We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
323
101
11
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
101
11
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the road happy hour garth and debbie bedroom villa paddling pool the breakfast area other guests coco putt dive centre chickens and roosters yogurt rarotongan resort marine reserve grounds are immaculate daily breakfast self catering cook islands
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 443 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2018

We found our stay at the Lagoon Breeze Villa very enjoyable. Vikki and the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful during our Christmas vacation there last month. There was always a nice breakfast ready in the morning with a good variety on this quiet villa. The rooms were clean and comfortable and it is only a short walk across the street to a great beach that you can spend hours snorkeling or just walking the beach and waiting to see the sunset on that little piece of paradise on Rarotonga. The owners Garth and Debbie even had Vikki deliver Christmas presents to all of us on behalf of them and the staff. just an all around great little place to stay and enjoy the Islands.
Blain & Wendy B
Edmonton AB Canada

Room tip: You really can not get a bad room here
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bolanb2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your Xmas in the Cooks island style and we hope you have taken away fond memories of Lagoon Breeze Villas and Rarotonga. Thank you for choosing the Cook Islands and our property for your stay.
Until next time, warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2018

We had great time at Lagoon Breeze Villas. Very tidy property with nice staff. The pool area is not too busy. Great place if you have small children and you want to avoid the busy resorts or if you don't have kids. The only two things disturbed our holiday and they were the roosters (at 5.30am) and dogs in the middle of the night. However there are roosters/dogs all over the island.
My husband found the pillow too hard, I liked it. Maybe a good idea to put one/two of each to the rooms so everyone can find the right one. Nice breakfast!

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KingaCSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience at Lagoon Breeze Villas, we are delighted you enjoyed the facility. Yes the roosters can take a bit of getting used to and the dog situation is one our industry is working to clean up. Some of our guests find the roosters charming and prefer them to sirens and traffic. Thank you for the pillow tip, we do provide 2x pillows per person and could therefore ensure they are different in softness. Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you return again in the near future.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 1, 2018 via mobile

Group of 5 Canadians (husband and I plus, girls aged 4 & 7, and Grandma) stayed 12 nights over Christmas. We had the most amazing time. We booked a package through Downunder Travel (highly recommend using Jason from Downunder in Calgary).

This was the furthest we’d ever travelled from Canada and first time taking the kids away for Christmas but we’d do it again in a heartbeat if we could. I was told that going to Rarotonga is like going to Hawaii 40-50 years ago. Everything is very local with not a single chain restaurant.

We were good with that. And the beach....I really felt like I was swimming and snorkeling inside an aquarium.

The villa we stayed in was a 2 bedroom 2 storey (#4) with three single beds in the one room and master bedroom upstairs. Plenty of room and housekeeping staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was always good with lots of fruit, yogurt, coffee and toast. Having ice cream bars sold at the office was also a hit with the kids. Kids loved the trampoline and playground close to the breakfast area. The pool was clean and lovely with the grounds constantly maintained.

My kids also loved the resident pets (Coco being the favourite) and even learned to like the early rooster “alarm clocks”.

As we were a family of 5, plus had a friend staying at the Black Pearl down the road, we rented a car the entire stay ($500 for 12 days). Used Polynesian Car rental with no issue. Brought our own car seats. Car also allowed us to explore the back roads and saved us from waiting for the bus with overtired kids.

Units came with dish soap, salt pepper etc, and they had soap for the washer ($5 per load). We line dried rather than $5 for dryer.

Other things we were glad we brought:
- kids life jackets
- ziplock bags
- plastic wrap
- sunscreen and bug spray
- a few snack foods the kids enjoyed
- coffee
- flashlights
- sun hats
- long sleeve sun shirts for the kids
- refillable water bottles for everyone ( a bottle of water to purchase was always 3-5$ so we filed at Lagoon Breeze and just brought ours everywhere). Water at Lagoon Breeze is filtered and we all drank it with no issues.

Things we wished we brought
- paper towels were $6 per roll ( paper products are expensive in Rarotonga but the unit had lots of TP and Kleenex)
- more sunscreen (we went through our 2 bottles in 10 days, then paid $20 for a 3rd)
- antihistamine ( my one daughter really reacted to the bugs and necessitated a trip to the pharmacy)

Other tips:
- you can get decent wine for 10-15$ NZD a bottle
- beer prices are similar to Canada
- you can grocery shop and make meals for $20/dinner easily. Barbecued a lot of meals at Lagoon Breeze.
- We loved going to Ocean Direct for fresh fish ($22 per kilo for tuna and mahi-mahi - a kilo was enough for 2 meals for the 5 of us)
- eating at a restaurant for a family of 4 is $70-100. Takeaway food for a family of 4 is 40-50$
- Go to the CITC supermarket for the big grocery shop (not Foodland).
- Wigmores is the only place with groceries open Sunday and no booze is sold on Sunday (so pick up something from Duty free in LAX on the way down)

We dined at the Coco putt (pre book the Sunday buffet),the Waterline, Trader Jacks, Miri night market and a few take away places. All were good. Did the koka lagoon cruise and the night show in Muri (book the night show a couple of months in advance of your trip for good seats)- both were worth it.

We like the beach directly in front but the kids preferred the beach 2 min down the road directly in front of the dive shop - more sand, less coral and sea cucumbers.

Overall loved our stay and location. Always felt safe and taken care of. Hope to return one day.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
6  Thank tinybutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review and helpful tips. It is wonderful to read such positive feedback. We noticed our baby girl Coco had put on some weight while we were away, no doubt all the love from the Canadians. We agree with you regarding hiring a car, it certainly gives you independence and the chance to explore more of the island. To add to your list of other tips, remember tipping is not required in the Cook Islands and therefore the price you see on the menu is what you pay, no additional taxes, levies or tips.
Once again thank you for staying with us on your island adventure and we hope you will find your way back here again in the future.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2017

Our family, 2 adults, 2 teen boys stayed in unit 20 for 6 nights. It was spotlessly clean and well equipped down to mozzie coils and all necessary kitchen equipment, although we only cooked twice using one of the BBQ's.There was an air conditioned queen bedroom with very comfy bed, great pillows and spotless linen.,Also an area off the dining room [table for 4]with two single beds. This had an overhead fan [ no individual aircon] The kitchen had a medium size fridge with a freezer compartment and a microwave but no regular oven. The bathroom was large and had a rain head shower with plenty of hot water which did not run out after 4 showers! Toiletries were supplied daily. Breakfast was supplied daily at a central restaurant location. It included fruit, cereal. coconut, toast and some days a scone.There was coffee, tea and juice.Lunch and dinner was not available.You could purchase iceblocks and icecreams in the reception office.There was also a book exchange. The hotel also had snorkels, reef shoes , and goggles to loan. There was plenty and they were sanitised after use. They had kayaks too.We walked 5 mins to the nearby Rarotongan Hotel and swam and snorkelled as the reef is best here. The staff at this hotel did not mind. We ate dinner here some nights and it was very nice on the beachfront in thatched huts. They also have hammocks on the beachfront to relax in. There is a pool at the Lagoon Breeze too. We especially liked the homely feel to Lagoon Breeze Villas. All of the staff were soooo friendly and happy to answer my endless questions for tips on how to get around or what to do. The local bus stops just outside and you can buy a card of 10 tickets for 30 dollars and share these between a family. We did this at first then decided to hire a car as the buses run on island time and are unpredictable. If you like animals [ as we do] be sure to stay here they have a resident tail wagging dog and cats who are very welcoming. The neighbourhood dogs also visit and accompany you to the beach or to the nearby fish and chip shop, dive shop or beach etc. Take some dog biscuits if you are an animal lover as the outsiders are 'hungry'. There are also chickens and friendly roosters walking around , as there is most places on the island I thought the accommodation was up in price, for a small quiet island with little to do but all of the places in Rarotonga were..Thank you To all at Lagoon Breeze for a great relaxing family Holiday.

Room tip: Rooms near to the road would be noisy'
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Thank you for choosing Lagoon Breeze Villas for your family get a away. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities we have to offer. We agree hiring a car gives you more independence to explore off the main road and enjoy the many eateries the island has to offer. It sounds like you made the most of every moment and we hope to see you all back again in the future.
Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017 via mobile

This place was super easy to find. We stayed in room 12 near the back. Lush tropical gardens everywhere you looked with spacious grass areas, bbq amenties equiped with everything u need down to cleaning and utentills. Beach towels provided. The reception staff was very helpful and warm and the ground staff were very friendly. Our rooms were very clean and serviced to a high standard. 1 water bottle was provided free of charge which I thought was great!
I wouldnt say its private as you could see into the rooms in the nearby villas we had to close curtains everytime we wanted to get changed in our rooms, this is our only negative. Although we didnt have our kids with us I would highly recomend this area for young kids as there is lots of room to play with tramp, playground and friendly residental dogs. Not to mention a seperate paddling pool for the babies. I would definately stay here again planning our next trip already :).

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kiwifinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie R, Owner at Lagoon Breeze Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2018

Great to hear you are planning your next trip already and we hope you choose to say at Lagoon Breeze Villas again. Thank you for the wonderful review and for sharing your experience. We will take on your comments about privacy, as we do pride ourselves on offering space and do our best to plant gardens so that you all have some privacy. Although the gardens near you are young we may be able to do more screening.
Thank you again and we hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews