotel's restaurant but found it mushy and revolting. The resort's Spaghetti House however produced consistently good meals and service and we frequently dined there.

Snorkelling out the front of The Edgewater was brillant with heaps of fish in knee deep water. Our other favourite snorkelling spot was to the left of the Rarotongan which is a protected marine reserve with lots of fish and healthy coral. It was easy travelling around the island on buses which pull into the reception area of The Edgewater.

The Cook Islands is an easy and relaxing destination with perfect snorkelling. As a couple we would try somewhere more boutique next time. That said The Edgewater would be appealing at the right price and its target market of families would have a good time at the resort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiffyW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Kia Orana TiffyW_11,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and exploring our beautiful Cook Islands, along with the fantastic snorkelling in our marine reserve right outside the Resort, and our free, fun activities! We are concerned with your comment regarding reactions you got from some of the staff, and have taken this up with Management. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review and we do hope you get to enjoy more of the Cook Islands again in the future.
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We only had the one night at Edgewater as were travelling on to the outer islands the next day, but had a good experience. It isn't too far from the airport with cars or shuttles available. Staff were typical Cook Islands: friendly and very interested in reasons for visiting etc. We had a beachfront room on the first floor which was clean, and comfortable and had some very impressive views over the beach as the sun set.

Having only a short stay, we did dine at the resort and found a couple of very adequate vegetarian options to keep satisfied, but if you have an extended stay you would want to venture a little further to get some variety in your diet! (There are a number of good "eateries" within walking distance.)

Staff very attentive and friendly - something that often goes missing in some resort style hotels. Continental breakfasts very nice with lots of local, fresh goodies. There is little better than fresh fruits and Atiu coffee while overlooking the lagoon!

While I'm not a big fan of resorts - the stay here was very pleasant, very good value and I'd have no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovolacto_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Kia Orana ovolacto_oz,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. Although it was just a brief stay, we are very pleased you had a lovely experience while with us here and enjoyed all aspects of your stay, including our friendly and attentive staff. We have passed your comments on to them all who do enjoy receiving these.
Once again, thank you for your review and we hope you had a wonderful trip out to our beautiful outer islands. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Resort and Edgewater family once again!
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed in a Beachfront Suite (3000 Block)
Fantastic views of the ocean from the room
Staff were friendly and the service was good
Snorkeling at the resort was some of the best on the island
Island night was fantastic and great value for money
Ate at the restaurant a couple of times, food was ok, service was really good
Would love to go back and stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_dudeAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Kia Orana the_dudeAuckland,
Thank you for your great review on your recent stay with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you had a fantastic holiday here with us, and enjoyed all aspects of your stay here from our friendly staff to our great location, views, activities, service and Island night! Thank you once again for taking the time to let others know of your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was put into block 900 for my stay at Edgewater.This block is one I would not recommend.It's a stone-throw from what seems to be the septic tank area.In the evenings in particular there was the aroma of raw sewerage radiating around the area.I would not recommend Edgewater to anyone and the stay proved to be quite a disappointment.The room I stayed in seemed dated and there were times when the water was switched off.Some staff seemed reasonably friendly and helpful in their disinterested way.Would I go back to Edgewater?No way.

Room Tip: If you are put into Block 900 please do request an upgrade. The aroma of sewerage from the septic tank leaves alot to be desired.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwiwestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Kia Orana Kiwiwestie,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your holiday with us here in August. We are disappointed your expectations were not met in regards to your room. We pride ourselves on providing an excellent value for money holiday with a range of accommodation to suit all types of travellers and budgets, from our lead-in garden rooms to our beachfront deluxe suites and 3 bedroom self-catering villas.
In regards to your comments on the sewage odour you experienced, in August we did have a minor problem with the system which was rectified almost immediately. You did not mention whether you raised your concerns with Reception or Management, however had rooms been available we would have been happy to move you to another room or area in the Resort.
Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review and we wish you well in your future travels.
Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2012

8 of us in a family group holidayed at the Edgewater. We stayed in 4 garden studio rooms in the 9000 block. This was actually a beautiful spot. While we didn't have sea views or anything fancy, it was quiet and from the back porch at our doorways we overlooked palm tree gardens and the beautiful lush rainforest up on the hills in the middle of the island. Our rooms were perfectly adequate and very clean. Our housekeeper was a sweet lady who we became friendly with - she always greeted us with a warm welcome every morning and left our rooms spotless. We had aircon and a fan in our room for comfort. The tropical breakfast buffet in the dining room daily was delicious. I loved the fresh coconut and the fresh homemade muffins. Yum. Now my 21 year old brother has quite the healthy appetite and the vast spread of breakfast always set him up well for the day.
I didn't use the pool because I preferred the beautiful crystal clear ocean right out front. There is a board by the pool which details all the activities the resort is putting on for the day. Sarong tying demos, pool volley ball competition, cooking demonstrations all lots of fun and the hosts are very funny and entertaining. 5pm - 6pm Happy hour at the bar for $10 cocktails. Yum. Between us we worked our way through most of the list. Didn't eat on the restaurant - we ate outside each night as we had scooters to explore. This resort is excellent for families, or groups. Key tip: Try and get transfers included in your package deal or hotel price - as the transfers (I think it's called Raro tours), or taxis to the airport are quite pricey! they charge per head, not for the trip. We got a taxi van from the airport which cost $20pp = $160 for a trip only 6kms down the road. And this was the cheapest deal!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a bit of peace and quiet ask to be situated away from the pool
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater R, Guest Relations Manager at The Edgewater Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Kia Orana Amber Y,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on your recent holiday with us here at The Edgewater Resort & Spa. We are delighted you and your family group all had a wonderful holiday, and that you found your Garden rooms perfectly adequate and clean. We are pleased you enjoyed the great range of activities we have on offer for all our guests and experienced our wonderful friendly staff as well! We have passed your comments on to our staff who enjoy receiving these, and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again in the future.
Meitaki Maata e Kia Manuia
The Edgewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews