We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crown Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$278
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Edgewater Resort & Spa(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$437
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aroa Kainga(Arorangi)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (748)
Filter reviews
748 results
Traveller rating
495
168
59
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
168
59
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard poolturn down serviceour honeymoonbeachfront villaisland nightflambeocean restaurantcook islandshappy hourribssun loungersstaff were so friendlytropical paradiserelaxing holidayfishnice beachwatch the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
514 - 519 of 748 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights at Crown Beach in January on our honeymoon. Our Pool Villa was superb, really comfortable, well serviced and so close to the beach. We had a romantic dinner for 2 on a small platform on the beach which was superb. Terrific service, great food, cheap drinks and nice choices for dinner. We hired a motor scooter and tripped about the island each day - nice, but probably irresponsible - to ride without helmets. Liberating actually. We met great people. For example we bought a couple of bottles of banana liqueur from a guy who took us into his place and introduced the family. Not much to buy that is unique - with the major exception of black pearls. But, buy from one of the reputable shops on the main drag. Trader Jacks was good for a cocktail and lunch. Don't go looking for sophistication, just a nice place, good food, very reasonable drinks prices and the big relax.

Room Tip: Go for the pool villa. Walled enclosures, private pool and outdoor area. Other villas were not so private and probably a bit noisy with nighttime entertainment
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willepw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved the ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite with high stone walls, private swimming pool, and outdoor dining gazebo.

We are pleased to read that you loved your romantic dinner on the beach with superb cuisine presented by Oceans Restaurant, complete with private waiter and the gorgeous daily sunsets.

We encourage our guests to hire cars & motorbikes and drive about the island exploring hot spots as well as trying fabulous cuisine at Rarotonga's many restaurants.

We totally agree with your idea of surrendering to the heartbeat of Rarotonga and her people, enjoying the sights, sounds, cuisine and fascinating culture.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We wanted a child free resort which would let us relax, rejuvenate and be pampered and that is what we got. From the time of arriving at 12.30am until we left the staff were fantastic. Our villa with its own pool was certainly better than in the pictures and so glad we chose that over the beachfront villas. Pure privacy! It was serviced daily by the amazing Tina, a friendly smiling gem who also made sure the turn down service was done every night at the same time. The resort gardens and grounds were superbly maintained and the triple happy hours went down really well.
The complimentary massage at the spa was very good and certainly got rid of the tension and we both felt relaxed after it. I actually went back the next day for a facial.
Oceans restaurant - breakfasts great with lots of variety and cooked options.
Unfortunately dinner was a let down. We were told we would have a 10 minute wait but it turned into 1 hour. The meal was lukewarm and not what was printed on the menu. Sorry roast beetroot does not come out of a tin. We didn't try Oceans for dinner again but note this was a reflection on the chef/menu not the wait and bar staff who were all friendly and helpful.
Apart from the dinner experience we really believe we got what we wanted in our holiday and will go back there. Rohan and the team at Crown Beach Resort can give themselves a pat on the back. Thanks again - Chris and Tracey Harper

Room Tip: Courtyard pool villas are the best option if you want privacy.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved your stay in the ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite with the high stone walls, private pool and outdoor dining gazebo. We are also pleased to read that you loved the 5 acres of botanical gardens as well as the warm Polynesian service presented by our team of 85 Cook Islanders.

Spa Ariki is a little gem with massage, hair and beauty treatments designed to relax your mind, body and soul.

We are pleased to read that you loved your daily American breakfast. We apologise for the slow dinner service at Oceans Restaurant - unfortunately, our kitchen crew were short staffed due to the dreaded flu, but we're pleased to announce that we're back to normal with all hands on deck and have resumed good meal production times. The use of canned beetroot is awful, but is sadly the absolute last resort when we are unable to secure imported fresh beetroot from New Zealand.

I am pleased to advise that Oceans Restaurant will soon roll out a brand new menu that uses more local produce with less reliance on air freighted product from New Zealand. Yay!

We have lots of new initiatives underway at our small resort including but not limited to: new Jandals Bar on the Beach by the sandy gazebo; new 24-hour deli opposite reception; 18 new beachfront cabanas with round day beds and flowing drapes; 13 new swimming pools for the beachfront pool villas, 2 bedroom beachfront pool villas and 1 bedroom garden villas away from the main pool; our 4th restaurant & bar in downtown Avarua and so much more!

We're paying attention to the brilliant ideas from our discerning guests and we try to answer their prayers by rolling out new projects that meet the Crown brand & style.

We hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We returned yesterday after a 7-night stay in a garden villa in this lovely resort. It was our first visit to Rarotonga - a dream destination to celebrate my special birthday and it didn't disappoint.

Set in beautiful tropical gardens that are maintained daily it is indeed a tropical paradise. All staff we encountered were very friendly - from reception to gardeners, Oceans staff (especially "Maria" and Sera) to the turndown fairies, cleaning staff to Windjammers staff - all helped to make our holiday relaxing, restful and enjoyable.

There were a few minor quibbles with service (e.g. no turndown service for the first two nights, wrong drinks order on our bill (maybe having every order signed for by the guest would alleviate this - we were only asked to sign twice for drinks ordered over the 7 days), but it was all part of the island experience and didn't detract from an awesome holiday.

Our meal at Windjammers was excellent and service very professional. The 'couples' Spa treatment was so blissful - we nearly went to sleep.

Oceans' breakfasts, either continental or cooked, were great to start the day with.
We were lucky enough to be there to experience both the Thursday and the Monday Island Nights - both different and both vibrant and colourful - highly recommended.
Our villa was thankfully situated away from the pool so we enjoyed peace and privacy.
Cocktails at happy hour on the beach were a highlight. Golden sands, turquoise waters, coconut palms gently swaying in a warm summer breeze - who could ask for more? Thanks to all at Crown Beach who helped us fall in love with Rarotonga.

We did visit several other resorts on the island and found Crown Beach to be far superior to most. We would gladly stay again and hope to be back one day soon.

Room Tip: If privacy and quiet is important, the best garden villas are those furthest from the pool
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jandm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your first visit to Rarotonga.

We are pleased to read that you loved your 7-night stay in our One Bedroom Garden Villa nested in beautiful tropical gardens and only a hop-skip-jump to the beach and blue lagoon.

Thank you for your kind words about our team of 85 Cook Islanders who ooze the art of Polynesian hospitality: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

The Housekeeper has been notified about your turn-down issues as well as the Oceans Restaurant Manager about the lack of 'signed' beverage dockets and incorrect billing. We will resolve this with more training.

Our Spa offers relieving massages and other beauty & wellness treatments; and has just been upgraded with our new internationally qualified, award-winning New Zealand stylist Miss Sara O'Keefe who offers the best cut & colour solutions for the fussiest client. Sara even has clients who travel from Auckland to have their hair cut & coloured in Rarotonga!

We are pleased to read that you loved your complimentary breakfasts at Oceans which include a hot choice from the grill. We are also pleased to read that you loved both Island nights on Mon + Thu offering the best cultural entertainment on Rarotonga.

All in all, we will continue to refine our product & service, and create new amenities that are requested by our guests.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We were booked into Crown Beach for our 7 day honeymoon, after our other reservation at another resort was double booked, and my oh my I'm so happy that happened.

From arrival we were greeted with mocktails, and shown to our Courtyard Pool Suite. First impression was it is exactly like the photos you see on their website. Beautiful blue pools (maintained impecably each day) the overhead fans, with aircon in the room (godsend on those hot humid days), coffee/tea making facilities with many versions of drinks available. The showers were beautiful with high pressure shower head and also a monsoon shower head too - heaven! Lastly the room was so quiet! We knew that there were people next door as we met them out on a trip, however we never heard a single thing so if privacy is what you want - definetly get a pool room over the beachfront villas.

Our housekeeping was awesome - no problems like the last few that have commented. Tina who did our housekeeping was really great - the few times we came back early and she was there we had some great chats about the island and gave us some great recommendations. Tina deserves a gold star! If we didn't need our room serviced she would still come and do a quick swap of our towels if we requested which was what we wanted.

We ate at Oceans Restaurant for breakfasts each morning (service was always friendly and made you feel welcome and like a local) and had around 4 dinners there as it was so easy to go there after a day of fun. We had a few cocktails for happy hours on the beach while snorkling/kayaking so was lovely in the hot sun.

The day we arrived they had one of their island nights - was a fantastic night in, some great photos and the food was devine! The next night was T-Bone steak and ribs night - how could we refuse! I've never seen a steak so big in all my life, but it was beautifully cooked while overlooking the sun set. Fabulous.

I would definetly come back to Crown Beach Resort, the people were so friendly, food was awesome, and Raro was beautiful!

Room Tip: Beachfront villas are beautiful, however the ones we saw were by oceans restaurant, and also people passed by them to get to the beach. So if you're looking for privacy go for courtyard pool room. Snorkling gear is in all villas, kayaks are available on the beach and reef shoes are available from the resort so no need to go and buy or bring your own.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaye T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved your honeymoon cocoon...the ultra private Courtyard Pool Suites complete with private swimming pool and outdoor dining gazebo.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your daily complimentary American breakfasts, the daily triple happy hours (12noon, 4pm. 9.30pm) where you buy 1 drink and get 1 absolutely free! the fantastic Island Feast & Cultural Show on Mon + Thu nights featuring top dance troupes from Rarotonga, the fabulous Steak & BBQ Ribs night on Fri all at Oceans Bistro located waterfront with perfect vistas of the blue Pacific and daily glorious sunsets!

Our team of 85 Cook Islanders take great pleasure in going the extra mile to deliver genuine Polynesian hospitality straight from the heart: Warm. Unpretentious. Island Style.

We wish you both a beautiful life together and we hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2012

This was our first trip to Rarotonga and we struggled to decide where to stay due to so many options. We made the right choice, it exceeded our expectations. We spent 5 lovely nights at Crown Beach Resort in one of the private pool suites. The spacious courtyard includes lovely outside furniture and dining area, pretty garden and just the right sized pool. The bathroom blew me away so modern I loved the old style claw bath so comfortable. The room and resort were immaculate. It was so nice to get back from a day exploring the island to have the up most privacy if you wanted. The turn down option at night was a real treat. The only thing I felt was poor was that house keeping didn't replace used soap etc. from the basket.
The staff were always so friendly and helpfull, we were made so welcome from the moment we arrived, with an ice cold tropical drink to surprise vouchers for 2 half hour massages within the complex which I highly recommend (the best I have had).

We celebrated valentines day at the resort in our own private gazebo over looking the beach whilst sun set, the perfect setting with wonderful attentive service accompnied by great food cooked by Oceans resturant. Truely the most romantic setting and great value, a must to do for true romantics.

Three happy hours each day with buy one get one free cocktails great value and yummy recommend the Island lafo. Breakfast had a good range of options to choose from (from the kitchen) plus continental style buffet, you have to try the islands banana's.
The Resort location is perfect close to everything you need, recommend snorkling just a moment walk up the beach outside the Edgewater Resort, and at the Fruits of Rarotonga.
The resorts cultural night show was spectacular and even gets you involved, but also recommend Te Vara Nui village cultural tour and show for a night out absolutely amazing.

I highly recomend the Crown Beach Resort and would come back in a heartbeat, we look forward to further stays in the future.

Room Tip: The beach front villa's are less private than the private pool suites.
Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Tarsha_Eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBR-GM, General Manager at Crown Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2012

Kia Orana,

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Crown Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you loved the ultra private Courtyard Pool Suite with private swimming pool, the marble bathroom with claw-foot bath & rain shower, and outdoor dining gazebo.

Our 'arrival drink' is designed to set the mood for the rest of your stay at our small resort. The surprise spa vouchers are intended to massage away the aches & pains of your daily work life, as we prepare you for a truly relaxing well earned holiday.

Our hugely popular 'dinner on the beach' presents the most unique dining experience on Rarotonga where you command a private gazebo over the beach, with a glorious sunset as your canvas, a sumptuous 3-course dinner, bottle of champagne and your very own private waiter. Bliss....

Our three happy hours (12noon, 4pm and 9.30pm - daily) where you buy 1 drink, and get 1 drink absolutely free is the perfect way to unwind and meet new people. Our Island Nights on Mon + Thu offers exceptional value at only NZD55 for a buffet dinner and cultural show.

All in all, we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed the Cook Islands for the very first time and we hope to see you again, soon.

Best wishes,

Rohan Ellis
General Manager
Crown Beach Resort & Spa, Cook Islands, South Pacific Islands

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews